Better late than never…?

I should have had my post up this morning.  Early.  Faulty planning on my part, but things got busy this past weekend with company, and extended into today!

Easter Basket with Easter EggsHow many of you have kids who are grown and gone?  I have friends who longed for that day to come and were happy about the peace and quiet once the house settled back into pre-children mode.

As for me–I dreaded the day when the second two left for college, because after our first chick flew the coop, I discovered that they don’t come back.  Two of our three are in grad school, one is out  of college, and all three are married, so we don’t get to see them nearly often enough.  But this past weekend–bliss!

We got to see all of our kids, their spouses and the grandkids too, and we had  early Easter baskets for the ones who won’t be back next weekend.

Next weekend will be our dinner on Easter Sunday where we invite  everyone, though this time we’ll be down to just a dozen people.  It’s fun cooking for a bigger crowd, but I guess I’ll need to scale things back a bit.  For those of you celebrating the holiday, what are your family’s favorites for dinner?  Do you have an unusual or special traditions each year?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Better late than never…?

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    Every Easter my entire family goes to church together. Afterwards we have lunch which consists of spiral ham, mac & cheese, green beans, devil eggs, bread, black forest chocolate cake and sweet tea. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

  2. roxrustand says:

    Sounds delicious, Teresa!!

  3. Sonya Heaney says:

    I’m Ukrainian (Catholic) which means Easter isn’t until May this year! Ukrainian Easter is a big deal – Christmas-level big deal. Pysanky (intricately-painted eggs) are Ukrainian, and there’s a mountain of traditional Easter foods.
    For Easter this coming weekend? We’ll probably just have a bottle of champagne!

  4. Sonya, May sounds like a better time for Easter this year. We still have lots of snow! Your Easter sounds wonderful. I love looking at incredibly intricate and beautiful Ukrainian Easter eggs. What talent and patience they would require!

  5. kylie brant says:

    I’m jealous. I’m lucky to get the single kids back. This year because we’ll all be together on Sat. no one is coming home. I’m trying to get out of cooking for all since there will only be four of us. I’d rather make reservations 🙂 But I do get to spend Sat. with the family so that will be great fun.

  6. Quilt Lady says:

    We use to always have turkey and dumplings for Easter but now that the kids are all grown we don’t do that any more. My sister my for her grand kids, not use about that though.

Leave a Reply

