Downton Abbey

I just spent the morning running errands, from one end of town to the other. Errands that had to be taken care of…though when I got to the last stop, I had a rather disconcerting realization: I’d worn my barn boots, and I’d forgotten to slap on some makeup before racing out the door.  If any of you are Scandinavian, you’ll understand what I mean about having a face like a blank slate when mother nature hasn’t been  given a bit of a boost.  Scary!

All of the little clerks here and there were polite, but I can only imagine what a clerk from an older generation might have thought:  Ma Kettle had been resurrected.  Unbelievably, I didn’t run into anyone I actually knew–thank goodness!  Invariably I do, when less than presentable, and it’s usually someone who is coiffed and beautifully made up, and dressed to the nines.

downton-abbey-pbsIt got me thinking, on the way home, about my current addiction: Downton Abbey.  I love that series, to the point that I bought the first two seasons, have ordered the third, and avidly watch every moment of it on Sunday evenings.

I would really, really love an Anna in my life–the character who has just become  lady’s maid for Lady Mary.  How lovely it would be to have someone to ensure that all was perfect before one descended the grand staircase for dinner.  No more inadvertent barn boots for me.  🙂

Is anyone else here as addicted to Downton Abbey as me?  I’m totally wrapped up in the subplots, the characters both upstairs and down, the scenery and the beautiful Downtown Abbey setting itself, otherwise known as Highclere Castle.

If you would like to take a quiz on this beautiful castle, you can go to http://www.pbs.org/special/inside-highclere-castle-quiz/

If you’d like to take a quiz and find out which character you are most like, go to http://www.weta.org/tv/picks/downtonabbey/quiz       I’ll have to admit that I had hoped I would end up a far more romantic character than I did!  🙂

So, is anyone else here following Downton Abbey this season?  Who are your favorite characters?

Roxanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Downton Abbey

  1. kylie brant says:

    I have heard a lot about the series but haven’t watched. But I know what you mean about going out unprepared. Unlike you, though I invariably run into someone I know. And I’m always offended when they recognize me 🙂 Like makeup is my disguise and how dare they still know who I am when I look my worst, LOL!

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    LOL Rox. YOu described me on an outing on a good day :o) My sunglasses are my make up – try to pull that off when it’s raining or near sunset.
    I’ve got to watch Downton Abbey. Heard so much about it.

  3. Roxanne says:

    LOL, Kim!!! You echoed my thoughts exactly. I figure no one will even know its me, and they always do….which makes me think my best efforts on a good day aren’t effective at all. 🙂

    Cindy–Yep, sunglasses are my best friend, and I hesitate to take them off….though in a store, I can’t read the credit card screens if I don’t!

  4. Lee Ann says:

    I was hooked from the first episode. 🙂 I bought both seasons of DA partly because PBS edits the episodes to fit into their time slots. I have to admit that I’ve already seen all of season 3, unedited as it was shown on ITV in the UK, after a friend pointed me to a website where the eps are uploaded.

    Yes, I would dearly love to have an Anna. Besides being such a sweetheart, it would be nice not to have to change clothes and put on some make-up to run an errand. I use my sunglasses all of the time, too. Partly for the sun, of course, since I live in Florida but they can also hide a multitude of sins. Since I work from home I’m usually in leggings and a tee shirt so changing clothes is a must for me.

    So glad there are others who are so hooked on this show!

  5. Sonya Heaney says:

    Hmmm. I’m very behind. I have watched the first five and a half episodes of season one so far!

    My favourite thing about the show is the design. The costumes are gorgeous.

    I really dislike the oldest daughter (the one with the dark hair – can’t remember any names!). I think I’d love the show more if they killed her off! But Maggie Smith is excellent, even if she plays exactly the same character in everything she does.

    I really love the actor Brendan Coyle, so John Bates is my favourite character at the moment!

  6. Kimh says:

    Good show,
    Like Mary , Anna, the grandmas,

  7. That’s so funny! I even know what barn boots are, and I do the same thing sometimes. As for makeup, it’s on again off again for me, but I’m getting old enough that Grandma Nature really needs a little help! As for Downton Abbey, I dearly love both Anna and her husband, John, faithfully facing the worst–together. I missed this week, so don’t tell me anything!!

Leave a Reply

