A Leap of Faith

This is Felix Baumgartner, sky adventurer.

A few days ago I watched him get into a little capsule, soar into the sky beneath a thin ballon, and then dangle at the edge of space.

That is why I love the internet.  I may have only been able to imagine such a feat, but instead, thanks to some wires and a computer screen, I got to witness an amazing accomplishment.  And the experience of witnessing that event will live with me forever.

Felix leaped from that capsule into a freefall. He reached speeds up to Mach 1.24. Can you imagine? Well, thanks to the cameras, I didn’t have to imagine. Sure, for most of his fall he was a little white speck on a gray background, but I knew it was him because I could see his arms and legs extended in that fall.  And for many harrowing seconds he went into some kind of freaky death spin, and my son and I (he was watching with me) anticipated the worst and prayed for the best.

During an interview following his feat, Felix stated that during that spin, which threatened to literally cream his brain if it went on too long, he had the choice to press the emergency button that would release a ballon to slow him. He did not, because after seven years of laboring toward this goal, he wanted to meet that goal (beating the speed of sound) and so he recovered from that death spin without touching the emergency button.

The guy has balls of steel, people.  Nothin’ else to say about that.

After recovering the spin, he eventually deployed his parachute, and then LANDED THE GROUND ON HIS FEET.  I get emotional just typing that.  When all was done my heart was beating, I was in tears and I was elated.  The elation is still riding me, and I’m cool with that.

The point of today’s post is experiencing accomplishment, whether doing it yourself or watching another, is an amazing thing.  The mind and soul are limitless in their capabilities. Convince the body to join the ride, and it can accomplish near limitless feats as well.  The guy JUMPED OUT OF SPACE.

What have you done lately that feels as though you allowed your mind, body and soul to venture to the limits?  Give it some thought. Maybe we need to think beyond the body, eh?  😉

Michele

This is the Red Bull site with all the info about the jump.  If you haven’t watched it, go do it right now.  If the video includes the ascent, you  might want to fast forward to the last 8 minutes of the jump.  It will change your day.  I promise.

http://redbullstratos.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Leap of Faith

  1. kylie brant says:

    I followed the story too, Michele. Absolutely awe-inspiring. A little bit crazy maybe but talk about setting a goal and laboring to achieve it. Remarkable.

  2. Linda says:

    I watched the Leap on CNN. I was impressed that they cut away until he was in a safe place in the jump then went back to the video of the whole jump after he was down. For me the awe inspiring is when I am dealing with an animal that has a long shot at recovery make a dramatic turn around. The last one was a dog that had been hit by a car with head trauma. It took 17 days but he was able to go home with only having lost an eye.

    • michelehauf says:

      Linda, animals recovering is a cool thing. And I wonder if it’s because they don’t have that ‘I can’t do this’ attitude that humans have. Their bodies just do what they can to survive, and doesn’t question whether or not it’s possible.

  3. leannebanks says:

    Michele, wow! I hadn’t looked at this! AMAZING! (But I’d rather just watch, okay?)

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    I’m with you, Michele. Felix is astonishing. I can’t imagine that kind of bravery. I’ve done a few things that pushed my limits but it’s been a while. Most memorable: Hiking the Grand Canyon. That was definitely an, “I am woman, hear me roar!” experience. I need to test my limits more often.

  5. christieridgway says:

    I can’t imagine wanting to do that! A man thing? But boy, is he brave.

    As for what I do that’s like jumping into space…I’m working on a new story idea and the process always gives me that queasy, exciting feeling in my stomach!

  6. Balls of steel indeed!

Leave a Reply

