Please Welcome, CJ Miller (and giveaway!)

avengers_backpackPlease help me welcome CJ Miller back to the convertible today!  Just a little about CJ:  She’s a  3rd generation Harlequin reader and the 1st in her family to write professionally, C.J. published her first book with Harlequin Romantic Suspense in 2012. She lives in Maryland with her family. When she isn’t writing, she enjoys spending time with family and friends and reading. C.J. believes in first loves, second chances, and happily ever after.

Now here’s CJ:

My son’s first day of school is next week. He’s picked out a backpack and we’ve filled out the required paperwork. My husband and I have talked to him about school and what kinds of things he’ll do in his classroom. I have my camera at the ready. My son’s excited. He can’t wait. He’s prepared.

But not me. I’m not prepared.

My “baby” is old enough to go to school. Didn’t I just bring him home from the hospital yesterday?! I don’t worry about the school itself. We’ve selected the school he’s attending because the teachers are warm and welcoming, the school is safe and fun, and everything about the classroom is bright and cheery.

Why the apprehension?

I’ve enjoyed the last 3 years being home with my children, filling our days with playing, running, eating, cuddling, napping and reading. Our day is loosely structured around meals and naps and bath time. It’s like summer vacation all the time. It’s awesome.

And now he’s going out into the world.

No matter how anxious I am, I won’t let him see me sweat. I will be all big smiles and fist bumps and high fives.

Any tips for get through the first day of school?

ShieldingTheSuspectI also have a book out this month with Harlequin Romantic Suspense. Shielding the Suspect (http://amzn.to/140THu8) is about the youngest Truman brother Brady, an Air Force pararescueman who was introduced in my first book, Hiding His Witness. I’ll give away a copy to one commenter*.

Shielding the Suspect has nothing to do with first days of school, so maybe it will be a good distraction for parents in the same boat as me!

* The giveaway is limited to U.S. mailing addresses only, adults aged 18+. I’ll post the winner in the comments later today. Please send your mailing address to cj at cj-miller DOT COM within 48 hours to claim your book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Please Welcome, CJ Miller (and giveaway!)

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    Sorry no helpful hints for the first day of school. I bawled my eyes out everytime one of mine started school.

    The book sounds like a great read! Thanks for the giveaway:)

  2. Always enjoy reading about my fellow Airmen (I spent over 20 years in the USAF before retiring). It is the “gentlemen’s & gentlewomen’s club” of the military, but they can deliver major help or hurt depending upon what they are called to do! LOL

  3. I’ve survived all four of my children’s first day of school. My children all went to half day kindergarten so they were only gone for a couple of hours. I was a stay at home mom. They didn’t have 4 yo kindergarten or preschools like they offer today. Be very supportive when they come home. They all react differently. My second child came home in tears. He found the whole situation to be very overwhelming. The other 3 loved making new friends and being away from home. I didn’t cry for any of them.

    I do like military heroes. Do you have a military connection?

    Best wishes for continued success wit your writing career!

    • C.J. Miller says:

      Whenever I talk to my son about school, he seems excited. I’m hoping for a positive first school experience. My grandfather was in the Navy and my husband and brothers work for the DoD.

      Thanks for stopping by and lending some advice!

  4. CrystalGB says:

    Try to think of it as a new, exciting adventure your child will get to tell you about. Throughout the day, keep telling yourself everything will be ok and keep busy. Your book sounds great. Love the cover.

  5. Kylie Brant says:

    My oldest son sent his oldest son to kindergarten. And my tough stoic son said he had tears in his eyes at the round-up and again on the first day where there were, in his words, “No hugs or kisses, he just went inside, hung up his bag and sat down. Never even looked at us!” At last, he feels my pain, LOL.

    • C.J. Miller says:

      Maybe I would prefer a little indifference over the other extreme. You know, “No! Please don’t leave! Take me with you!” etc. One of the teachers told me that on the first day, sometimes one child will cry, and then all the children start crying. Poor teacher!

  6. Leanna says:

    I don’t really have any tips as I have no children but your son will pickup on your behavior so be excited.

  7. Jane says:

    Congrats on the new release, CJ. I don’t have any tips, but I do remember my mom reassuring me to not be nervous and to remember that I’ll be seeing my friends/classmates again.

  8. Brian says:

    Cindy,
    I am very excited to read your next book. The first book was thrilling and I couldn’t put it down.

    I hope your son’s first day of school goes well.

    Take care.

  9. C.J. Miller says:

    Congratulations, Jane! You’ve won a copy of SHIELDING THE SUSPECT. Please email me your mailing address : cj @ cj – miller . com (spaces removed) and I’ll drop the book in the mail to you. Thank you to everyone who read or commented today.

  10. Late to the party, but I hear you on sending the baby off on the big yellow bus. I’ve done it with 2 generations of Eaglets. It’s a milestone, and it does remind you that they grow up in the blink of an eye. Really, they do. Those “loosely structured” days come back for a while during the lazy hazy crazy days of summer, but those days soon fill up with activities and camps and friends. Bittersweet is a complicated flavor. Enjoy, CJ!

Leave a Reply

