Books I’m Looking Forward To

51XVz8Su2yL._SY300_When it gets to be 7 PM or so and my brain is mush from a day of writing (or not) I start surfing.  Not the athletic kind of surfing, you understand, that would take an ocean and athletic ability (neither of which I have handy), but surfing the web.  And I have all sort of interests to keep me occupied.  Tonight it was upcoming titles on Amazon.

I’m already rubbing my literary hands together in anticipation.  On August 13 Chelsea Cain comes out with Let Me Go, the latest Archie Sheridan/Gretchen Lowell thriller.  It’s your basic boy-meets-girl-who-happens-to-be-a-serial-killer-who-kidnaps-and-tortures-him story, and every one of her books are page turners.  DARK.  But page-turners, nevertheless.

Lee Child is back on September 3 with another Jack Reacher novel, Never Go Back.  I was51XNpZehR9L._AA160_ reading Reacher long before Tom Cruise tried to become Reacher in the movie.  He failed to do my beloved Reacher justice, but just about anyone would.  He’s an ex-Army Intelligence officer who wanders around the country completely without ties of any kind. But everywhere he wanders he trips over trouble, and then things start blowing up and people begin dying.  Sounds fun, yes?

John Sanford released Silken Prey on July 4 but I still haven’t gotten it.  Lucas Davenport returns as the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agent who gets pulled into a political corruption case that will have national repercussions.  After Jack Reacher and Robert Crais’ Joe Pike, I just love me some Lucas Davenport.51eqc8z0zpL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_

Oh, and if you’ve missed it Linda Castillo’s newest Amish thriller,51DOoQB0t7L._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_ Her Last Breath released last month.  Her Chief of Police Kate Burkholder series is a don’t-miss for me.

Also out last month was Tami Hoag’s The 9th Girl.  It’s far too long between releases for Hoag–usually a year–so not sure how this one escaped my attention.  I was thrilled that she returns to her roots (Minnesota) for this one, and wrote another stand-alone novel, since I sort of lost interest in the connected books she’d been doing.  No one writes crime fiction better than Hoag.51DJCxrYgXL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_

And, oh happy day, JD Robb is back September 17 with Thankless in Death.  Anyone who hasn’t read Robb, Nora Roberts’ alter-ego, is in for a treat.  The series takes place in 2050 and Eve Dallas stars as the kick-ass homicide detective married to mega-rich galaxy heartthrob Roarke.  Eve and Roarke should go down in history for the sexiest romantic couple ever written.51QhrdYGEYL._SL500_SS100_

Speaking of Nora, she has Dark Witch coming out in October.  I don’t know how the woman writes that fast but I’m pathetically grateful that she does.  This one is the beginning of a new trilogy about the O’Dwyer cousins.  Couldn’t find much more information than that, but her name on the cover is enough for me :).51epHRl6TuL._SL500_SS100_

Are you looking forward to any of these books?  Do you have another one you just can’t wait to get your hands on?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Books I’m Looking Forward To

  1. Willa says:

    Ooooh – I always love to see what my fave authors like to read . .. *writing down titles*

    I have found a synopsis for Dark Witch by La Nora – http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16158558-dark-witch

    Oh and in October there is another one coming out . . the author is on the tip of my tongue . . . you know her . . the one who is dark, twisted and leaves you hanging for the next book . . oh yes, it must be YOU! 😀 😀 😀

  2. Teresa Hughes says:

    I’m looking forward to Thankful in Death. Love J.D. Robb!! I’m also looking forward to the final episode of Cresent Moon by Delilah Devlin.

    I’m sure there are others but, my brain isn’t fully working yet this morning.

    Thanks for sharing! Have a great day!

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Teresa, what I like about the In Death series is that they are–at their core–romantic police procedurals. But it’s the characterization that keeps me coming back for my next fix!

  3. C.J. Miller says:

    I rely on Amazon to let me know when authors I love have new books coming out. I’m waiting for Gena Showalter’s The Darkest Craving and Kresley Cole’s Endless Knight. I’ll have to pick up a Linda Castillo book. She’s new to me.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      CJ, you might be interested to know that Linda started at HRS before moving to Intrigue 🙂 I should sign up at Amazon to be alerted when my faces have a book coming out so I don’t miss out. You’re so smart 🙂 And *you* have one coming out too, soon, yes? You’ll have to come back to the blog when it’s released!

  4. Mary Louise says:

    Hi Kylie: Thanks for some great suggestions. Rumor has it that Lois is working on another Chrissie MacMillan book. HALLELUJAH!! I love, love, love Chrissie and am so looking forward to it.

  5. I have to agree with you about Jack Reacher/Tom Cruise. Maybe Vin Diesel?
    I ADORE Elvis Cole/Joe Pike. I am tapping my toe waiting for Crais to get on the stick and get me another one!
    I read ALL the JD Robb books. haven’t missed a one, so this one is on my TBR list.
    I anxiously awaiting my second book (Drops digital on Nov. 5). Second books are nerve-racking. Was the first one a fluke and she’s really a hack? You KNOW what I mean. 🙂 Please tell me THAT get better with every book!
    I read a lot of Tami Hoag. Haven’t read one in a while so I’ll be checking out her new one.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      LOL, that is the normal second book syndrome. My first manuscript was bought after my first one so it became my second book. So I didn’t have the normal angst to go through, other than the fact that I could never bear to read it!

  6. Trish Jensen says:

    Kylie:
    I’ll gobble up anything by Deb Smith, Sharon Sala and also hugely Susan Elizabeth Phillips (whose books are released way too slow in coming out, too). For thrillers I’m a huge fan of Lisa Gardner and Karen Rose. I’ve read exactly one James Patterson, and that was enough. Most likely because I do almost all of my “reading” in audio, and his chapters are more like scenes, and it was annoying to hear the reader say, “Chapter XXX” every minute or two. The one I read had 123 chapters! But I love being turned on to new authors by people I trust who say, “Do not miss this one!”

    Trish

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Love Sharon Sala, too. And she’s just a generous gracious lady…

Leave a Reply

