The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

In case this photo doesn’t give it away, I think the most wonderful time of year may be Halloween, not Christmas. No buying gifts, no baking required, you get to pretend to be someone (or something) else, and then there’s …CANDY!

(Son1 told me about a bad dream he had the other night. It was Halloween and I was out of town for some reason. Surfer Guy had forgotten to buy candy, there was none on the shelves at the store, and Dad was having the kids put Cheerios into sandwich bags to hand out to trick or treaters. Son1, recalling the nightmare with true horror: “We were going to be one of those kinds of families!”–in reference to the households that give out healthy stuff instead of chocolate or other sugary treats.)

I do dearly love Halloween. Had so much fun as a kid. In our small town, after about 8 years old, you went together in a big group, no parent chaperone. I remember dressing up as a “Lady in Mourning” (Mom’s idea, old fashioned black dress with a hoop skirt, hat with veil), a cowgirl, and what doesn’t seem very politically correct now…a hobo. I was very little and my older brother was one as well. We wore our parents’ jeans, held up with suspenders. I had a “fur” collar around my neck, and we took the pots and pans from my doll cooking set and tied them to our belt loops.

Surfer Guy and I met on Halloween (dance at college) and so we’ve always had a special reason to celebrate. Our kids love it. After trick or treating, the neighborhood tradition has been to gather here for food and drink and then Surfer Guy has carnival-style games (Impossible Football Catch, for example) and the kids bet him candy. What a meanie to take little kids’ goodies, except they’re all very smart and only bet pieces they don’t like.

I collect Halloween decorations and particularly like those by designer/artist Bethany Lowe. This is one of my black cats. Notice the Halloween tree. He’s also carrying a little hat box kind of thing that really opens. Note the skull painted on the front.

Well, today I added a new fellow to my Halloween collection. We rode bikes around the bay (October in SoCal is beautiful!) and then hit our favorite holiday decorations store. They have a million Christmas things, but there is a special Halloween room. Very scary! They turn out the lights when you first go in and then everything lights up and shrieks and screams. Eek!

This is my new friend who goes by the name “Old Bones.” Doesn’t he look ready for a party?

Speaking of which, we’re going to a costume bash the Saturday before the 31st. I don’t know what I’m going to wear…I’m considering dressing as Santa, because I find it particularly scary how close we are getting to that other Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

What is your fave holiday? Do you have an easy costume idea for me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

  1. michelehauf says:

    Ha! We’re one of THOSE families who hand out toys or healthy stuff. 😉 I love the cat figurine! Not sure what my fav holiday is. Certainly not Halloween. Maybe Christmas.

  2. We seem to be adding more to the Halloween decorations every year. Sadly we don’t get very many T or T-ers, but the girls love putting up our little graveyard. Their dad took them to the state fair last summer to see his sentimental favorite KISS, so the younger one plans to be Gene Simmons. Older granddaughter is going as Emily, the Corpse Bride, but she’s equally excited about dressing the dog up as the skeleton dog, whatever its name is.

  3. kylie brant says:

    I love Halloween, too. I have the whole house outfitted with decorations right now 🙂 It ranks right up there with Christmas, for me! I always loved making costumes for the kids. Last year my daughter started hosting a Halloween party that we dress up and go to. Great fun to see the grandkids in their costumes and get hubby in a costume again.

    • christieridgway says:

      Lots of Halloween lovers here! It’s become so much more of a holiday for kids and adults, I think it’s so much fun.

  4. leannebanks says:

    Christie, I love it that you and your hubby met on Halloween. That’s so sweet and unique to me. I love your figurines. So much detail!!! I may even make it to a Halloween party this year myself!:)

    • christieridgway says:

      You’ll have to tell us what you decided to dress up as, Leanne. I saw several little kids wearing their costumes this weekend when I was out shopping. So cute to see them getting into it early.

      • leannebanks says:

        I’m thinking about going as a “gold digger”. Lots of gold gaudy jewelry and a shovel. Maybe I can find a fake gold cap for a tooth.:) Or a gold grill for my teeth.lol

  5. christieridgway says:

    I love the idea of a gold digger, Leanne! You’re thinking outside the box, now. We once had a Halloween party where one of the guys came as a grave digger. I liked that too.

  6. Kathleen O says:

    I was never one for Halloween as a kid.. I had now imgainagtion when it came to costums.. But I liked the Candy.. Still do and I love to see the wee ones come to the door.. I saw my great-nices’s costume for Halloween on Sunday. She is going out as Princess Laeh. She has the hair and everything.. She is six and she will look adorable..

Leave a Reply

