Romance, Take me Away!

bungalownightscovOut this month is my Bungalow Nights, the second book in my Beach House No. 9 trilogy of full-length romance novels available both in digital and print. I’m really appreciating the good reviews, including a coveted starred review from Publishers Weekly. That publication said “Ridgway’s emotional and powerful second beach-themed contemporary…is exemplary in its slow exploration of desire” and added that it’s “everything a romance reader could hope for.” Romantic Times Book Reviews gave it 4 1/2 stars, named it a Top Pick as well as nominating it for the March Seal of Excellence, saying the book “is one of those rare contemporary romances that does absolutely everything right.”

The book takes place, obviously, at Beach House No. 9, where combat medic Vance Smith meets Layla Parker. At the behest of his dying commanding officer, he’s there to give the girl a month of sun and ocean. And that’s what Vance expects, a girl, because his CO carried a photo of a ten-year-old in his helmet. Instead, upon arrival Vance is startled to discover Layla is a full-grown and very lovely woman. Both have wary hearts, and there’s that small matter of Vance being uncomfortably aware he didn’t promise Layla’s father to do any more than show her sunsets and give her rides on Ferris wheels. Oh, what to do?

Also complicating Vance’s life is his estrangement from his family, who live about an hour away in “avocado country,” a land of hills and horses, orchards of citrus and trees with dark green leaves that bear the prickly but delicious “alligator pear.” In the course of Bungalow Nights, the characters take a detour from their beach destination to visit this new place.avocadogrove

While the Crescent Cove of the Beach House books was inspired by the real-life Crystal Cove, a California state park, the land where Vance’s family grows avocados also exists in more than my imagination. Just up the road from me are acres of avocado ranches, where twisty roads take you through creeks and under the spreading branches of rough-skinned oak trees. Just minutes from the Pacific you are in the lazy warmth of an agricultural region.

Romantic Times praises both “gorgeous settings” and Publishers Weekly mentions the “wonderfully evocative Californian setting of orange groves and avocado orchards.” Yes, I love these fabulous reviews.

Especially because I wrote this book when I was virtually bound to my bed after surgery for a broken leg. I couldn’t put any weight on the leg. I had to get downstairs by bumping down them one by one on my behind. My crutches came with me to the bathroom.

All this during the winter, when days were short and darkness descended early. It was Vance and Layla who took me away. Telling their story, going with them onto the sand or into the avocado orchard took me away from my bedroom and my broken leg.

That’s what a book can do…whether reading one or writing one. Has a book taken you away? (It doesn’t have to be from a particularly “bad” time either. I remember passing the time at a prestigious Track & Field meet my brother participated in by sticking my nose in two books I’d brought along. My parents were horrified!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Romance, Take me Away!

  1. Kathleen O says:

    There are a lot of books that have “taken me away” and especially on the long bus rides I had to take weekly to see my mother in the nursing home. I was never with out a paperback or my kindle and reading some wonderful books. And just recently is was that hour and 45 minuets waiting to have blood work done, Kathleen Eagles, The Last Good Man took me away from that noisy waiting room…

  2. I just read the new Elizabeth Hoyt book, Lord of Darkness. I’ve been hooked on this series ever since I discovered it somewhere in the middle and had to go looking for the first couple of books. I don’t know that I’ve ever stuck with a series this long. Love the deft way she integrates past characters and teases the next ones.

  3. loisgreiman says:

    Congratulations on the beautiful reviews, Christie. That’s really wonderful! As writers I’m sure we all have been swept away by a list of books too long to mention. As for me, I’ve been craving Jim Butcher’s angsty wizard lately.

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    Congratulations on the GREAT reviews, Christie! Just downloaded Bungalow Nights to my Kindle. Sounds like my kind of book!

  5. Wonderful news on the great reviews!! And as far as being swept away by a book, all of of you here do that very thing for me, and I’m sure Bungalow Nights will be the same. Very pretty cover, too!

  6. Thanks for the reminder about downloading, Cindy. That’s so convenient. My book purchasing has escalated dramatically since caving in to buying e-books!

    Lois, I’ve never read Butcher, but angsty wizard sounds cool. 🙂 One of my all time keepers is still Wizard of Seattle.

Leave a Reply

