Hello, Again.

“Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.”

I never completely bought into that quote.  Especially when I first heard it in high school, when I was complaining to my mom about a friend who bought the same shoes as me. Every. Single. Time.  Imitation always seemed to me to be more about a lack of originality.  But as it happens, the fashion world is guilty of both.

First they tried to retread the seventies while my daughter was in high school.  It was rather endearing to hear her shriek of excitement when I told her about my dark brown fringe suede jacket, although that was quickly followed by moans of disappointment when she learned it was one of the few clothing items I’d gotten rid of.  I just laughed whenever she pointed out ‘new’ fashions in the store.  “Honey,” I’d say, “those styles were ugly when *I* wore them!”  Not surprisingly, her high school graduation picture has a hairstyle that was identical to mine–long, straight and parted in the middle 🙂

Fashion re-runs don’t last as long as the decade they’re emulating, thank God.  Although now that we’re retreading  the eighties, I’m liking parts of that just fine.  Love the skinny jeans and have developed an absolute fetish for boots.  Also feel blessed that the waistline dropped on jeans so I no longer have to hike them up to boob level.  (Sure, go ahead and laugh those of you with actual waists.  The waistless will inherit the earth.  I think it’s one of the Beatitudes, or something.)

It seems everything is destined to be reborn, fresh for consumerism in a different decade.  Which explains these jeans:

Image  With the triple seam stitching on the side, they are straight out of the eighties.  And I just can’t buy them.  Just can’t.  I’m not sure I know more than three people (and none over the age of ten) who really need their butt bedazzled.  Hello, Cindy Sparkles?  Don’t wear that sparkly personality on your bum, dear.    That is not the area to draw attention to.

Other things recycle, too. Politics.  Social issues.  But the most fun ones are those that make us think of our childhood.  Like, ta-dum!  Said Bedazzler.

Image  Originally sold on infomercials in the ’70s, they eventually made it into KMarts everywhere.  And the Bedazzler was beloved in my family for jokes alone.  And since they’re back, if one wants, he or she can bedazzle their own butt, rather than spending $80 for a new pair of jeans.

Image

I might be the only person on earth who was surprised by the resurgence of Star Wars.  My kids still berate me regularly at the lack of foresight shown by my putting the Millenium Falcon on a rummage sale.  Hey!  I made $5!

Some things don’t deserve a comeback.  Some things should never have had a *come-in*.  Things like the soul patch, which is to facial hair what the mullet is to hair-dos:

Image   Take away this guy’s placard, ‘cuz we already know he’s a douchebag.  Tell the truth…when you see guys with one of these, what’s your first thought???

Has there been anything from your childhood that’s made a comeback?  If you got to pick, what would you like to see become popular again?  Anything you are ready to see the last of?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hello, Again.

  1. Willa says:

    Is it Friday already *looks confused* 😯
    Oooh – the eighties – my era . .. but no, no, no to drainpipe jeans . . please! Can make you look like a lollipop! At my age everything is heading south to Argentina but I still have a cute butt – so I am told 😉 so off to get me some bling for my pockets ROFLMAO!

    • Willa says:

      Oh and that guy? That is a crime against facial hair . . hold him down and I will shave it off! 😀

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Bring your butt over and I’ll bedazzle it for you, Willa :o) I’m mixing up the schedule this summer! While I’m working Fridays are easiest for me to get a little breathing room but during the summer it doesn’t matter. During the summer I have a heckuva time telling *what* day it is. I love that. Do you know Mondays aren’t really Mondays in the summer? It’s definitely a work thing.

  2. Mary Louise says:

    Hi Kylie: I’m really dating myself but the hoola hoop is back (for some reason). I could not get the hang of it way back when I don’t hold out much hope for now. A few years ago I got my sister in law the Millenium Falcon for Christmas. It had lights and made cool noises and stuff. Not sure it was a hit with S-I-L but I loved it (as did my nephews). Oh and by the way, that guy has to go. Really.

  3. Teresa Hughes says:

    I love that boots are back! I never stopped wearing them but, they are easier to find now. I wish the backpack pocketbooks would come back. That used to be the only type of purse I carried. I really wish any pants with designs or words on the butt would just go away!

    Fun post!!

  4. roxrustand says:

    Loved your post, Kylie!! And I agree. I think soul patches look weak, and hint at effeminate self-absorption. Like, what is the point–to catch stray catsup? Not that I have an opinion, or anything. 🙂

    One fad I hope will never return is the fanny/hip pack. Worn front or back, they did nothing for one’s silhouette! Same with bell bottoms–unless one was tall and slender, they weren’t very flattering.

    I do wish hats would come back….we saw a lot of them while traveling, and they could look elegant, or whimsical, and flattering…or not. Depending on the hat. 🙂

  5. Kylie Brant says:

    *effeminate self-absorption* LOL. Love it! You nailed it, exactly. I like hats, too. Maybe because I don’t look half bad in them My hubby brought me three because I need to avoid getting sun on my face from now on. Sigh. But they are cute!

  6. michelehauf says:

    I remember neon being in style for a year or so when I was in high school, and it’s been in all the stores lately. I so should have saved those neon green pants!

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Neon green pants? Wow, you were brave 🙂 I had the neon green shorts. They looked awesome with a tan, as I recall 🙂 I see they are back in style. When we have German exchange students each year they look askance at our fondness for neon and tie dye, LOL.

  7. leannebanks says:

    I’ve seen a lot more hats this summer. I think people are more conscious of sun damage and that may help with bringing back more hats. When I saw those jeans, I thought BLING AND POCKETS. Eek! But if you want to wear it, then I say go for it! 🙂

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    I like the hats. I think they are going to become my new convertible and beach attire. I feel quite Gatsby-era when I wear one 🙂

  9. C.J. Miller says:

    Leggings…of which I am not a fan. When I was in elementary school, leggings with big sweatshirts/t-shirts over them were everywhere. Now I see young people wear legging with tunic style shirts. I’ve even seen leggings for my infant daughter!

Leave a Reply

