A HOME FOR NOBODY’S PRINCESS & A GIFT!

ahomefornobodysprincessHave you ever fantasized that you were actually switched at birth or that you were secretly adopted?  And maybe your parents were royalty and you were actually a PRINCESS? bwahahahahha! 

I know it’s insane and even though I’m thankful for my parents, I’ve still fantasized.  I still wished for that tiara. 

Funny enough, that’s what happened to the heroine in my current book, A HOME FOR NOBODY’S PRINCESS.  What I love about Coco Jordan is her ordinary background and her insistence that she is no princess.  Coco has lost both her mother and father and would love to belong.  I think that’s a universal longing.  That desire to belong.

Have you ever been on the outside looking in?  Have you ever wanted to belong, but you were excluded?  The reason I can write this issue with such authenticity is because I have had these feelings.  I’m grateful, however, to those who have embraced me and loved me.  I actually dedicated this book to a group of women who have been so welcoming to me.

My question to you is: WHO INCLUDED YOU AT A TIME WHEN YOU MOST NEEDED IT?  I will draw and give a $10.00 Amazon Gift certificate!

If you get a chance to check out A HOME FOR NOBODY’S PRINCESS, please drop me a line at leannebbb@aol.com 

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to A HOME FOR NOBODY’S PRINCESS & A GIFT!

  1. Kimh says:

    Yes I am shy and small so i feel outsider, congrats on the book
    Kimh

  2. Kathy Johnson says:

    Yes. My husband is in the military so we moved every couple of years. As I got older, it was often harder to make friends at our new location. I even had one situation where the PTA at my child’s school was so close, that they did not call me to volunteer. It was wierd and I was very thankful to a super neighbor that included me and my children in things.

    • leannebanks says:

      Kathy, I’m so grateful for that neighbor too. I don’t understand why people have to be so clique-ish! THanks for commenting! xo, Leanne

      • Kathy, I admire you most, because I can only imagine how hard it must be as a military wife to have to fit in with a constantly changing environment and social circle. Thanks for being courageous enough to support your husband in serving our country even when it’s painful/uncomfortable for you and your kids.

  3. Liz Flaherty says:

    The first time a friend, Jenni Licata, invited everyone in the area who belonged to RWA to a meeting, I was so relieved–I wasn’t the only one! Even though Jenni’s moved and gone in a different literary direction–she’s the very successful Madelyn Alt–and we haven’t kept up the friendship, I will always be grateful to her.

  4. leannebanks says:

    Liz, how wonderful that Jenni extended herself at a time when you needed it! Good for Jenni AND you!:) xo, Leanne

  5. Donna _A says:

    When I was a kid my folks got divorced, my dad got custody and then had a massive heart attack. We moved in with my Aunt, Uncle and cousins. I felt kind of lost in a new town, new school, etc. The school librarian Carole Silver took extra time to make me feel cared about and needed. She made a rough time much easier to get through and I will always be grateful.

    • leannebanks says:

      Donna, I’m so sorry you lost your dad when you were so young! But I’m super thankful that the school librarian was so good to you. I’m impressed that you can recall her name! xo, Leanne

  6. ellie says:

    Being petite and shy made everyone overlook me. When I grew up I tried to assert myself but most people resented this. A woman with whom I am friends with now took me under her wing and was kind and thoughtful. When someone behaves in a lovely manner it makes a big different to your life and future.

  7. anne says:

    A friend who was in the same situation and had a hard time fitting in, befriended me. She is my best friend now and will always be. Being sensitive to others feelings is civil and empathetic.

  8. I’ve felt like an outsider looking in for the past nine years actually. My husband comes from a large family– quite the opposite of mine– and by no fault of his, I have never felt like they were my own. Although they are very kind people usually and tell me they love me and think I am a great mom/wife, it’s the things they don’t say that keep me from truly connecting with them. I don’t know if it will ever change, but this past weekend I did finally have a moment where I felt I was heard and mattered. An aunt I got to really know this summer, came down for a reunion. Midway through, she pulled me aside to give me a quilt rack her and her hubby had made for me. It meant so much b/c I have always wanted one, and when I was admiring hers this summer she made a mental note of that and set out to be the one to give me my very own. I don’t tear up often in the presence of others, but I did that day… and not because of the beauty of the gift, but b/c in that gesture I heard “Kristine, you matter to us.”. I don’t know if I will ever feel like my in-laws are my own family, but I know I will never forget that moment– b/c ones like that are so few and far between. Sometimes when you’re on the outside looking in, you feel like nothing you say or do really matters all that much. That aunt and her husband, though, let me know that that is not always the case. They really got to know me in just a few, short days and cared enough about the person they got to know to show me in such a special way the next time they saw me. I like to think that God was working in that as well… sending me a hug from above, knowing my heart and discouragements.

    • leannebanks says:

      Kristine, what a beautiful story! I’m so glad the aunt did such a sweet thing for you. You are obviously very precious to them. Sometimes people in a large family are so busy with everything in their own lives that they have a hard time seeing past their own issues. I know what you mean. It’s just important to feel like you matter! AND YOU REALLY DO! Thank you for sharing from your heart! xo, Leanne

  9. michelehauf says:

    I love the princess fantasy! Congrats on the new release!

  10. PatriciaW says:

    My elementary school teachers and principal. We were more than students, we were family.

  11. What a fascinating topic today. I think all of us have, at one time or another, felt like outsiders in some situations, whether it’s the first day of college, moving to a new place, or starting a new job. I remember my first time at an RWA conference. It was in Hawaii that year, and I was in total awe of everyone I saw there–pretty much dumbstruck with admiration and amazement, just seeing some of my most favorite authors walking past. I felt like such a inconsequential, invisible bit of dust, and never would have dreamed of speaking to them! I was so thankful to be there with a couple of fellow, aspiring writers from back home.

