Sunshine, whales, and longing for spring

It’s chilly and raining, raining, raining as I write this post. I brought the horses in because they are shivering, and we turned up the heat a bit in the house.  Oh, my what a change this is from where we were just a few days ago!
P1040369We were at the Barcelo resort in San Jose del Cabos  (a twin community to Cabo San Lucas, at the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula), and the warm sunshine (350 days a year!), pools and beautiful flowers were a very welcome change from the snowy winter we had in the Midwest.
As beautiful as it was, this wasn’t a place to frolic in the waves –at least while we were there.
The waves were so high, and the undertow so fierce, that the day before we arrived, two people were pulled out to sea in front of our resort, and the life guard nearly drowned while rescuing them.
Once during the week we went out on a whale watching excursion.  We were just in time, because by the P1040526next full moon, the whales will all be making their 5,000 mile journey up to Alaskan waters for the summer, where they will feed almost constantly on the ample fish supply, according to our guide.
It’s so amazing to catch even a brief glimpse of these magnificent creatures!
Here are some photos I took—though with the waves and motion of the boat, my photos  from the boat aren’t perfect. The sailboat photo was at sunset, as we were returning to shore.
P1040512
The first whale photo is of a whale breaching, belly side up.
The second is actually two whales, close together.   The third is the result of a big whale belly flop.  🙂
Do you have some travel plans this year?  What is your favorite destination? Where would you like to visit next?
Roxanne Rustand
P1040504P1040513
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunshine, whales, and longing for spring

  1. Mona Kekstadt says:

    These pictures are so beautiful. I’m so jealous. I wish I was going somewhere nice and warm. It’s raining and cold so I plan on reading all day. My favorite destination was Hawaii the very first time and I also went horse back riding for the very first time, and I loved it. Me and my husband were married there as well on a golf course.It was just breathtaking…I would love to go to Cabo never been. No travel plans this year.

    • Reading all day sounds like a perfect way to spend a rainy day! When our kids were growing up, rainy days were for going to the bookstores in town, and the library, and baking cookies. Fond memories. Today, I will be inside too, but at my computer.

      Hawaii is much more lush and green than Cabo. What a beautiful wedding you must have had! And what fun, riding horses there as well. Happy memories!

      • Mona Kekstadt says:

        Small but all the important people were there. Horse back riding was wonderful. I had a beautiful horse with a Hawaiian name and can’t think of it now…I had to be with the beginners this was my first time. My husband is an expert around horses. My horse decided he was going to run after his..my husband said my face has pure terror on it…I told him what did he expect.

        I love this Blog!!! Take care…I love Myrtle Beach that was a very favorite destination when I was a kid…everyone have Safe and Happy travels wherever you go…xo

  2. leannebanks says:

    Roxanne, I love your pics and I’m so glad you had a nice trip! I know you were ready for some warm temps! And how exciting to see those whales. What kind of whales? I had the opportunity to see whales in New Zealand. So exciting. We have already taken a little trip to Key West in February and we will go down to Myrtle Beach a few times this year. Low key. May be doing something bigger next year, so we’ll have to pace ourselves! Great blog! xo

    • I believe we saw humpback whales and gray whales…at least according to the guide. I never miss a chance to go whale watching wherever we can, because it’s such a thrill to even catch a glimpse. Hawaii and Alaska offer great opportunities. I’m so envious—I would sooo love to go to New Zealand!! But my dh hates long flights and has a terrible time with insomnia, which is exacerbated for weeks by the sleeplessness of overnight flights, so just one mention of the length of that flight and he said never, ever, ever. Ever. 🙂

      I’ve hear Myrtle Beach is gorgeous. I think the NINC conference is there this year. I’ve never attended, but would sure like to–especially since its there!

  3. Teresa Hughes says:

    Loved your pictures! The sunset was beautiful!

    Unfortunately, do to finances we are not going on vacation this year. But, when we do we go to the NC mountains. My children who are teenagers love history so we usually go to Cherokee. We spend days going thru the museums and just learning about our ancesters. Its a fun trip.

    • I have heard North Carolina is beautiful. Our daughter might end up there….her husband is finishing his PhD and is starting to look at university positions, and just came back from Raleigh.
      I love history and going through museums! Honestly we would not be traveling much at all, but my husband is a veterinary pharmaceutical sales rep, and we’ve been blessed by him earning some free trips each year, to places we’d never think of going. It’s been great fun, but when he retires we’ll probably just be visiting our kids and grandkids!

    • I forgot to add that I posted a lot more photos on my facebook profile–just go to http://www.facebook.com/roxanne.rustand and scroll down a bit.

  4. Kylie Brant says:

    Oh I’m so jealous! I keep wanting to go to Cabo. I have heard that the fierce waves are something other people have noted when going Jan-March. And I want to see the whales!!!! Why can’t you just have Larry keep working and earning the trips, then you and I will go on them???

  5. Kathleen O says:

    I have never been whale watching.. Even when I was down east in Canada or the Maritimes as they are referred to now.. I think it would be amazing site to see.. I have no plans for traveling, maybe a trip up north to family or friends summer homes. But if I had the money, I would be going to Ireland and Scotland.. Been a long time since I have been to either one of these places.

    • i just love the Maritimes. How long did you live there? Where were you? I’d love to hear more!
      What are your favorite memories of Ireland and Scotland?

      • Kathleen O says:

        I was just there on a visit.. and my fav thing about Ireland was visiting family and seeing all the places where my dad grew up and meeting his friends. In Scotland it was visiting Edinburgh Castle and going to the Scottish Tattoo… was a wonderful site to see the castle all lit up at night.

  6. loisgreiman says:

    Hey Rox, I see your rain and raise you a snow/thunderstorm!!! Accck!! In April. Please take me to along when you and Kylie go cuz I have nothinggggg fun planned.

  7. What gorgeous pictures, Lois! I’m trying to see the beauty in the snow outside my window, but my inner Pollyanna is getting a little grumpy. I couldn’t make it to my Loft class today. Couldn’t get from my neighborhood onto the main drag. Steady stream of traffic crawling along in a scant few inches of the slippery wet stuff like an over-the-hill Chinese dragon. And, yeah, thunder. Grumpy over-the-hill dragon.

  8. michelehauf says:

    Whales are so awesome. Would love to do a trip like yours some day.
    Yes, the thundersnow. Ugg. Still snowing here. But I just checked the Paris weather and it promises me 60s next week when I intend to escape this winter funk!

  9. Nicole says:

    The only time I saw a whale was on a ferry on the Sagueney River in Québec. It was fun but since we weren’t there to watch for whales, I didn’t have my camera ready. I love your pictures!
    This year we are going to Paris, Amsterdam and Copenhagen. My husband have to go there for his work, I’m tagging along just for fun. 🙂 It’s going to be my first time in Copenhagen. It’s always fun to see new places.

  10. roxrustand says:

    I just discovered that if you click a photo, you can see it in a much bigger size. I am probably the only person here who didn’t know that. 🙂 But now, I’m going to go back through old posts here so I can enjoy some of the lovely photos that have been posted.

  11. Quilt Lady says:

    Its raining here and turning cooler. The past few days it was in the 70’s and very nice. Now its turning cold again. I think the high tomorrow is going to be 50. At least we had a few nice days.

  12. Spring is having a hard time taking over this year, isn’t is?!

  13. Vickey says:

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old
    daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched
    her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

