New Trick For an Old Dog

What the Heart Knows - print

WHAT THE HEART KNOWS is one of my very best books.  i know I say that about all of them, but it really is, and I’m so glad Bell Bridge Books is bringing it back out soon.  The cover is beautiful, and we’ve just finished all the editorial steps.  It should be out this month in all kinds of formats—e-book, audio and trade paperback.  I’m excited!

But, dang, it’s April 12, and my yard is full of snow again.  A clean white blanket covers the icky dirty stuff that was sinking steadily into the ground last week.  The trees are heavily laden, and the birds seem confused.  I know it’s temporary, and it won’t be too long before I’m bemoaning the heat, but setbacks are challenging.  Silver linings often blend in with the gray.

Like the other day when I discovered crayons in the washing machine.  Good thing I found them before I put the clothes in the dryer, right?  It was a cold water load.  No harm done.  I checked carefully for more, found  none, ran the dryer.  And most of the clothes came out with yellow smears.  Ruined! 

I decided to use this as a laundry lesson for the girls.  I can solve a lot of stain problems, but the crayon solution eluded me.  We tried the usual solutions, and while the older granddaughter lamented the certain loss of her favorite shirt, and the little one sang the “I didn’t do it” refrain, I kept tried to stick with the spin cycle—Nope, that didn’t work—fully convinced that I was proving MY point.  Crayon is the worst.  Must not ever put them in your pocket. 

One more possibility, girls.  This is like a science experiment, and we know Dawn dishwashing soap is good for cleaning more than dishes.  (When nothing happens we’ll move on.)  We’ll rub it in a little in.  Maybe we’ll soak it, but chances are…

Nana, the soap’s turning yellow.

Oh, my gosh.  Maybe it’s working.  It is working.  This is more than a silver lining.  This is an actual discovery!  Gray skies are gonna clear up.  It’s happy faces all around.

Have you made any surprising discoveries lately?  Do you have any household tricks you’d care to share?

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in laundry, silver linings, kitchen science. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Trick For an Old Dog

  1. Kathleen O says:

    I am looking for a way to get nail polish out of a fleecy sweater and a white one at that… So it any of you have any ideas.. Let me know… And nail polish remover did not work.. I tried.. that is what I discovered recently,

    • Mona Kekstadt says:

      I would try the All detergent with Oxy in it. I used it to get Blue Nail polish out of my carpet and you can’t see a thing. Not one spot. This also works for puppy accidents..had my sisters dogs and they got sick. Used the All with Oxy in it and not one stain..

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    I was not the laundry genius. We use Oxy as our magic cure-all as a fall back when Dawn doesn’t work. My grandma taught me to use milk for ink stains, but I learned the hard way not to do that on linen (my brand new linen suit that had been worn once was ruined forever.)

  3. leannebanks says:

    Congrats on seeing your fave book hit the stands again! Yay for Dawn! 🙂 I’ve recently discovered an olive oil mister which means I use a mist of oil instead of a glug. 🙂 Also discovered that you can freeze feta and blue cheese. Great news since I’m often just cooking for two these days! 🙂

  4. Teresa Hughes says:

    I did not know that work! Now I’m thinking about all the clothes I got rid of due to crayons!! The only miracle stain remover is Mother’s Miracle that is sold at Baby Superstores. Working in healthcare you are bound to get blood on you and it totally gets it out!

    Thanks for sharing! Have a great weekend!

  5. michelehauf says:

    And that is why my kids never let ME wash their clothes. They started doing their own when they were old enough to understand that mom just shoves anything in the wash and dryer. Hey, I couldn’t complain. Less work for me.
    My latest discovery is that Mr. Clean Magic Eraser is great to use on the white rubber parts of tennis shoes. Cleans it up nicely!

  6. A Sears repair man told us to never use liquid softener in the washing machine, or use softener sheets in the dryer, as they form thin, scummy films in both machines, increase the risk of lint fires, and they increasingly reduce the absorbancy of towels, washcloths etc. So per his instructions, we put a half cup of vinegar in every load of wash (in the softener dispenser) which is better for the fabrics and helps keep the machines clean, too. I do use half a dryer sheet for a load of shirts.

    Every now and then I run a cycle in the empty dishwasher, adding about a quart of vinegar after I hear the click when it would otherwise be dispensing the detergent….also per the repairman’s instructions.

  7. Quilt Lady says:

    I use Oxy clean a lot myself also use the Dawn, works pretty good but some things just want come out after you dry them.

  8. Mona Kekstadt says:

    Im going to try Dawn on my husbands greased uniform pants. I’ll hope for the best. Very good tips…congrats on your favorite book. I’ll have to be on the look out. I like having the book in my hand…have a wonderful weekend everyone…

  9. Nicole says:

    The only thing that I used often is hairspray on ink stain. Never put water on an ink stain that will make it permanent. I use shout on regular stain, so far it has work for me. I didn’t know about Dawn, I’ll have to try that.

  10. Dawn is good for anything greasy. Hairspray often works on makeup, even on delicate fabric. Handy when you’re traveling.

Leave a Reply

