A Good Day to Pi

image-via-seattlepi Who knew March 14 was National Pi Day?

Not to be confused with National Pie Day, which, sadly, I missed back in January.  Granddaughter #1 informed me of Pi Day on Pi Eve as her head was about to hit the pillow.  “I almost forgot!”  She jackknifed, eyes wide.  “I have to take a pie to school tomorrow.  It’s National Pi Day.”  She killed a little more time by spelling everything out, and I killed even more because a teachable moment cannot be ignored no matter what time it is, and in my world the happy homophone trumps the never-ending number any time of the day.

I thought she was kidding about the pie.  But, no, she called shortly after she got to school just to make sure I remembered that coconut cream was her favorite and she didn’t want to be the only one who didn’t contribute a pie.  What would her class do with 30 pies?

Ah, well, mine not to reason why, Mine but to do and buy:  Into the aisle of pie rode the no-bake-crust Nana.

(Quick, name the poem I just butchered in pi-sized pieces!)

So here’s fun a question:  What’s your favorite National ____ Day?  How do you celebrate?

OLLC(1)

I’ll send a copy of ONE LESS LONELY COWBOY to the author of one randomly chosen comment today.

And for the rest of today Beware the Ides of March.

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in book giveaway, Celebrations, pie, poetry, school days. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Good Day to Pi

  1. leannebanks says:

    What a nice Nana to get that coconut cream pie!:) I didn’t celebrate pi day yesterday. I’m pretty random about celebrating National days although I try to celebrate National chocolate Day and National Ice Cream Day. 🙂

  2. Leanna H says:

    National Chocolate and Coffee Day sounds good to me!

  3. Laney4 says:

    “Charge of the Light Brigade” by Alfred, Lord Tennyson.

    We have National Secretaries Day. Whenever I have worked in an office (outside my home), some of the bosses have given flowers or chocolates. Mind you, they soon came up with National Bosses Day, but I was working back at home again by then (hehehehehe).

  4. How sweet you are –and how lucky your granddaughter is that you live close enough to do these wonderful things for her!! And yum….that pie in the photo looks delicious!

    You’ve made me long for a slice of coconut cream pie. 🙂

  5. michelehauf says:

    So what *did* they do with all those pies?

    • When i dropped the pie off the “greeter” (don’t know what to call her–I think she’s unarmed) said they’d been greeting 5th grade parents bearing pies all morning, but since not everyone was quite so Nana-on-the-spot, there was enough to go around but not a whole lot left over. Tasty memories of pi!

  6. loisgreiman says:

    Adorable!!! Everything about that story is adorable. I’m always surprised by the national days.
    My favorite is Hoody Hoo Day. On this winter day, people go out at noon, wave their hands over their heads and chant “Hoodie-Hoo”.

    It is a day to chase away winter and bring in spring. After all, everyone in the northern hemisphere are sick and tired of winter at this point and a little crazy being cooped up inside all winter and not seeing the sun.

    Seriously???

  7. Kathleen O says:

    What a wonderful grandmother you are.. I did not know about National “Pie” Day until I saw it on FB… and then I realized it was Albert Einstein’s birthday and that might have something to do with it maybe… But I did not have any pie, so I will make up for it today when I go out for dinner..

    My fav National Day would have to National Chocolate Day…

  8. MaryC says:

    Definitely National Chocolate Day.
    We picked up a blueberry pie yesterday – delicious!

  9. Nicole says:

    It is fun for kids when they have days like that to celebrate in school. I know my girls use to love those. My favorite one will have to be chocolate day. Is there such a day?

    I try to make a note of woman’s day every year since women in many countries still fight for equality.

  10. Minna P says:

    Nicole, there is Chocolate Day! And I definitely celebrate it. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chocolate#Holidays

  11. Tracie Martin says:

    My favorite holiday is Thanksgiving. I love to cook and eat.

  12. Teresa Hughes says:

    Honestly I have never paid attention to this National Days. I had never heard of Pie Day so I was a little confused when I was seeing it and Pi Day on Facebook. Instead I just observe national kids day which in my house is everyday lol!

    • I remember asking Mama why we have Mother’s Day and Father’s Day but no Kid’s Day. She said every day was Kids Day. There must be an official one now, but back then, well, she was probably right. Except for the kids I was supposed to clean my plate for because they were starving. She had me convinced it might help somehow.

  13. CrystalGB says:

    National Ice Cream Day is my favorite. I love ice cream. 🙂

  14. Quilt Lady says:

    National Chocolate Day sounds good to me. You were so sweet to make the Coconut cream pie! I didn’t have pie today. Guess I am going to have to make my hubby his favorite cherry cheese cake, does that count as pie. Looks like a pie to me.

  15. Irene Cotton says:

    My question “what is a pi? was somewhat answered when I came here to read + share My favorite day like this would be the “S
    pring Solstice” I celebrate it and am (Really looking forward to spring this year more then ever)and also I want to say “what a loving Grandma you are to be so aware for your grandbaby! :-)”

  16. chey says:

    I like the sound of your chocolate and coffee day.

Leave a Reply

