Backs

Backs. We’ve all got ‘em. At least I hope we do cuz if you don’t all you’re left with is your front and fronts tend to get kind of…mushy. But I digress, what I wanted to talk about specifically is back pain. It seems to be a curse of modern society. My husband’s back is chronically bad. My mother is currently experiencing some acute pain. My sister was in a serious car accident last year during which she crushed her L-3. They had to reconstruct the vertebra with cadaver bones and build a ‘cage’ around it. She’s still in a considerable amount of discomfort.
And now we arrive at my true worry: MY back. (Seriously, when is it NOT about me?) My back isn’t terrible. It’s just…stiff. Usually. Although a decade or so ago when I was going through some real back problems, a chiropractor told me I had the spine of an 80 year old. She also said that she sees that in lots of farm people. And granted, I’m not particularly nice to my back. There’s a good deal of shoveling and lifting and mowing and chopping and baling…well, you get the picture.
So my question to you is this: Do you have some magic potion for spine health? Maybe a snake elixir given to you by a traveling shaman, or some odd yoga pose where you stand on your elbow and put your heel in your ear. Anything?
And if you happen to be lying on your back with nothing to do (please note that beautiful segue!) I wanted to let you know that we’re offering a new ‘boxed set’ of some of my old favorites. If you get a chance please check it out at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E80FT1I
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-highland-heroes-box-set-lois-greiman/1116243131?ean=2940148656845

Enjoy the remainder of summer…it’s slipping away fast.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Backs

  1. Mary Louise says:

    Hi Lois. Sorry to hear about your back discomfort. About 15 years ago one of my lumbar discs ruptured and I went through six months of physical therapy. Now it does not keep me from running, weight training, bootcamps, or teaching fitness. Your activity level certainly challenges your core. What worked for me was a lot of back strenthening exercises…. I mean a lot. Strenthening the muscles along the spine will help support the spine. My back often gets stiff I make sure to stretch A LOT and I have added a massage every two weeks which works out all the knots. Anyway, getting older pretty much sucks but I won’t give up anything unless I absolutely have to. The maintenance just gets harder and longer.

  2. roxanne says:

    Oh Lois, I can empathize with you. Riding since age six, hauling hay bales since I could lift them, feed sacks….and back in the day, the feed sacks weren’t these weinie fifty pounders, either! Physical therapy, spine clinics, prescription meds….nothing really helped long term, and the surgery route sounded like it would mean true disability afterwards. Like Mary Louise, I now go to a massage therapist every two weeks–a guy who really works hard on my lower back, have exercises, and also carry Skelaxin and Anaprox. Which reminds me….I need to doublecheck on my appointment time this week, as we just got home from a drive from Omaha–four hours in the car each way. Ouch!

  3. Kathleen O says:

    I can relate to back pain.. A number of years ago I herniated two discs in my lower back. I would not let them operate and I went through intense therapy… But alas, I should have because I have had back troubles ever since and suffer other problems stemming from it.. I wish back in my 30’s was not so stubborn..

  4. Quilt Lady says:

    I can relate to your back issues. I had back surgery last year myself and still have lots of problems with it. I try to walk several days a week to try and keep it built up. Ice packs and walking is all I do for mine. I was raised on a small farm myself and we did a lot of hard work. Even after the farm I have not been kind to my back. I guess it all catches up to you in time.

  5. Lois, the wonder of all this is that you were able to do that three-part mighty woman event with a bad back. But then athletes–which you are, big time–tend to keep pushing until the body says, Hold your horses, woman! My older son had back surgery in January, and he’s doing fine now, but he’d reached a point I remember my father hitting many years ago–rolling from the bed to the floor and somehow pulling himself up.

    I think those stretching exercises help a lot. Feel better, Lois.

    • loisgreiman says:

      I’m fine, really. Just um…aging?? I did find that yoga helped a lot but I don’t take time for it like I should.

  6. I am very grateful for the fact that I have been blessed with a very strong back.

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Accupuncture saved my back. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

