Al Fresco Reading, a Seasonal Treat

image Photo: Tom Wallace, Minneapolis Star Tribune.

I’m a dyed-in-the-wool, print on the fingertips, paper paper reader, but I’m glad I can refer you to today’s Strib online, because I particularly enjoyed “Sky’s the limit for reading outdoors.”  I could be the woman in the picture except that I’m still coloring my hair and she has more coneflowers in her garden than I do.  I love coneflowers.  I love gardening, and I enjoy reading among the fruits of my labor.  And this article might just inspire more than this particular post because I also enjoy the changing seasons.  But as I said, fodder for another post.

Today this picture inspires me.  In Minnesota, summer is our outdoor reading season.  Some do it in the sun.  I prefer doing it in the shade.  We have a plethora of trees.  Some do it by the water.  Some doing it floating in the water.  We have an abundance of serene lakes.  We’re big gardeners.  We get national awards for our attention to parks and protected land.  The Parks and Rec Dept and its programs in my town are phenomenal.  Lovely places to sit and read abound.  We cherish our outdoor reading season.  In the aforementioned article, Bill Ward talks about comfortable reading venues.  What are your favorites? 

Comfort is key.  You want to be able to lose yourself.  Even the names of our new readers—Kindle, Nook—suggest coziness.  I’ve always been a little jealous of people who can read in the car.  I can’t.  I start feeling woozy almost immediately.  How about you?  I saw a show on one of the science channels recently about carsickness, and it made me sick just watching the experiments they were perpetrating on poor motion sickness sufferers like me.  (Planes, trains and boats don’t bother me.  Just cars.)  Apparently has something to do with a disagreement between senses—your inner ear says you’re moving while your eyes tell you that inside the car you’re still, especially when you put your head down.  So why is it that I can play co-pilot with a paper map, and I can write, but i can’t read a book?  Must be my “Bleeped-up Brain.”  (That’s an interesting show, too.)

So what’s a bookie to do on a road trip?  We’re taking the grads to camp tomorrow, and that’s about 4 1/2 hours each way.  Well, there are books on tape.  They have their limitations.  Sometimes the voice doesn’t work for me, but usually if I give it a few minutes, the voice disappears and the words come through. 

How do you spend passenger time on a road trip?  Do you listen to books on tape?  Any recommendations?

You Never Can Tell - screen So here’s my opportunity to mention that YOU NEVER CAN TELL is featured in the August Amazon Monthly Deal, e-book for $1.99, which is (says “Coupon Kathy”) an 80% discount.  But I just noticed that you can listen to a scene from the Audible version for free.  It’s a pretty sexy scene, too.  A pillow-talk scene, which shows character and backstory and the relationship that’s developing between a contemporary Lakota warrior and the woman who wants to tell his story.

YOU NEVER CAN TELL is the sequel to THE LAST GOOD MAN.  I’ll draw a name among the comments to this post and let the winner choose between the two for a download from Amazon

Janice Hougland was my winner last week.

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in book giveaway, reading in summer, outdoor activity, carsickness. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Al Fresco Reading, a Seasonal Treat

  1. MaryC says:

    Reading in a moving car makes me dizzy, so i listen to audio books. The sites I purchase the MP3 CDs from have audio samples available – a narrator’s voice does influence my decision to purchase.

  2. Kathleen O says:

    I used to not be able to read in a car, would make me sick.. But with the invention of the Kindle… It is so much better.. I have never listened to a book on tape.. When I am in the car I like to listen to music.. Have fun on your road trip..

  3. Teresa Hughes says:

    I can’t read in the car because I always drive. Wouldn’t be too safe to read while I drive. Lol! I have never listened to a book on tape. May have to try it. I just like to be comfortable when I read. Whether that is in my recliner, at the park under a shade tree, or laying in bed doesn’t matter if the story is good enough I can handle it.

    I have not gotten to read the Last Good Man yet. I need to get to that!

  4. As an author, I can read or write just fine in a car (providing I’m not driving which I usually am). Fortunately I love books on tape (CDs now) and I usually “listen” to one of my old favorites from Tom Clancy…being retired military, I love his books. Sometimes I’ll pick up something new to listen to. Stephen Coonts, Vince Flynn, James Wesley Rawles or someone else’s book on CD.

  5. Leanna says:

    I love to sit outside and read when I lived in Minnesota but now I live in Texas and with 100+days I have to sit inside and read.

  6. I can’t sit outside for anything because I’m allergic to agri-business and lawn chemicals and they are in constant use everywhere around me.
    I like to read in my recliner. I try to remind myself to get up and stretch once an hour or so but you know how it goes when you get really lost in a book!

  7. Kathy J in Ellicott City says:

    Depending on what the driver needs, I like to read, but sometimes I need to keep the driver stimulated so he doesn’t want to sleep. I also like listening to audio books.

  8. CateS says:

    I’m fortunate enough to be able to read in the car…my hubby can’t and as an interesting sidelight… I don’t get seasick and he did wjhen we were over the deep troughs of the ocean.

  9. laurieg72l says:

    I listen to music or I knit. I can’t read. I get an instant headache! I haven’t tried an audio book yet.

Leave a Reply

