To Bang, or Not to Bang…

It’s official.  Bangs are officially back *in*.  That’s nice.  I wore bangs of one type or other from 1979–2010.  Hopefully once or twice in that span of time I was in fashion.

I got the yearning for bangs again when Michelle Obama got her hair cut. But all sorts of celebrities are sporting bangs these days and there are definitely ‘yay’s and ‘nays’ among them.

michelle-obama-thumb-2I like bangs on her, although I’ve seen better pictures of her with them.  And one can always hope that if I got bangs like hers, my arms would then look like hers do, too.  Hey, I can hope, can’t I?

Here’s Kerry Washington’s bangs.  Admittedly I had to look up who she was (I watch Scandal but don’t pay attention to the names of actors).  Love the bangs:

1359054632_kerry-washington-golden-globes-hair-560Taylor Swift looks cute no matter how she does her hair.  Which is inherently unfair, since my hair has two extremes which range from ‘not-too-bad-almost presentable’ to ‘looking-like-a-nest-for-a-deranged-hamster’:

imagesNOT a fan of Kim Kardashion’s.  But I’ll admit to a total bias against just about anything she sports or does.

02-kim-kardashian-bangs-haircut-celebrity-beauty-h724

Also not crazy about Erin Lucas’s, shown here:

rb-five-best-hairstyles-erinlucas-jamiemccarthy-mdnSome people look cute with bangs, but they look darling no matter how they wear their hair, so they really shouldn’t even have made the post.  But…the bangs are really cute.  So here we have Reese Witherspoon (bet those bangs absolutely *made* the mugshot!), Anne Hathaway and Jennifer Lawrence:

rb-five-best-hairstyles-reesewitherspoon-lestercohe-mdn

images-2images-3My yearning for bangs suffered a quick death about 30 seconds after the hairdresser cut them a couple days ago and I looked in the mirror for the first time.  Hubby’s snickering in the next chair was icing on that particular case.  Hmm.  Maybe I need to work on them more.  Maybe they’ll look better when I get used to them.

Maybe I’ll start growing them out immediately 🙂

Do you like the new hairstyles sporting bangs these days?  Who do you think looks great (or not-so-great) with bangs?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to To Bang, or Not to Bang…

  1. Willa says:

    Bangs??! Lol! Over here we call it a fringe. And I have never been anywhere without one! I was born with a fringe!
    And you took hubby to the hairdresser’s? Lol! After snickering, he shouldn’t have made it out of there without a perm at the very least! 😀

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Snicker if you will, but hubby sported a perm for about twenty years. I’m not proud of it, but…yep. Only his teenage daughter’s constant harassment shamed him into a new ‘do. And I had to start taking him to my hairdresser because being a man, he didn’t do appointments. He just thought he should be able to walk in anytime he needed a haircut and, well, you know what sort of places you can just walk in for a trim. His hair looks MUCH better since he started going to mine. Haven’t given him a fringe yet, though 🙂

      • Willa says:

        Hey – for a man just stick a bowl on his head and cut round I say 😀 Saves time and money!

      • No snickering here. Okay, maybe a little. We have an 80s photo on display of my cowboy sporting a perm, and the grandkids think it’s hilarious. I think it was the Bobby Ewing (“Dallas”) look.

  2. Trish Jensen says:

    Kylie:
    Unless I’d have a hairdresser to make my hair look passable every day, I’d say no to bangs. Every time I’ve said, “Okay, go ahead” it turns out to be a disaster. And as fast as the rest of my hair grows out, my bangs take FOREVER. Bangs make my butt…and my face…look big. Every time I’ve regretted it. I prefer having hair, all of it, long enough to pull back in a ponytail and off of my face. Some can pull it off. I’m not one of them. Just once a few years ago it worked, but I also had a curly perm at the same time. Having a mop all over my head seemed okay. But once it began to grow out I could barely look in a mirror. Of course, the only reason I can look in a mirror now is because my eyesight is going.

    Trish

    • Kylie Brant says:

      *Bangs make my butt look big.* Snickering here. I have sort of a long thin face so I need hair framing my face to make it look a little wider. The bangs…jury’s still out. The first day they looked horrible. Yesterday they looked pretty good. Today…eh… Of course I could try combing my hair. That’d be a start 🙂

  3. C.J. Miller says:

    I like the wispy, to-the-side bangs like the ones Reese Witherspoon has in the picture above. I don’t think I could pull it off. I’d constantly be pushing them to the side and they’d end up clipped rather messily out of my face.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      The first time the hairdresser cut them she cut bangs to hang on either side of my face about to the bridge of my nose. Constantly in my way. My hair grows super fast so bangs have to be cut like every two weeks and my hairdresser is 35 minutes away. So these might not be staying around long!

  4. Laney4 says:

    I am a big supporter of the “big bang theory”, LOL. I have had a hair style similar to Anne Hathaway’s short haircut since 1974. Bangs hide pimples and wrinkles. What more could a girl ask for? LOL.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Love Anne Hathaway’s short ‘do! Super cute. Yes, bangs can hide a lot of sins. Maybe I should grown them down to cover my face??? That’s an option. There’s lots to hide 🙂

  5. leannebanks says:

    I’m currently trying the side swept bangs along with a new color. We’ll see what happens! 🙂 I can’t do a heavy straight down bang. Looks very strange. You should have spilled some pink hair color on your husband. Doesn’t he know? No snickering in the salon!

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    He’s probably just getting me back for laughing when he had a meltdown a couple months ago when the hairdresser found a gray hair in his sideburns. You’d have thought the world was ending. I like the side swept bangs but can never keep them in place. Do you have a hairspray that works for you?

  7. Lois Greiman says:

    Bangs CAN hide a lot of sins and as I age I seem to have more sins to hide. I, too, lllloooove Hathaway’s hair. Thanks for a cute post.

  8. The grandkids also get a kick out of the picture of 5-yr-old Nana with the way short bangs. I tell them Great-nana didn’t believe in teeny-tiny trimming.

    I wore bangs through high school, trying for the Shelley Fabares look. (Google her, children.)

    • Kylie Brant says:

      LOL. I have this picture of me in fifth grade, horrid teeth that would soon see braces and fairly cute hair…except for the bangs that my mom cut and were so grossly crooked they’re the only thing one notices in the picture 🙂 I never cut my kids’ hair. They should worship at my feet!

  9. I also have been hankering for bangs! I have long layers in the front instead. Somebody on Twitter talked me down the last time I was considering them…but I do like all the pix. In one of my recent books I gave the heroine bangs as a consolation prize to myself. 🙂

  10. Quilt Lady says:

    I go with bangs, I wear my hair short with bangs but I can’t stand them hanging in my eyes so I have them cut short. My hair is a lot like Anne Hathaway but shorter right now because I just had it cut yesterday! Have to go short because it grows out so fast.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      I have discovered in the last few years that I can’t do short. And really I can count on one hand the number of short haircuts I’ve ever had. My neck is so long if I go too short I look like an ostrich with a mop on it’s head, LOL.

  11. TrishJ says:

    I have a HUGE square forehead. I have had bangs forever … In style or not.

  12. Pingback: Growing Pains, Growing Bangs | Ditz Savant

Leave a Reply

