De ja vous! Please welcome Hayden Braeburn – again :o)

I was a bad host yesterday and didn’t get Hayden’s post up until late in the morning.  For that reason – and because she’s such a nice person, we’re extending her ride in the convertible one more day.  That’s right.  What it means is you also have one more chance to WIN a copy of her new book FIGHT FOR ME.  So let the comments begin – again :o)

I’m so excited to be here today, hangin’ out in the passenger seat and talkin’ about my book. Now, I’m sure you’re wondering: What book? Who are you? So, I suppose I ought to introduce myself. I’m Hayden Braeburn, and I write romance—romantic suspense if we want to get technical—and I just (like, yesterday) released my second book, Fight For Me.

Fight For Me is the second in The Everetts of Tyler series, a series revolving around the four siblings of the affluent Everett family in the town of Tyler, VA. Fight For Me begins about two weeks before the end of the first of the series, Dance With Me, and finds oldest sister Cassidy Everett acting as chauffeur and nursemaid for former Army Ranger, skip tracer, and her brother’s savior, Dylan Black. Cassidy is a prosecutor and although the attraction is instant, she fights it tooth and nail… And Dylan, well, he’s a pretty amazing guy who is willing to wait for Cassidy to see the light.

Fight for Me2_low (1)

The blurb:

Fight For Me, The Everetts of Tyler, Book 2

Cassidy Everett planned on nursing her brother’s protector back to health and moving on, but when an old foe resurfaces, her plans change. Quickly.

Dylan Black may have been shot saving Mason Everett’s life, but that doesn’t mean he can’t protect his own–and Cassidy is his whether or not she wants to admit it. His injuries don’t matter; all that matters is keeping his Cassie safe.

When the threats towards Cassidy turn lethal, will the fight to survive bring Cassidy and Dylan together or tear them apart?

And an exclusive excerpt from Chapter Two:

She stood. She needed distance between them before she said this. “There’s a pull between us, and I don’t know what to do with it.”

He carefully moved to stretch his legs out on the couch fully, propping his body in the corner. “You know my answer,” he finally said.

He’d said he wasn’t looking for casual, but what else was there? “After you’re healed, you’ll go home.”

“Cassie, I live less than an hour away. You know this, you’ve been there. Twice.”

“I’m not built for relationships,” she whispered, turning to face the window. “I get too caught up in my work, ignore my partner. Before I know it, he’s cheating and I barely care because I wasn’t really invested anyway.”

“I don’t cheat,” he stated plainly, the authority of his declaration ringing true. A few beats passed with no words spoken before he asked, “If you don’t do casual, and you don’t do relationships, what do you do, Cassie?”

Good question. What did she do? Finally, she answered him, telling the unvarnished and unhappy truth. “Nothing.”

“Come here,” he commanded gently.

“I’m afraid to come over there,” she admitted. If she went over there, it meant she accepted whatever was between them, conceding defeat, her body winning over her head. She stayed where she was.

“Just come here. I won’t hurt you.” He blew out a breath and she knew she was frustrating the hell out of him. She stifled her own sigh; she was frustrating herself, too. Maybe he was different, maybe he was worth fighting for, but she wouldn’t know until she took a chance. “Promise?”

He held out his left hand. “I will do my absolute best never to hurt you.”

She’d never had anyone promise that. She took the few steps to grasp his hand in hers. “Thank you.”

“Now, let’s watch the movie,” he said as he pulled her into his lap.

She was sitting on his hard thighs, the heat of him seeping through her jeans, his spicy scent filling her nose, and he nonchalantly spoke about a movie that had completely slipped her mind. “What?”

“Aren’t we supposed to be watchin’ a movie?”

He wasn’t even going to try anything? She wasn’t sure if she was insulted or elated, so she went with ignoring it. “Let’s watch the movie, then.”

 

A Virginia native, Hayden Braeburn now finds herself among the bluegrass and rolling hills of Kentucky. Married to her own (former) Marine, and mother to two incredible children, she toils at a day job she actually loves, writing whenever she has a free minute. Admittedly, that makes for a long time between chapters of her serial, SPEEDING (and she really hates to admit how long it takes to write a book) but she sincerely hopes her pieces are worth the wait.

Hayden would like to give away one copy of Fight For Me to one lucky commenter who addresses the following question:   Dylan and Cassidy are seemingly from different worlds–hers a little more refined, his a little more raw. Do you think opposites really attract, or is that just a myth we perpetuate in romantic fiction?

