Happy Father’s Day…a bit late

What a beautiful, sunny morning this is!  After a wonderful weekend with family–our son, daughter-in-law and baby granddaughter were here on Sunday morning, and then our daughter and her husband came for supper–I feel so happy and recharged for the week ahead.  The highlight of any week is the chance to be with the ones we love, isn’t it?

file0001494479621In 1972, President Richard Nixon made Father’s Day an official holiday–a day to honor dads for all they do for their children.  I usually associate his name with less noble moments, but he got this one right.  If you’re a dad, here’s a belated “Happy Father’s Day!” to you.  And if you are a single mom with kids still at home, my heartfelt best wishes go out to you as well, for filling a dad’s shoes as well as your own can’t be easy.  For all of the romance and light romantic suspense books I’ve written about the sometimes rocky road to commitment, the real challenges lay after the trip to the altar, don’t they?

And for those of you who are a special aunts and uncles, a positive presence in the lives of your young relatives, best wishes to you, too.  These days, kids need every positive influence they can get.

Sorry this is brief…I’ve got to scurry out to feed the horses and hit the road, so I can watch our youngest grandchild this morning.  I’d love to hear about some of your own memories from children, or as a parent!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Father’s Day…a bit late

  1. Lois Greiman says:

    I’m never entirely sure what to do with my husband on Father’s Day when the kids aren’t around but we rode horse in the park then went to see Star Trek. Very fun. Hope everyone’s day was as good.

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    I spent the whoooooole day with hubby, too 🙂 He’s been locked up in the house with me for two weeks (had some spots removed from my face and looked like a leper ) and he gets so sad when he doesn’t get to go out and see people! He’s very gregarious. So yesterday we trekked over to his dad (wasn’t home) and then on to my dad…who wasn’t home! Seems these 80+ year olds have more of a life than we do! Hubby worked his tail off landscaping my dad’s front yard. Then there was a trip to Menards, a bonus in any man’s day. Then home, out for dinner on the Tiki Deck overlooking the river, then a convertible ride. It was a good day. The kids got him a super cool gift I think he actually likes. That’s hard to do…he’s not a good receiver, LOL.

Leave a Reply

