It’s not just April Fool’s Day!

It’s the first day of April and you know what that means.  You’re either bracing yourself for pranks that will be played on you or planning your pranks for others.  I try to play at least one April Fool’s joke per year.  It just seems the right thing to do, but I don’t spend all day thinking about it.

I found it interesting that other things are celebrated today.  Did you know that April 1 is Boomer Bonus Day, a day to celebrate everyone over 50.  I didn’t know that one existed.  Did you?  Today is also National Fun  Day and National Fun At Work Day.  I like those.  I think we should try to have as much fun as possible while living and working. Smile 

Today is International Tatting Day.  Tatting is a form of needlepoint.  Today is St. Stupid Day, which is celebrated with a parade in San Francisco.  Today is also Sorry Charlie Day which honors Charlie the Tuna and everyone who has ever been rejected and still bounced back.

Today is Tater Day, a large festival in Kentucky that celebrates sweet potatoes.  I love sweet potatoes, so I could really get into Tater Day!  Speaking of food, today is also National Sourdough Bread Day.

Finally, today is Reading is Funny Day, a great day to share riddles and funny books with children.

What “day” would you like to celebrate today?

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to It’s not just April Fool’s Day!

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    I had no idea all those days were celebrated! I think we need a Pampering Day. This will be a day for all women to take a day to pamper themselves with getting their hair and nails done.

    • leannebanks says:

      Teresa, I LOVE that idea! I think we should have several declared Pampering Days!

    • Mona Kekstadt says:

      Not just hair and nails pedicure too..and massage.

      • leannebanks says:

        Teresa and Mona, I looked it up and there IS a National Pampering Day! Who knew! The date listed is August 4. I think that’s entirely too far away, don’t you! 🙂

      • Teresa Hughes says:

        Aug 4th is way too far away! I could go for the massage too Mona!

      • Mona Kekstadt says:

        I agree August 4th is way to far way to far. I need to have a Pamper day soon! I accidentally cut my finger twice and dropped my Pledge can on my foot while dusting. Maybe I should just give up that up?
        What do you think? No joke this really happened…my husband could not even look at my finger had to have my neighbor look at it.

      • Teresa Hughes says:

        Oh no! You definitely need a pamper day. I think it should be a rule that once you are injured while cleaning then someone else should do the cleaning!

      • Mona Kekstadt says:

        Yes, sit back do nothing all day….read a good book and a manicure and pedicure.
        I like the way you think about having some else doing the cleaning.

      • leannebanks says:

        Mona, you definitely need pampering! G0 asap!

      • Mona Kekstadt says:

        I’ll make the appointment righ away. The place by my house is great, they give you a heated neck role….for a good book any suggestions?

      • Teresa Hughes says:

        Yep! I someone else doing the work is always a great idea! Not sure my husband would agree lol!

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    Right now about all I can think of is a “Last Day of School Day”, lol 🙂 Soon, though. I have given some thought to what I’m going to do to prank the students today, though I usually feel bad though and make it up to them somehow.

  3. Mona Kekstadt says:

    I go for Tater Tots..I love Sweet Potatoes with Cinnamon and Sugar..Yummy!!!! I do love the Pampering Day..

  4. April 1st has always been a special day for me. It was the day I was adopted, when I was three, and my parents always made it like a special birthday. Until my mom passed away at the age of 94, she always sent me pretty cards and often a gift…and of course I reciprocated, because I always felt so lucky to have the parents I did.

    • leannebanks says:

      Roxanne, what a wonderful memory! I’ve heard of parents calling the day they adopted their children “Gotcha Day”. You and your adoptive parents were both blessed! xo

Leave a Reply

