I Love Kellie Pickler!!!

kpthumbnail.aspx

I’ve been a fan of Kellie Pickler ever since she appeared on American Idol several years ago with her big country grin and an honest naiveté that just made me smile.

She didn’t win American Idol but she’s since gone on to carve out a very nice career in country music.  She can sing.  She’s cute and sweet and has the dumb blond act down to an art form – only I don’t really think she’s stupid at all.

In fact, I think she’s nothing short of amazing = and she’s pretty courageous, to boot.  While she gained her fame for her singing, it will be her heart that America will remember.  Not only has she made several USO tours to entertain the troops in combat zones, she shocked her fans earlier this week by shaving off her gorgeous blond hair.

kp sjavomg78088065-87f2-3d36-808e-3c0e83e4528c

Did she do it to get attention?  You bet.  But for all the RIGHT reasons.  She shaved her head to support her longtime friend, Summer Holt Miller, who is battling breast cancer.

kellie-pickler-shaved-head-e1347119311579

In an article Kellie said that she hopes her gesture will make life a little easier for her friend.  Summer, however, believes that Kellie’s gesture reaches far beyond her life.  “If this compels even one person to change their mentality toward waiting until the age of 40 for their mammogram, then it will be worth it…”

According to recent studies, about 1 in 8 U.S. women (just under 12%) will develop invasive breast cancer over the course of her lifetime.  The good news is, if caught early, it can be treated.

So, are you getting your mamograms on a schedule your doctor suggests?  If not, why not?

What do you think of Kellie Pickler’s gesture?  And what do you think of her bald head? I think she’s beautiful – heart and soul, with or without hair.  Just like her friend Summer who I wish a speedy recovery. 

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I Love Kellie Pickler!!!

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    She’s a brave one! I couldn’t do that because I have a head shaped like a pin 🙂 But I do my regular checkups yearly, unlike my husband who just went in for his first physical in 40 years. Scary.

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    I know – I can’t imagine what I’d look like bald but, wow, she’s still gorgeous. And good on you for getting your mammogram. I don’t miss my check ups either – and it’s NOT because I LOVE the process. Cold, squish, yikes. But it’s over in moments and peace of mind is a great reward for a few minutes of discomfort.

  3. Gail C. says:

    She’s an amazing friend, person, human. (Like someone else I know…hint.) Hopefully, her actions will bring the problem to light and encourage more women to get in there and have their mammograms. I realize having a cold metal shelf shoved into your armpit and then getting squashed is not fun, but so worth it. Thanks for featuring this great act of hers here today.

  4. I loved Kellie Pickler before today. HOWEVER, I want to give her a big hug and a kiss! A good friend just had a mastectomy on Friday. Unfortunately, the cancer was also found in her nodes. So this post is almost too timely. Kellie was brave to shave her hair but the ladies that have to battle breast cancer are the bravest women on the planet.
    Thanks for the reminder about the mammogram!

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Many hugs to you friend, Cynthia. I hope she does well and whatever treatments they are giving her in addition to the mastectomy will have her on the road to recovery very, very soon!

  5. Trish Jensen says:

    Mammograms don’t hurt my itty-bitties, so I happily get them like clockwork. Of course, there was that ONE time when they called me back in for another one because there was something they didn’t like on the first pictures. THAT was nerve-wracking, but they were kind enough to look at the second set instantly. By the time I got my shirt on the nurse came in to give me the all clear. What I’m NOT as thrilled about are the paps. Fanatical about having a female gyno because I don’t like men I don’t know asking me to get into the stirrups and scooch closer. As for Kelly, love her for that gesture. It WAS, indeed, a brave and loving act.

  6. Linda says:

    Yes Kelli Pickler is a great friend and wonderful person to go through this. I had my first mammogram at 35 since I have some family history with breast cancer. When I did not have insurance or money for a few years I made sure to do bi-monthly self checks. Fortunately (now isn’t that an oxymoron) I am able to get my mammogram yearly again. Though still do the self checks too. Thanks for the post!

  7. leannebanks says:

    I saw this about Kelli last week. What a brave sweetheart of a person! And wow, she looks gorgeous bald too!:) I try to be very regular with my mammograms. GREAT topic Cindy!:)

  8. michelehauf says:

    Smart and brave, what a great way to call attention to mammograms!

  9. Alison says:

    I think its an amazing gesture…not sure I would have the guts to do it 🙂 She looks beautiful with her head shaved.

  10. Nora Braun says:

    My niece had breast cancer at the age of 36 and her best friend also shaved her head as a sign of support — very amazing and both women looked beautiful, just like Kelli and her friend. I think it’s an wonderful sign of support but not sure I would be as brave! We’ll see — my older sister was just diagnosed with breast and lung cancer (my niece’s mother) and for her I would truly think about it. Pray that the surgeries is all she needs to be okay.

    • Hugs to you, Nora, and prayers for your sister. It’s so good to hear from you, but I’m so sorry you had this news to share. My little sister is a breast cancer survivor. Our mother had lung cancer. A happy outcome for my sister, but we lost our mother to the awful disease. Stay strong, dear friend. Medicine has come a long long way in recent years.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Many many prayers and hugs coming your way Nora. The good news is modern medicine truly can work miracles AND your sister is getting treatment. Kathy is right. We have come a long way. I have friends who have survived both and are living rich full lives. I want this for your sister too ….

  11. Bald is beautiful, especially when it’s such a loving gift. There was a story in the paper not long ago about a whole team of boys–baseball?–who shaved their heads in support of a stricken team mate. Imagine the cheers they must’ve gotten when they took the field!

  12. Amy S. says:

    She is very brave and a great friend. I have cancer. I’ve already lost my hair and it’s came back in. I went from having very long hair to no hair. You get a lot of stares from people even if you wear a hat or a scarf. Before I lost my hair, I did donate it to locks of love. My hair is a little below my ears right now. It takes a very brave person to do that when they don’t have to. I also found out I had colon cancer when I was 32. Your not supposed to do any tests until your 50 to check for colon cancer. It’s good to always have your blood work done at the doctors when you go. That is how they found out I had colon cancer. I’ve been fighting cancer since ’08 and I’m still fighting it.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Amy – Wow! You’ve been through the war, girl. Still in the trenches. And how incredibly selfless of you to think of someone else by donating your hair to locks of love. that is love in the purest form. I have had family and friends deal with this damn disease and I’m just amazed how well they are doing. I hope and pray that you, too, beat it to the ground. Please know I’m going to be thinking about you. A lot. And praying and sending hugs – as I suspect everyone who has read your post will be doing.
      Stay strong, Amy! Many hearts hold you in theirs.

  13. Chelsea B. says:

    Amazing.

Leave a Reply

