A perfect moment

We’re all busy.  We all have a hundred little things that happen during the course of the day that demand our attention, or that drag us down and burden us with worry.  If you’re like me, you deal with whatever it is the best you can, then move on from one issue to the other, keeping your head down, working it through. Often, however, in the midst of life’s routine, some very special things happen and because we are so mired in just ‘keepin’ on keepin’ on’, we sometimes miss those perfect moments.  I was lucky enough the other day to cash in big time.

Last Saturday, the sun was shining, the breeze was sweet and warm and I decided I’d take my AAs (author alteration sheets for Killing Time) out on the deck, hang up the hammock and work outside.  Just as well take advantage of the great weather, right?  I hadn’t spend more than an hour in that hammock all summer and it was calling to me.

As it happens, we have a humming bird feeder hanging from the same post that I attach the foot end of my hammock to.  It was mid day and the hummers are usually busiest early morning and at sunset so I didn’t think I’d see much action.

Here’s a shot, BTW, that I snapped at sunrise a few mornings ago at another one of our feeders.

90 gal led and hummers 018

Anyway, back to the hammock.  I got settled in, got to work and the next thing I knew: Hummmmmmmm.  The little stinkers were flying all around me.  My placid oasis had turned into O’Hare.  In a good way :))  So, I decided to stop working and watch them for a while and enjoy the miracle that they are.

And as I lay there, watching and listening it suddenly hit me.  THIS IS A PERFECT MOMENT.  Warm sun.  Sweet, fresh breeze.  Crystal clear blue sky.  Gorgeous summer flowers blooming everywhere I look … and these amazing little creatures humming around my head and feet. 

For several long, delicious moments I simply enjoyed it in blissful peace – thinking about how lovely it all was and how fortunate I was to be in the middle of it.

Since I always have my camera within reach, however, I finally grabbed it and started taking shots.

Here you can see close I am to the hummers.  Those are my toes (obviously LOL) and the feeder is about 3 feet away.

fish hummers 043

 

It wasn’t long before Buddy, the cat,  decided he wanted some hammock action – and the hummers soon got his attention. He was content to lay on my lap and watch them for a while ….

fish hummers 087

 

But soon he was crawling up the hammock, inching closer and closer thinking about hummingbird for supper, no doubt.

fish hummers 115

 

In the end, he decided it was just too much trouble and jumped down to the deck where he alternately napped and watched them fly overhead.

fish hummers 137

 

These several moments will stay with me for a long time.  On days when things are just so hectic I want to pull my hair out, or when the news on TV is so bad that it’s heartbreaking, I’m going to draw on the memory of my hammock and my cat and my sun warmed toes and those delicate little creatures humming away and I’m going to feel better.  I feel so fortunate to have had that perfect moment and that I was self-aware enough to know that these are once in a life time moments and to file it away with my precious cache of other moments that I know I’ll never forget – like the first time I held my son in my arms, first time I held each of my grandchildren, that first book sale, the first piece of candy my candy man offered me <g> … and many, many more.

So – how about you?  Any special moments you’ve experienced lately?  No matter how small?  Any moments you draw out from your memory well when you simply need to have a focal point that’s calming and zen and happy?  I’d love to hear about it.

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A perfect moment

  1. Liz Flaherty says:

    We were coming home from vacation several months back. Somewhere halfway between Florida and Indiana, I checked my email on my phone and had emails from two different publishers. I sold two books on the same day to two different people. It was amazing.

    I loved this post. And your cat.

  2. Linda says:

    Those perfect moments in life are always great. Buddy more then likely thought he would get in trouble for going after the birds in front of ‘mom’. Great pics of the birds and Buddy.
    As for my moments.. this summer I have spent a lot of time walking at the lake near my home. Each trip was unique and with the drought this year a number of things were very different. Two of these stand out. The marsh area became a sea of green algae that was frog heaven, I caught a number of great pics with frogs peeeping through the algae. The last time I was able to go was after a lot of rain and a few heavy storms. as I was walking along the path there was yellow on the bench. When I got close I could see three flowers draped over the boards, as if the summer had been a long one and they were tired.

  3. michelehauf says:

    Awesome, Cindy! And really great that Buddy decided against the attack. 😉

  4. Christie Ridgway says:

    Loved those pics! We were in Bristol, Rhode Island this summer, sitting on the deck of a waterside restaurant. It was warm and lovely as evening descended and all felt right with the world. I even called my mom back in California to share the moment, even though Surfer Guy was right next to me (he thought it was a special moment too!). Thanks for bringing that back to my mind!

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      I love the picture you painted. Reminds me of another perfect moment – Kylie and made a trip to Catalina Island in July the day before RWA started. Gorgeous weather and scenery. A moment in a bay side bar with a cold Martguerita as we watched the water was pretty darn sweet. I’m going to draw on that on in January when the snow if flying and the temps are in single digits :o) i

  5. Nikki H says:

    I love your pics! I think when we reached a spectacular lookout in Glacier National Park a couple of years ago was one of those moments for me. Better than the Grand Canyon. It was simply amazing.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Oh, Nikki. You are so right. Glacier is stunning – I remember a spot on Going to The Sun Highway that just took my breath away.
      I hiked the Grand Canyon several years ago. 11 miles down and 11 back up. along the way there were moments when I thought I was the luckiest person on earth to get to see such beauty. Of course, those were moments mixed with a lot of pain and doubt about whether I had the strength and stamina to ever get back out again LOL. Thanks for making me think about both places.

  6. MJ Heather says:

    This last summer we took our boys to Disneylad for a day. We were initially hoping a family member would watch the 2 yo so that we could focus our attention on the 7 yo. The rationale being that the 2 yo wouldn’t get much out of it. But family was busy and since the 2 yo had free admittance, we took him. I spent the day with the stroller running from ride to ride getting fast passes for the big rides for my husband and older son – and watching look of wonder on my 2 yo’s face. It turned out that there were a lot of great rides a 2 yo could go on, and I wouldn’t have missed watching his amazement and excitement for anything. And when he finally saw Mickey Mouse? That was a perfect moment.

  7. Kathleen O says:

    I was in the grocery store last week and there was this little boy with his mother in front of me at the check out line. While the mother was putting her groceries on the check out counter, the little boy was trying to get her attention by tell her that he loved her and then he would laugh with glee when he said it.. The mother would tell him, with a smile that she love him too… She never got mad or ignored him. I looked around at the other people and they were all smiling and I was too.. It gave me a good feeling and for it being a dull day outside, it sure felt like they was sunshine in that store..

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      LOVE that story, Kathleen. Love the patience on mom’s part, the joy of the little boy and the way everyone around them was drawn in to their special moment. Thanks for sharing.

  8. roxrustand says:

    Love your photos, Cindy! What a perfect day that must have been! I love hummingbirds. We have a feeder hanging from our front porch, so we can watch from our dining room table. They are feisty little dive bombers. arguing about whose turf that feeder is, sometimes four or five of them chasing each other around with high speed aerial acrobatics. And we’ve found that they are territorial when it comes to us, too. If I go out the door when they are by the feeder, they’ll buzz right past my ear. Sounds like a giant bumble bee when they get that close! BTW, I sent you the aquarium article today.

  9. debradixon says:

    You know what I love about your posts, Cindy? You always ground me and remind me there is more in the world than the publishing industry. Sometimes I have tunnel vision and I have to wonder what perfect moments I’m missing. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

