So, what is a MOG party?

Here’s a hint!  My son is scheduled to walk down the aisle this week!  What does that make me?  A MOG or mother-of-the-groom.  I look forward to taking the traditional role of a MOG – “Wear beige and sit down.”  (Although I’ll be wearing navy.<G>)

In the meantime, a fabulous group of friends put together a MOG party for me!  We had a yummy potluck dinner and they named a cocktail after me called “the Leannetini”.  One of my friends wrote a poem in my honor!  I was given gifts of wine, photo frames, scarves and candles.  My son and his fiance were given a piggy bank stuffed with money from my friends!  It made me feel so special.  Here’s a pic of my friends and me with the bride and groom.  006

I feel so blessed to be a part of this group of friends.  We throw crazy parties for grandmas-to-be, mothers of the bride and those birthdays that end in 0!  Every year we take a trip together to a beach or Lake House.

Do you have any friends who like to have crazy parties and celebrations?  Do you have some advice for me for my son’s wedding day?  I don’t want to cry!

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in weddings,. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to So, what is a MOG party?

  1. loisgreiman says:

    Aren’t we lucky to have friends that care. I just got back from the Denver Stock Show with three of my best friends. We shopped, took pics of cowboys, shopped, watched hunter jumper horses, shopped, went to rodeos and…shopped. It was wonderful.
    I don’t have any advice for your beautiful son. But as for being the mog…when my youngest son got married my goal was to keep the sobbing decibel down to the degree that I didn’t disturb the people in the back row. I think I almost succeeded.

  2. leannebanks says:

    Thanks Lois! So glad you have a great time with your friends at the Denver Stock Show! Cool! I’m with you. I’m working on strategies to keep me from wailing!:)

  3. CateS says:

    I can tell you are well on your way to being one of those wonderful mothers-in-law .. My advice is to make a little recipe book of your son’s favorite foods/meals… or give her a notebook with plastic insert sleeves to keep all their favorite take-out menus clean & updates if you aren’t a mom who cooks!! [that would be me!]
    Enjoy the wedding prep & the day… ps.. Hope they’re having a video done.. the day goes so quickly that you really miss some of the moments… As one bride & groom left the chapel, I heard her mom say, “Maybe we should do this again from the start in case I missed any of it!!”

  4. leannebanks says:

    Cate, what a great idea for the take-out and favorite foods book. The plastic insert sleeves is genius!:)

  5. Cindy Gerard says:

    What a great group of friends!! And my, what a handsome young man Adam has grown up to be. the bride to be is lovely as well! Aren’t we lucky to have friends we can count on to be there through both the fun and the hard times?

  6. leannebanks says:

    So true, Cindy, and I am so very blessed that you are that kind of friend for me! xo

  7. What a gorgous MOG, DIL and SON! And girl friends are pearls without price, aren’t they? More so as the years roll on.
    My SIL’s mom has 3 daughters and 3 sisters, so my daughter’s MIL started a girls’ night out tradition for birthdays, and It’s been so much fun for me to be part of it. Always a different activity, tour, lesson or taste treat–flower arranging, cake decorating, museums, manicures, movies, teas, or just a potluck. Of course SIL–the only boy in the family–has been known to grumble a bit. But he gets his guy stuff with his dad.

  8. What wonderful friends you have, and what a lovely young couple! Enjoy every minute of the wedding, because it will pass in the blink of an eye, Congratulations!!!!

  9. Kylie Brant says:

    Good looking couple! The party sounds fab. Good friends are great because they are always there for you. I have to say, I was glad they had a video at the first one because I was so emotional I missed most of it. A year later my son said something to me about walking me down the aisle. I looked at him blankly. I had absolutely no memory of it! So much was a blur. The second and third weddings were easier 🙂 Maybe a glass of wine before hand would be calming?? Worth a try!

  10. ghurt110@bellsouth.net says:

    Most of the time it would be my sister’s that would throw a party for me. Looks like you all had a wonderful time.

  11. Rhonda Pollero says:

    We had an adoption party for Katie – loads of fun, played match the work in Russia to English.

    Don’t want to cry? Think of him in diapers

Leave a Reply

