When a Kiss is Not Just a Kiss

I’m sure you’ve heard about the Vancouver riot after the loss of the Stanley Cup in game seven to the Boston Bruins.  But have you heard about the photograph of the kiss that might just knock it out of the part for most iconic kiss images ever?

The photograph was taken by Canadian photographer Richard Lam.  He had no idea what he was getting when he snapped the image of the woman lying on the ground.  He figured she was injured and needed to snap that image before police pushed him on his way.  And what an image he got!

Scott Jones and Alex Thomas were taking in the chaotic, but initially non-threatening reaction of the Canucks fans to the game loss when, from what they say, things changed and turned violent the moment police appeared on the scene.  Alex was knocked to the ground, hitting her head on the pavement, and Scott was knocked down beside her.  He partially covered her, protecting her from further injury.  She was scared, crying and all he could think to calm her was to kiss her.  What a guy!  What an image.  Sexy and sweet with a statement.  Talk about making love not war.  This image is quickly joining the ranks of other iconic kiss images.  Like …

 

 

 

Kirsten Dunst and Tobey Maguire in Spiderman

 

 

 

 

 

The famous Times Square kiss

 

 

 

Burt Lancaster and Deborah Kerr in From Here to Eternity

 

 

 

And my all time favorite … Lady and the Tramp!

 

 

I’m going to step out on a limb here and say that kissing is even sexier than most sex in movies and books as long as the setup is right.  To me the hottest part of a romance is the sexual tension and when that tension burst into a kiss … ahhh!  Love it.

I remember one of the hottest scenes I’ve ever read was in one of Elizabeth Lowell’s western historicals.  The hero was washing helping to wash the heroine’s hair in a stream.  The descriptions were so visual and so subtlety erotic that I swear I could feel that man’s hands on my scalp.  And the kiss?  Coulda been my mood, but it was hot!

Do you have a favorite kiss photo, or a favorite kiss in a movie or romance novel?

Happy Monday!

Helen

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to When a Kiss is Not Just a Kiss

  1. Kathleen says:

    I am glad that something good came out of that appaling display that was put on by the Vancouver fans.. Makes me ashamed to be a sports fan and a Canadian… But that “kiss” will put a great spin on the revcoery.. You picked one of my all time fav kisses ” Lady and the Tramp”. This was the first Disney movie I remember seeing at the movies when I was a kid…

    As for Kisses, I think one of the most memoriable for me would be when Richard Gere and Julie Roberts had that passionate kiss against the piano in Pretty Woman.. way way HOT….

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    I agree, Helen…a kiss (especially on film) can be way sexier and more satisfying than a love scene. Love the examples you posted!

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    Nice post, Helen. Love those kisses. My fav – Streisand and Redford in The Way We Were. Big sigh

  4. Liz Talley says:

    Wonderful post. It almost looked staged but on further viewing, I’m pretty sure she would have arranged her legs in a more becoming way if it were staged. I love it!

    My favorite kiss was in Legends of the Fall when Brad Pitt kissed Julia Ormond (at least I think that’s who it was.) All that longing packed into that kiss. Yum!

  5. Helen Brenna says:

    I’m really glad something good came from that riot, too, Kathleen. Something very good. It’s an amazing photo. Love that Pretty Woman kiss!

    Good examples, Cindy and Liz! Makes me want to go to youtube and see if I can find clips of those kisses! Inspiration, right? lol

  6. Keri Ford says:

    LOVE that Vancouver Kiss! the colors on it are just beautiful (which i’m sure is because of the fires and such…but ya know, made for a great shot). I showed the photo to my husband as soon as he got home from work and he said “wonder if she’s glad her butt has been put all over the internet”

    *faceplant*

  7. Marilyn says:

    A kiss *can* be SO hot. In addition to the movie kisses listed, I love the kiss in the original version of The Thomas Crown Affair. The way it was filmed from all around with the camera circling Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway, you got dizzy figuratively and literally. And it’s been soooooooooo long since I’ve been kissed I’ve almost forgotten what it feels like. 😦

    Great blog!

  8. Hellion says:

    I rather had the husband’s reaction: “Dear God, her ass is all over the internet now.” Then my second thought, “I bet she’s glad she wasn’t wearing a thong.”

    I mean, it’s a sweet shot; and I love that he kissed her because she was crying–but I do agree, if this was a staged shot, surely she would have arranged her legs in a more becoming manner. *LOL*

    Oh, sorry, yes movie kisses: I loved the kiss in POTC3–between Will and Elizabeth (their wedding kiss.) It could be the music more than the kiss, but it’s my favorite kiss. Also love the kiss in Braveheart between William Wallace and Murron, when they’re courting. *sighs*

  9. Leanne Banks says:

    Helen, love your pics and examples. I’ve often heard that good sex in and out of romance novels is 90% anticipation and 10% consummation! The wanting part is the good stuff!:) Great post!

  10. Helen Brenna says:

    Keri, I thought the wondered the same thing about the Vancouver photo, but when you think about it, it’s no worse, and probably even less revealing, than if she’d been in a bikini at the beach. Yes, Hellion, I’ll bet she was glad she wasn’t wearing a thong!

    Fun movie kiss favs, guys!

    • Keri Ford says:

      I thought that too–she’s covered way more than any bikini would. I was too taken in by the colors and the sweetness of the scene to even realize that why yes! those are the crotch of her panties on display!

  11. lois greiman says:

    There’s a scene from Meet Joe Black when Pitt and the female lead first become intimate. Yikes!!

  12. catslady says:

    First Knight with Richard Gere – he is Lancelot and is giving Lady Guinevere a kiss goodbye – makes my toes curl!

  13. Helen Brenna says:

    Lois, I have to watch that movie again. I don’t think I was in the right frame of mind the first time through, but it’s such an interesting premise!

    Oh, Catslady, good one! That is SUCH and angsty movie!

  14. Michele says:

    Yep, kisses are more intriguing than sex most times, especially when done thoughtfully in a movie. They can be lingering, tentative or rushed, and it’s all in how the actors portray it. Can’t think of any favs at the moment, but I do have a fav ‘odd’ kiss from the movie Farinelli where he covered her face with some silk and watched her breaths through it, then almost smothered her before kissing her. I know, that sounds strange, but it was a great kiss.

  15. Betina says:

    My favorite is still probably the “Lady and the Tramp” kiss. I was so young and impressionable when I first saw it and the romance and sweetness of it probably marked me for life.

    And kisses still have the power to make or break relationships. Witness: the end of season three (I think) of GLEE.

    They’re finally at nationals and doing a number that ends with Rachel and Finn face to face, breathing hard, knowing they’d just given their all. . . and they teeter on the edge of a kiss for a loooonnnng moment before giving in to the pull of the love they’ve always felt for each other. And of course, the kiss produces disaster for them, but you don’t know that watching the kiss– so you’re swooning at the force and primacy of the need that has drawn them together again and again.

    Sigh. Great kisses are still one of the wonders of the universe.

    May they always be!

  16. Helen Brenna says:

    Wow, Michele, that does sound like a strange kiss, but I”ll take your word that it was awesome!

    Here, here, Betina!

  17. Pingback: Kissing Buddies « The Wandering Mind

  18. Love the photos you used for reference! I hope you don’t mind that I quoted you in my latest post.

  19. Helen Brenna says:

    Share the love Wandering Mind!

  20. Pingback: It’s In the Kiss « Escaping the Inkwell

Leave a comment