Worth Waiting For

DownloadedFile-1

Spring has slipped in here, silently and without fanfare.  After March roared in like a lion and exited much the same way, Iowans are weary and wary about celebrating the end of winter too soon, lest it still be hiding around the corner.  But even before today’s low sixties temperatures there were signs.  The days were getting longer.  It was light outside later.  And although I’ve yet to spot my first robin–our harbinger of spring–I’m serenaded by a chorus of songbirds every morning.  Today we did our first outdoor walk.  Only two miles…but it was long enough to inhale the change of season.

I always wonder if it would be so welcome, so anticipated if it we didn’t have such wicked winters.  Surely a fear of frostbite sharpens our appreciation for spring.  It was worth the wait.

But there are so many things in life that are worth waiting for.  Here are a few of mine:

1)   The one who completes you.  The one with whom you can join hands and brace for whatever life has in store for you.

2)  Children.  Although sometimes there’s little waiting involved <g>.

3)  The career that challenges, rewards and fulfills.

4)  Vacations from the career.  (see challenges above)

5)  Savoring the moment your first book hit the shelves.  It can never again be experienced in quite the same way, no matter how many books follow.

6)  ‘Meeting’ your children as adults.  And realizing how much you like them 🙂

a)  Grandchildren.  Squee!

b)  Payback!  Whee!

c)  Commiseration!  Free!

d)  More grandchildren!  Squee!

6)  Empty nest.  And the opportunity to fall in love with your sweetie all over again.

7)  Retirement.  And hopefully time for all the things you never had time to do together.

What things have you discovered were worth the wait?  Do you have a lists?  Anything you’re still waiting for?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Worth Waiting For

  1. Nikki H says:

    It’s gotta be grandchildren and the retirement. It’s the best ever!!

  2. bellwriter says:

    Oh this is terrific, Kylie! I haven’t been blessed with grandchildren yet. But I love having the opportunity to know my children as adults. And how true about winter turning into spring… if it was mild, our reply to spring would be meh ;)… well maybe not, look at those blooms on those trees. There’s something about spring that says rebirth and try again. Wonderful post!

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Donnell, I just wish those trees were in my yard 🙂 And we’re too far north in Iowa to see those beautiful displays yet. But soon…something else to anticipate!

  3. Trish Jensen says:

    Kylie:
    I LOVE waiting for spring. Since I live in the mountains, it’s glorious to see the trees turn from ugly brown to mint green. To see the perennials begin to push their way up out of the earth.

    But truthfully, what I really love is the surprise email from my editor or the marketing guru letting me know that a book is a Daily Deal, or that they’ve decided to bring out a book in audio, or some other surprise something. Of course there’s also nothing like your editor telling you she loves your book, too.

    Most especially, I love bringing home puppies and looking forward to watching them learn how their world works. And loving me no matter how badly I sing and dance around the house. 🙂

    Trish

  4. Teresa Hughes says:

    My children were worth waiting for. Now I’m waiting to see who they will grow up to be.

  5. Willa says:

    Still waiting for Spring here across the pond. Has been the coldest March since records began and Crikes Jiminy is IS COLD! Brrrrrr!

    Oooh – how did you get on with your I-am-a-pin-cushion-excursion last week?

    And yes, I am waiting for your new book to come out . . . 😀 Pressure? moi?? 😀

    • Kylie Brant says:

      My sympathy, Willa 😦 I’ve had it with the cold temperatures and the unrelenting bone-chilling *wind*!

      Testing turned out no allergies. Nada. Zilch. Not even signs of the ones for which I was treated ten years. Hmm. Apparently my only option is to have my nose drilled out (ok they call it somnoplasty but same diff.) That just sounds like all kinds of fun. NOT. Oh and then to redo it every couple years. Yech 😦

      Book is coming along! Should have a cover soon and it will hopefully be out the tail end of May.

      • Willa says:

        How interesting about the old allergies . . . did they test you for your husband?

        Scarpers . . .

  6. Kathleen O says:

    Spring has not arrived in my part of the country…yet..But I am ever hopeful that soon the cold winds will be spirited away…
    I am waiting for the day I can open the windows and let all the stale air of winter blow out of the house. And for the warmth of the sun to touch my face.. And of course for all the great books that will be coming my way from my fav authors..

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Soon, Kathleen, soon spring will arrive. It’s been later than usual for everyone I think! And waiting for great books is the most wonderful anticipation 🙂

  8. leannebanks says:

    I want grandchildren! Now! lol Did you know they renamed March Marchuary this year because it was such a tough weather month? This is a GREAT blog! Worth waiting all week for! xo

  9. I’m a 4-season fan. (I mean weather-wise, although I like the music, too, from Vivaldi to Frankie Valli). I truly don’t aspire to becoming a snowbird. I’m still looking out my window at patches of snow and more than ready for them to be gone, but I love watching the seasons change. Each one has its down side, but, oh, the beauty of firsts–first buds and blooms, first day on the beach, first fall color, first snowfall. Each one is a promise. As for the downside, well, more promise; This too shall pass.
    Okay, just call me Pollyanna.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      I agree, Kathleen. I like to see the changing seasons. When the time comes when I’m no longer teaching, we will travel a lot more during the winter. But I don’t want a place to go and stay for months at a time. I like to visit somewhere and come home. There’s beauty to be found in each of the seasons.

  10. Mona Kekstadt says:

    I too am waiting for the day I can open the windows enjoy the fresh breeze in the house…I’m waiting to planting my flowers, deciding what colors to plant this year. Then hoping my sister can fit me into her busy schedule so I can spend time with my nephews…going out on our friends boat.
    I do love all 4 seasons as well..I’m also waiting to see more cardinals. I always know my grandmother is close by after she passed on it was her way she told me.
    I await for new books to come out. I’m a big reader, Love to find new authors. This is a really GREAT BLOG!!!! I look forward to it. I have read a lot of Cindy’s books every Bodyguard and Black OPS..she is a sweetheart.
    Hope there is another One-Eyed Jacks coming out…I would love to read new books so recommendations? Please give me some ideas…

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Mona, you can’t go wrong with books by any of the others on this blog 🙂 I agree about the flowers. One of the most enjoyable times of year for me. I do get a little discouraged having to work within the parameters I’m given…LOTS of shade at home, LOL. But oh, when the plants get established and it looks like a real garden and not just ‘planted’ things…I just can’t get enough of it. I take breaks from writing and take little strolls in my flower beds 🙂

    • Welcome, Mona! If we’re new to you, we hope you’ll ride with us often.

      • Mona Kekstadt says:

        Thank you Kathleen…I will definitely stay connected to this Blog!!! I just recently started and will check out books by you all…hope you have a great weekend.

  11. michelehauf says:

    That picture makes me weep. I’m looking out the window right now at snowflakes coming down. Sigh… Can’t wait for spring to finally show up.
    Things worth the wait? A well-done sequel to a favorite movie, comes to mind.

  12. Quilt Lady says:

    Lots of money would be good for me. Then I could have everything else in time.

Leave a Reply

