Who Knew?

We all know that numbered lists make good titles for non-fiction books, right?  10 Ways or 5 Steps or 7 Habits.  The numbered list seems do-able, manageable, measured out in bites we can probably find the time and wherewithal to actually chew.

But we can find lots of numbered lists on the internet, too.  Helpful, funny, arguable—wnatever category they fall inot, lists are accessible by nature.  So here we are—3 Lists Worth Scanning.

There’s a reason why I’ve never been particularly cool.  I tend to be the last one to find out about cool stuff.  I thought I’d share a few discoveries in case you are, too.  David Pogue: 10 top time-saving tech tips  I learned at least 10 things from this short, entertaining video.  Who knew a tap on the space bar would scroll down a whole page on the ‘net?  Check out the video and tell me how many of these tips are news to you?  (If they’re all news to nobody but me, I’m going to feel really uncool.)

Pinterest was the go-to site when I was searching for Harry Potter party ideas a few much back.  That’s when I stumbled upon 20 Hilarious Pinterest Fails on “Bored Panda.”  Hilarious, yes, and comforting as well.  There’s only one Martha Stewart, which is a good thing.  One is enough.  (I love Martha, but I’m glad she doesn’t live next door.)

And finally, Publisher’s Weekly’s “10 Classic Books You Read in High School You Should Reread.”  This is one of those arguable lists, and that makes it fun.  I was an English lit major and a high school English teacher, so of course I’m going to say, “Only 10?”  Some of these would be on my list, but I’d probably replace some with others.  Still, it’s a good list.  If you have a high school student at home, this might be a jumping-off point for a good discussion.  Several of these books have appeared on the USA Today Bestseller list lately.   Which ones have you read?  Which ones do you think you might reread?  What book—just one—would you add to the list, and which one would it replace?

mm COVER TLTC The “Daily Cheap Reads” e-newsletter featured one of my books this week, and I see that the Kindle version is still on sale today for $1.99 on Amazon.  The Last True Cowboy was my first New York Times bestseller.

What the Heart Knows - screen What the Heart Knows is my latest release from Bell Bridge Books.

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in lists, Pinterest, tech tips, required reading, Bored Panda. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who Knew?

  1. My list would read like this:
    The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
    Animal Farm by George Orwell
    Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
    50 Poems by E. E. Cummings
    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickenson
    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
    Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
    Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

    I want as many women as men. And as to the things on here from the original list – I’m not sure Animal Farm is Orwell’s best or Farenheit 451 is Bradbury’s best.

  2. Teresa Hughes says:

    Morning Kathleen!

    I did not know the following tech things:
    *use the spacebar to go down a page on the web
    *use shift and spacebar to go up a page on the web
    *control and the plus sign will enlarge the script
    *Google stunts
    *hitting the B key will black out a slide
    *hitting the W key will white out a slide

    On the book list the only one I read in school we To Kill a Mockingbird. This is one of my all time favorite books. When we were assigned to read it I went home that afternoon to start it and ended up reading it in 2 days. Loved it! I can’t tell you how many times I have read it since.

    As to what should be on the list. I was required to read Jane Eyre and think it should have been on the list. Also Anne Frank: A Diary of a Young Girl should be too. Anne’s story is a great way to show you people that hatred and discrimination is wrong. I had all of my children read it and discuss it. What those should replace I would have to go with Animal Farm and Fahrenheit 451. I agree with Judy that there should be a better distribution of male and female authors.

    Thanks for a fun and thought provoking post! Have a great day!

  3. Kathleen O says:

    These were wonderful and who knew what I didn’t know about how to use my keyboard… Thanks for sharing.. Those Pinterest Fails were great.. I think most of mine would have come out the same. As for the books, well hands down it would have to be To Kill a Mockingbird..

  4. I HATE YOU for showing me Bored Panda. I’m going to lose HOURS there. I am laughing so hard I’ve started to cough! Holy cow that’s funny!

Leave a Reply