Links:

website– http://haydenbraeburn.weebly.com/

blog– http://authorhaydenbraeburn.com/

facebook fan page– https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hayden-Braeburn/235335549867566?v=app_106171216118819 (short link: http://on.fb.me/Xq8hMe)

Pinterest– http://pinterest.com/haydenbraeburn/

Goodreads– http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5989571.Hayden_Braeburn

Romance Novel Center– http://www.romancenovelcenter.com/haydenbraeburn

DANCE WITH ME at Amazon– http://bit.ly/MstL5E

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to De ja vous! Please welcome Hayden Braeburn – again :o)

  1. elizabeth gray says:

    I think sometimes opposites attract. I don’t think it’s a big of a deal as a lot of people make it out to be. I see it as more of each person filling in a void in the other person to make the relationship whole, and can move on to be a great love story.

    Thanks for the giveaway,

    Elizabeth Gray
    elizabethgr@sbcglobal.net

  2. Yes I do think opposites do attract! I love it when there is a big strong alpha male, looking to protect, and a strong willed independent woman who wants everything BUT protection! At first! Gosh, sounds like Dylan and Cassie…LOL. Thanks Hayden, I have and love your book! Good luck everyone!!!

  3. I think opposites attract. Or, maybe not opposites exactly, but we look for people who have complementary traits to ourselves. For example, the dh is a laidback, calm kind of guy, while I’m more easily frazzled. If I was married to someone like me, it would be chaos all the time!

    Congrats on the book and thanks for riding with us today!

  4. leannebanks says:

    Welcome Hayden! Your book sounds FAB! I enjoy a good opposites attract story!:) xo, Leanne

  5. Lois Greiman says:

    Thanks so much for joining us, Hayden. The thing about opposites is that they’re so INTERESTING. And yours sound great. Best of luck with them.

  6. Cindy Gerard says:

    Great cover, Hayden and once again apologies for the late post. sounds like a GREAT book.

  7. roxanne rustand says:

    Welcome, Hayden! I love your name, by the way. :) And your book sounds marvelous. Congratulations on your second release. How wonderful is that?! Best wishes!!

    I think opposites are wonderful in fiction–makes the ride more fun!

  8. Sharon Cox says:

    Whether or not opposites attract in real life is irrelevant! I love that dynamic in a romance. Fun. I already have your book, Hayden. I have just read the first few pages and already need a fan! Whooooo……great start! Best wishes for a great launch!

  9. catslady says:

    My husband and I are total opposites and we’ve been married 42 yrs. Now it hasn’t always been easy but it’s never been boring lol.

  10. michelehauf says:

    Congrats on the new release and welcome to the convertible!

    • I’m happy to be here and love all the responses we’ve gotten. I wish I didn’t have to work at the evil day job today, but I’m trying to pop in periodically without getting in too much trouble!

  11. laurieg72l says:

    I’m not so sure about relationships with opposite personalities. I think it leads to a lot of conflict. I like relationships where the two people have traits which balance each other out.

  12. AlisonP says:

    I definitely think opposites attract. My hubs and I are total opposites and have been together for 12 years. Not too shabby IMO :)

  13. Kathleen O says:

    For sure opposites attract. All the men in my life have been the total oppistie of me. It was always the Bad Boys for me… And I always new it drove my mom crazy…

  14. debradixon says:

    Welcome, Hayden! Isn’t it fun not to work the evil day job and work the evil creative job instead?

  15. Steph99 says:

    Hi Hayden! I think opposites attract as long as 2 people have the same basic values. My husband and I are different in many ways, but in the most important things we are in sync. Congrats on your new book, it sounds awesome! No need to enter me in the contest, I already have it and can’t wait to read! :)

  16. So much for the popping in during the day! I love all the replies and I have to say I feel balance is important all the time. Two of my crazy self in a relationship would be, well, crazy!

  17. donnas1 says:

    I think they do and they can indeed provide a balance.

    Congrats on the release!! Love romantic suspense looking forward to checking out your series.

  18. Pingback: We’re LIVE (almost) Everywhere! « Inside the Mind of Hayden Braeburn

  19. MaryC says:

    Opposites attract and complement each other.
    Loved the excerpt and connected stories.

  20. Hi Hayden,
    I wouldn’t be a happily married woman of 22yrs (28 total) if we were the same. I would be in jail for murder! 8)
    Picked up both books,
    Congrats and good luck.

  21. southerngirl says:

    My husband and I are total opposites so I definitely believe opposites attract. I’m a little over half way through FIGHT FOR ME and I am loving it. I’m already looking forward to the next one.

  22. flchen1 says:

    Hi, Hayden! Great to learn about your new release–the series sounds great! As for opposites attracting, I do thing there’s something to that, as long as you also have a core of values you share and know to appreciate your differences :)

  23. kylie brant says:

    Welcome, Hayden! When people say opposites attract I think they are talking about outward differences–like an introvert and an extrovert; a thrower and a saver :). But for the relationship to last the couple have to share core values, I think, or they’d never agree on *anything* when it came to raising kids!

Leave a Reply

