Happy Release Day to Me!

Fourteen months ago I dipped my toe in the self publishing waters by releasing the five Silhouettes I had gotten the rights back to.  Results surpassed my expectations (which were admittedly low <g>) and I started thinking about doing more.

Today begins a new publishing direction for me. While my agent is shopping around a couple straight suspense projects, I’ve decided to self-publish my romantic thrillers.  With the genre sort of in the dumpster right now, the reality is that a new contract in RS from a traditional publisher won’t bring in the kind of advance  I could get excited about.  I’m banking that I can do better on my own.

As always with firsts, there were advantages and disadvantages.  There’s the freedom, which I love.  Control over the cover (Yay!) and back cover copy (boo!)  I *suck* at writing back cover copy.  But…I get control over titles (thumbs up).  I have options for audio and foreign translations.  I set the price point and can change it at any time.

Biggest problem?  I’m a procrastinator.  No, scratch that.  I’m the *queen* of procrastinators.  I take procrastination to heights never before known to mankind.  My favorite quote is:  ‘Hard work pays off in the long run, but procrastination pays off now!’

For a writer who needs deadlines to produce, putting me in charge of my own deadlines doesn’t work all that well.  Turns out, I’m not that harsh a taskmaster <g>.

But I’m in the groove now, and that groove produced a brand new romantic thriller trilogy entitled Circle of Evil.  Book 1, Chasing Evil, releases today.  Print copies will follow within the next couple weeks.

There were all sorts of firsts with this series.  Not only is it my first original self-published book, but it’s the only one I’ve ever set in my home state.  That’s been fun.  Oh, and I put one of my sons in the book, under an alias.  Can’t wait to hear the whining and snarky comments from his siblings!

Here’s a peek:

chasing-evilRenowned forensic profiler Dr. Sophia Channing has analyzed the most notorious psychopaths in the country.  So she’s a natural to join Iowa’s DCI task force to hunt the vicious sadist who has tortured and killed six women.  Her insight into the killer’s mind is just what’s needed to stop him before he strikes again.

DCI Agent Cam Prescott has had tough cases before.  But trailing this serial killer will require all his focus.  He’s haunted by the discovery of the six bodies buried in shallow graves in rural Iowa–and determined that there won’t be a seventh.  But when the killer sets his sights on Sophia, Cam fears he won’t be in time to stop a madman from numbering yet another victim….

I never think my attempt at cover copy is as strong as that of an editor’s.  But the above is a whole lot better than what I started with, which went something like this:  He’s Cam.  She’s Sophia.  Short and hot affair, now over.  Sadistic killer they’re trailing focuses on Sophia.  Cue Cam  to the rescue.  But wait!  Turns out she’s pretty smart, too.  So…yeah.

I’m ashamed to tell you how long it took me to wrestle that draft  copy into something vaguely compelling!

So it’s a big day.  Not only is it release day, but it’s the last day of school (!!!!!)  Some of the teachers have arranged for a party bus pub crawl (with jello shots!) Aaaaand I’m off deadline so I get to sleep tonight. It’d be a tough call to say which of these events I find the most exciting.  Which would thrill you the most?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Happy Release Day to Me!

  1. bellwriter says:

    Kylie, off to buy. Best of luck with your self-publishing venture. Love your quote about procrastination. So what part does your son play? The protagonist? Good luck!

  2. Teresa Hughes says:

    Sleep would definitely thrill me! I don’t drink and my kids have another week of school left so neither those are happening here. Not looking forward to the last day of school since my youngest will be graduating 8th grade and my oldest son will graduate high school. My only daughter is already beginning her second year of college. Where did my babies go???

    From one procrastinator to another, have a great day!

  3. Willa says:

    Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! So excited! 😀 As a rabid fan and reader getting to read it is the most exciting . .. Congratulations on release day 😀

    *races off to buy . . . and pimp to friends*

    • Willa says:

      What’s a jello shot?

      • Kylie Brant says:

        LOL, oh my dear uncorrupted friend 🙂 You mix up some jello, but instead of water you add vodka. Then set up as usual and refrigerate. If you’re not a texture eater they are delicious. If so, they take a little choking down Me, I’m the texture eater. But jello shots = F.U.N.!

      • Willa says:

        Ahh – you mean jelly! I am with you 😀 And yes, I am uncorrupted *sniggers*

  4. michelehauf says:

    Sounds awesome, Kylie. Congrats! Love that cover.

  5. Lois Greiman says:

    Congrats, Kylie. It’s sounds truly wonderful.

  6. Jane says:

    Happy Release Day, Kylie. Is there more info about the trilogy on your website?

  7. Trish Jensen says:

    Congrats, Kyli!. But, um, is that your son on the cover? Because it sure looks like a girl to me. Or am I missing a cover? May we please have a follow-up url when the book is up for sale? Just sayin’. I’m no a procrastinator but I’m lazy as hell when following up on stuff when I actually have to WORK at it. One click and I’m there. Otherwise I’ll think I’ll get to that later, then never do. Which is usually why I forget to eat supper. “I’ll get to that later.” And before you know, I’m in bed. Or time flies while I don’t eat and then I think, well, forget it now, It’s bad to eat right before bed.

    Trish, the idiot who doesn’t need to feed anyone else but the dog (and she reminds me like clockwork, so that’s okay)

  8. Trish Jensen says:

    Eeps! Sorry about misspelling your name!

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Oh and my son is *in* the book, not on the cover. Yet another son designed the cover 🙂 I just love it when my kids grow up to be useful to me! I regularly tap *another* son who’s an attorney. If only the fourth son was a homicide cop I’d have it made!

  9. Mona Kekstadt says:

    Hi Kylie, I love the cover and Congrats to your release day…we made Jello Shots for my friends wedding, well it was a backyard reception in my backyard…after the beach wedding in Florida…Fun times!!! I love Jello Shots…I have been known to make them too strong…also experimented with flavored vodkas. Our friends made the Jell-O shots in a brownie pan…much easier to have.
    Sleep is good! Headache in the morning not so good…lol

  10. donnas1 says:

    Congrats!! Cant wait to read it. After the past month I would have to go with sleep.

  11. Jaclyn says:

    Hi Kylie! I loved this book and I will be eagerly waiting for book 2! Congrats on the self publishing! It turned out great!

Leave a Reply

