What about all those vitamin supplements?

When Kathryn Falk came to town a few weeks ago and gathered a group of romance writers together, the conversation inevitably turned to vitamins, supplements, health food and organics.  I really should have taken notes, but when Kathryn starts telling stories, all I want to do is listen and enjoy.  The woman who started Romantic Times magazine as small newspaper over 30 years ago leads a fascinating life, and when she and Michel Hauf and Susan Johnson among others get started on their healthy eating regimen, slugs like me should be pushing the “record” button.  But I didn’t.  It had been too long since I’d the other women at the table, and girls just wanna have fun at a reunion like that.

So I cam home and opened the door to the vitamin cupboard, and I tried to remember what I’d learned.  I mean, people were dropping names of online shops and brands and vitamins A to Z, and I lost track.  I should be taking my K with my Q and take this much of this and that with a meal.  I have my 7-day pill organizer, and I take what I take all at once.  I’m probably flushing most of it down the toilet.  I have friends who swear by glucosamine and chondroitin, and friend who say it’s a total waste.  (I know it works for dogs and horses.)  

So let’s talk supplements.  Are you a believer?  What are your must-haves?  What’s your regimen like, and what does it do for you?  I will be taking notes.

It’s been a big publication month for me, so, finally, please bear with me.  NIGHT FALLS LIKE SILK and THE PRODIGAL COWBOY are my newest releases.  THE LAST GOOD MAN is on sale for $1.99 in e-book for the whole month of September as one of Amazon’s “Top 100 Books Under $3.99”—really exciting to be selected for this a wonderful promotion! 

tn_Night Falls Like Silk - screen Tn prodigal cowboy tn_The Last Good Man - print
About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in health, healthy living, vitamins, vitamin supplements. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What about all those vitamin supplements?

  1. I’m definitely a believer.
    I try for a probiotic in the morning before anything else is in my stomach, because a lot of disease starts in the colon.
    I try to take at least one flax seed oil with a meal for omega 3.
    I try to take things for my liver, either burdock or dandelion, because everything filters through your liver.
    I take hawthorn berry for my heart if I take tylenol, naproxin or ibuprofen.
    And I take one airborne everyday. I love them because I no longer have sinus issues.

  2. Hellion says:

    I’m a believer, but not skilled (or have patience) to take different pills at different times of day. I take: a multivitamin; a 1000 vitamin D (I used to take 4000, but I think I’m getting about the same if I stick with just 1 of the vitamin D pills and my new multivitamin has more vitamin D than a typical one); a B-complex pill (energy); a probiotic (and I do notice a difference when I don’t take one!); a fish oil (which read another study where they don’t work for heart disease so I may drop that one again. *LOL*)

    I’ve wanted to try the Green Coffeee Bean extract (for weight loss) and Tumeric (for the anti-inflammatory properties)–but I’m not sure how effective these are. Has anyone else tried them?

    (I have thought about drinking tea with dandelion for the liver properties–making your liver healthier is good, because as Judy says, everything filters there…)

  3. michelehauf says:

    Since I’ve cleaned up my diet and try to eat only things my body can use nutritionally, I must say my allergies have gotten better, and I have no need for cold medicines or other things people take to cures ailments.
    For supplements, I’m big on fish oil. Must have that. A woman’s vitamin (with iron; I know when I’m low on iron), 2 baby aspirins every day, and I also take Red Yeast Rice (for my cholestoral; want to keep that down, baby).
    I eat whole grains, flax seed, chia, veggies and fruits, try to stay away from sugar and white carbs, and otherwise, that’s about it!
    I admit, I picked up a bottle of Kombucha juice after Katherine mentioned that, but I still haven’t dared taste it. She also recommended eating liver, a lot. Erm, sorry, can’t do that either.

  4. leannebanks says:

    Kathleen, excellent subject! I don’t take anything on a consistent basis.:) Congrats on your releases! What a fab month for you!:)

  5. Christie Ridgway says:

    Like Leanne, I don’t take anything on a consistent basis. I mean to, but then I flag. When I broke my leg I bought calcium and also crill oil. Had them right by my bedside. I probably took them for two weeks. Looking at them right now, as a matter of fact and am going to pop both right now!

  6. Congratulations on your releases, Kathleen! Wow—a REALLY big month!

    As for the supplements…I am not into all of the claims about so many of these products. My dh and I do take Omega Mint fish oil and Cosamin ASU joint supplements. Many of the generic products lack the right molecular weight and balance to actually do a lot of good, but the Omega Mint has been really well researched, as has the Cosamin (one can check out the research at the Nutramax website.)

    Other than that, I take Vit D and E, following blood level results from my doc’s office, and an occasional generic multivitamin. After 25 years as a dietitian, I am not at all into herbal remedies or claims that high doses of one vitamin or another will have special benefits beyond deficiency symptoms. Excess fat soluble vitamins can be toxic, excess water soluble vitamins can be hard on the kidneys and have other complications (and even affect labwork results.) The strength and purity of herbal products is variable. Some people may see benefits, but I just try to stick to a balanced diet. 🙂 The American Dietetic Association has a website with good nutrition info on it.

  7. Linda says:

    Vitamins and minerals are great and have a place in peoples diets. I tend to try to eat healthy and get most of my vitamins that way but will still add B complex once or twice a week ( and yes eating liver is the best way to get iron naturally) I will take selenium twice a week to help with muscle strength, Vitamin D again two to three times a week and Zinc daily in the winter for help in preventing colds. There are others that I take for specific problems (chromium picolate, cinnamon are just two). If you take glucosamine make sure it has chondroitin (shark cartilage) and MSM. But always discuss what you take with your human doctor.

  8. Nora Braun says:

    Kathleen — My must haves are glucosamine (I can’t do chondritin because its fish shells) and ginkgo. The glucosamine is a life saver for my arthritis and I take it morning and night. The ginkgo was actually suggested by my doctor who says the best purest form is the ginkoba brand. It may not work for everyone, but I can definitely tell the difference in my mental acuity when I don’t take it….and I need all the help I can get!

    Congrats on your releases — I’m heading to my amazon link now!

  9. loisgreiman says:

    I really think glucocimine works for me. I’m hard on my joints.
    I also take calcium pretty religiously but am bad about just about everything else.
    Good post, K.

  10. Sonya Heaney says:

    I basically destroyed my knee when I was a ballet dancer, so glucosamine has been part of my daily diet since I was a teenager (my grandmother used to get us a bottle each with some sort of senior’s discount!).
    I also go for the usual suspects: vitamin C, calcium etc.
    Because of the ballet thing I used to be OBSESSED with everything to do with diet and health. I’ve mellowed a lot since then!

Leave a Reply

