I wish I was there….

IMG_0231_2Do you ever read a book and immerse yourself in that location and the story–sort of a “Calgon, take me away” moment?  I just finished reading a book set in Hawaii, and those gorgeous islands sure called to me.

We haven’t been there for almost three years, but I can close my eyes and feel the IMG_0122lovely sand beneath my toes, and imagine that warm water.  And the pools!    Ahhh, for an afternoon floating around in the sunshine…

Maybe it’s all sounding all the more appealing because today, all of the regional schools are closed due to the -30F wind chills,  and drifting snow.

IMG_0579

I’d be home anyway, happily working away at my computer, but the  furnace serving the newer part of our house (including our living room and my office) chose THIS week to bite the dust.  And it’s c-c-cold in here.  🙂  A crew is on its way this morning to put in a new one, and for that I will be very thankful.

On another note, I’d like to show you my new book cover!  Looking at it makes me wish that I was on that lake right now.  A balmy summer evening, maybe…steaks on the grill…

I so enjoyed writing this contemporary sweet romance.  If you’ve ever visited my All Creatures Great and Small blog (www.roxannerustand.com) you know that I’m an animal lover, and I had great fun with all of the animals in this one!

Here’s an Amazon link:  Summer at Briar Lake

SUMMER AT BRIAR LAKEcouple kissing at sunset sitting in jetty
Roxanne Rustand
January, 2014

In Summer at Briar Lake, a disillusioned lawyer searching for a quiet life in a small resort town ends up sharing a house with a woman who has a dark past, a troubled daughter and a menagerie of epic proportions.

The situation is challenging enough, but add a miniature goat with a penchant for roses and adventure, and an unknown enemy who will stop at nothing to achieve his own goals, and life becomes even more…interesting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I wish I was there….

  1. Quilt Lady says:

    Calgon take me away! I am so ready for summer! So tired of this cold winter weather. We had a break yesterday and it reached 50 but today it is headed back to the single digets again.

  2. Fifty degrees! That sounds so wonderful!! Even for just a day…. 🙂

  3. I love that you included a miniature goat and it’s adventures! I am also animal lover, and I love when adorable critters make a surprising, significant appearance in novels. Hope it’s nice and toasty in your office now!

  4. Kylie Brant says:

    I wish I were there, too. Or anywhere 🙂 Five weeks and counting until the Dominican! Can’t wait.

  5. Mary Louise says:

    One fond memory of Hawaii is the fragrance in the air. You drive along the coast and the aroma of flowers just fills the air.

  6. Linda Johnson says:

    Where can I buy your #2 Pendleton story for Kindles?

Leave a comment