42 Songs Everyone Should Know and 1 Book Everyone Should Own

This Time Forever - screen  First off, THIS TIME FOREVER is a Daily Deal at Amazon today!  The e-book is 75% off at $1.99 today only.  You know me—I love a bargain.

I’m working pretty hard these days—two new books in the works plus an old favorite in the final stages of making its second debut—and teaching my writing class at the Loft.  All that and my granddaughters require as much attention as ever.  If it weren’t for chauffeur duty, that would be just fine.  They’re growing fast, and I don’t want to miss anything.  It’s almost spring, and I’m finding that fifth grade is the new junior year.  The older one signs up for everything.  We just had the 5th grade play, the dance routine for halftime at the teacher-kid basketball game, the spring carnival, the Book Bowl team finals, and more.  Now we’re getting ready for the end of the year 5th grade choir activities, which include a performance at the spring picnic and singing the National Anthem at a Twins baseball game.  (The new Twins stadium is glorious, by the way.)

Which takes me to the choir director’s web page and my fun dicovery along with today’s challenge.  Did you know that the National Association for Music Education created a list of 42 songs every American should know?  I’m one of those who carries the lyrics to gobs of songs in my head but can’t carry a tune past a single note.   

So this is an interesting list of songs.  How many do you know?  And what would you add?  (Or subtract?)

Amazing Grace

America (My Country ‘Tis of Thee)

America the Beautiful

Battle Hymn of the Republic

Blue Skies

Danny Boy

De Colores

Dona Nobis Pacem

Do-Re-Mi

Down by the Riverside

Frere Jacques

Give My Regards to Broadway

God Bless America

God Bless the U.S.A.

Green,Green Grass of Home

Havah Nagilah

He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands

Home on the Range

I’ve Been Working on the Railroad

If I Had a Hammer

Let There be Peace on Earth

Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing

Michael(Row the Boat Ashore)

Music Alone Shall Live

My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean

Oh! Susanna

Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin’

Over My Head

Puff the Magic Dragon

Rock-A-My Soul

Sakura

Shalom Chaverim

She’ll Be Comin’ Round the Mountain

Shenandoah

Simple Gifts

Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child

The Star-Spangled Banner

Swing Low,Sweet Chariot

Take Me Out to the Ball Game

This Land is Your Land

This Little Light of Mine

Yesterday

Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah

 

And which song will be stuck in your head all day?

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in Amazon Daily Deal, songs, songs everyone should know, music. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 42 Songs Everyone Should Know and 1 Book Everyone Should Own

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    I know 27 of them! But yes I have This Land Is Your Land going on in my head now!

  2. laurieg72l says:

    I would add :
    Louis Armstrong It’s A Wonderful World
    John Denver’s Take Me Home Country Roads
    John Denver & Placido Domingo’s Perhaps Love
    Cat Stevens If You Want To Sing Out , Sing Out
    U2’s Beautiful Day
    Willie Nelson On the Road Again

    It’s A Wonderful World plays in my head.

  3. I just got “the look,” Kathleen. From the DH as I was scrolling through the list of songs, happily singing away as I went. In my experience DH’s have many “looks.” I would say this one was somewhere between “Now what?” and “I don’t want to know.” LOL. Great blog!

    What would I add? Will You Love Me Tomorrow and Wichita Lineman.

  4. Kylie Brant says:

    I think I would add Cat Stevens’ Morning has Broken. (and that’s the one I want in my head!) That and On Eagles’ Wings are my absolute favorites at church. I knew most but not all of them. I wonder how many more I would recognize if I plugged them into iTunes and at least heard the first part. Sometimes I don’t recognize the names.

    • Love both of those, Kylie. They remind me of graduation and weddings. The woman who sang “The Lord’s Prayer”–well, got laryngitis and sang it in sign language, but that’s a whole other story–anyway, same woman along with her daughter sang “On Eagles’ Wings” at my daughter’s wedding. Okay, Eagles. A little hokey, but beautiful song.

  5. Teresa Hughes says:

    My 19 year old daughter said there should be a couple of Elvis songs on there. Lol! He is a total Elvis freak!

  6. Kathleen O says:

    Good list, I know about 90% of them.. Even those US anthems and I am a Canadian…

  7. Kathleen O says:

    and PS.. I have the book already on my kindle…

  8. Just went to Amazon and downloaded your book. Thanks for the heads-up!

    I know one song that shouldn’t be added to the list. It was circling through my head for a year after the first time we took the kids to Disneyworld. It’s a Small World After All. Aaaaaccckkk!!

  9. michelehauf says:

    I will have My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean buzzing about in my head today. Not a bad one, though. 😉

  10. loisgreiman says:

    You got me with Rock My Soul. Could be a long day now since I only know about 5 words.

  11. Quilt Lady says:

    I know a lot of these and now you have them stuck in my head. Although John Denver’s Take Me Home Country Road should be on the list also. Right now Puff the Magic Dragon is stuck in my head.

  12. MaryC says:

    I know 37 songs. The song I’d add is Children Will Listen. Song stuck in my head is Amazing Grace.

    I reread THIS TIME FOREVER recently – one of my favorite books!

  13. Sonya Heaney says:

    Well, I’m not American, but I know a number of them! 🙂 🙂 There’s quite a bit of ‘God’ going on there…
    Crazily enough, it’s Havah Nagilah that is now stuck in my head. But that’s because I’ve been involved in gymnastics most of my life and Aly Raisman won Olympic gold last year with a floor routine to that music.

  14. Mona Kekstadt says:

    Yes love the list of songs, add Louis Armstrong It’s A Wonderful World has very special meaning to me. There are only a couple I don’t know…yes add U2 Beautiful Day love that song.

Leave a Reply