    • leannebanks says:

      Roxanne, I have to say that I have felt more “at home” with writers than any other group in my life. I felt as if I weren’t a weirdo. I actually “belonged”! Thank you for sharing, but you have NEVER been an inconsequential invisible bit of dust! EVER! ❤ Leanne

  12. C-Jay M says:

    When my kids were little, I was lucky enough to stay home with them. I wanted to become involved at their school, but that was difficult as parents who had been there longer led everything. My son’s kindergarten teacher (who had children the same age at their school) invited us to meet her at McDonald’s to go over some classroom ideas she had and thought I could help with. We became good friends and eventually I got very involved at the school and met others. Later on, I was also very mindful to invite other new parents to join committees, etc.

    • leannebanks says:

      C-Jay, what a wonderful, conscientious teacher your son had. And she was clearly good with parents too. I bet you and her “taught” a lot of people about being inclusive! Thank you for sharing. xo, Leanne

  13. conniefischer says:

    I think that there were times when I was young that I felt left out in many ways. My father died when I was a baby leaving my Mom with three little children under the age of three. She never remarried so there wasn’t a father figure in our lives. That made me feel rather awkward around men. I felt jealous at times when my friends talked about their Dads doing fun things with them. However, I admit that I felt somewhat lucky when they talked about their Dad spanking them! I am so thankful to have a wonderful husband who has always been a great Dad to our children.

    Connie Fischer
    conniecape@aol.com

    • Connie, I can relate to that– being raised without my dad around as well. And like you, I am so very thankful for my husband. By being a great dad to our children, he has healed that particular void in my life. I hope yours does, too!

    • leannebanks says:

      Connie, I’m sorry you lost your father at such a young age, but I’m VERY thankful that your husband has been such a great dad and husband. What a gift! xo, Leanne

  14. Laney4 says:

    My eldest sister embraced me when I found out that my brother and I were the result of my mom’s affair 39 and 44 years previous to that with the same man (and years after my mom, dad, and bio dad had died). My elder sister, however, declared that we were “only half sisters”, so she cut me and my brother out of her life.
    Her loss….

    • leannebanks says:

      Laney, that kind of news is difficult at any age, but your eldest sister did the right thing. And I’m sure she has reaped the reward of having you and her brother in her life. I think you have it right about your elder sister. Definitely her loss! xo, Leanne

  15. christieridgway says:

    Oh, yes, I think we’ve all had those moments where we’re outsiders looking in. (And I did fantasize about being a princess, too!). I am ever thankful to the women in my romance writers group who were so encouraging to me from the very first meeting. I was sitting at a table and we had to bring a short piece of writing to share. I was scared, but went ahead and read mine aloud. They ended up inviting me to join their critique group and we were together for many years. I learned so much from them.

    • leannebanks says:

      Christie, I remember almost feeling as if I’d come home when I first started writing and getting involved with writers. I’m glad you were brave enough to put yourself out there. We are so lucky to get to read your books!:) xo, Leanne

  16. Christina says:

    I was 16 and a junior in high school when I decided to study abroad in Germany for a year. When I moved in with my host family the couple’s grandson that lived with them was less than thrilled. One morning I woke up to find a note by my bed indicating the amount of hate and hostility he had towards Americans. I moved out that day and decided a year was too long to be away from home. Two weeks later I moved in with another family and started school. I was so uneasy after what happened and being shuffled around that I definitely thought I was in over my head. I owe every happy memory to the girls I met at the high school. The 11th grade was only 45 students and it was split into two classes; meaning that the students had been practically together since starting school in Kindergarten. But a group of 6 girls took me under their wing and included me in everything. We became great friends. After what had happened with the first host family I felt so alone and considered giving up and flying home but I was so determined and these girls really showed me kindness and friendship when I needed it most.

    • leannebanks says:

      Christina, how frightening to be so far away from home and so young and feel that hostility from someone who lives in your same house! I’m so glad the girls opened their circle and included you! You showed a lot of courage. xo, Leanne

  17. superauntkx9 says:

    I am lucky that I have always found it easy to fit in, with most situations. I do tend to be a little laid back when I meet new people.. I have been told I am a bit standoffish when meeting new people, but them the say person said that they thought I was just shy.. Not me at all.. really… But because he was a man, I guess that I was a little bit standoffish until I got to know him..

  18. Maria C Acevedo says:

    My cousin. When my mom had my two sisters back to back she didnt have time for me so my older cousin would take me everywhere, movies, ice cream, playing… anything!!!

  19. kylie brant says:

    Oh that first RWA conference! Talk about feeling like an outsider. Too afraid to approach my favorite authors…there was no Internet so I had no one I even knew online. Spent the whole time by myself, except when some lovely authors took pity and talked to me 🙂

    • leannebanks says:

      Kylie, I’m glad you “soldiered on” during that first conference. I’m sure those authors enjoyed meeting you and look at that wonderful group you have now!:) xo, Leanne

  20. bn100 says:

    A classmate in school.

  21. Na S. says:

    When I first started high school I was extremely shy and nervous. My older sister made it a point to seek me out during breaks and invite me to hang out with her and her friends. It helped me transition to HS much better and I found a couple of friends too 🙂

  22. Quilt Lady says:

    I was very shy in high school so my best friend that I grew up with always included me in about everything going on back then.

  23. leannebanks says:

    Quilt Lady, love that your childhood friend good you through. What a terrific friendship. xo, Leanne

  24. Chelsea B. says:

    I have a wonderful nana who never let me feel left out when I was little and shy. She was my best friend, and still is, but always pushed me to get out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

