Now That’s Cool

So I saw a picture of the Venezuelan Poodle Moth the other day and said ‘That’s cool!’  Wouldn’t you love to see one of these things sitting on your windowsill.  I almost want to teach it to fetch.  Here’s a few more things that’ll make you say ‘That’s cool!’

This Pepto-Bismol pink body of water is Senegal’s Lake
Retba, or as the French call it, Lac Rose. Experts say the lake gives off its pink hue due to cyanobacteria, a harmless halophilic bacteria found in the water. Lake Retba has a high salt content, much like that of the Dead Sea, allowing people to float effortlessly in the massive pink water.  I need to go here!

Petoskey stones are a rock and a fossil composed of fossilized coral, mainly found in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.  I need one!

Making something gorgeous out of rusted old tools.  These old wheelbarrows are works of art!  I can’t imagine the artist looking at these beforehand and thinking, “I can create something beautiful.” and yet he did.  Here’s a link to the article with more fabulous pics.

This gorgeous moon pic is by Laurent Laveder.  He’s got a book out featuring photos of people capturing and playing with the moon.  Such creativity!  Here’s a link to more awesome pictures that’ll make you say “That’s cool!”

And now to end with a giggle.  This video features twin baby girls dancing to their daddy’s guitar music.  That first look they give each other, “This is going to rock!” is priceless.

Have a cool day,

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Now That’s Cool

  1. Linda says:

    What could be better then cute babies and the wonders of nature. The moth could easily inspire a whole new generation of Mothra films! And I want some of those rocks.

  2. leannebanks says:

    WHATAGREATBLOG!!!:) I want one of those Petoskey stones to!!! I wouldn’t want that moth near my sweaters. He looks like he could do some serious damage! But those twins. Oh, TOO CUTE!:) Thanks Michele! xo

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    Michele – where do you find this stuff? I love it! especially the babies. And I spent way too much time on the website looking at all the iron filigree art work. too cool. thanks!

  4. michelehauf says:

    Cindy, I actually subscribe to a ‘cool’ blog that I page through every day just for my daily smile or chance to say ‘that’s cool’. Also, Pinterest has a lot of cool stuff that I collect. Do have an iPad? The Flipboard app is an awesome way to compile your blog crawl in a magazine format that you can flip through quickly and stop at the articles that interest you.
    I can’t stop watching those babies!

  5. superauntkx9 says:

    Interesting and unsual things.. but I think the baby twins are the cutest… They remind me of my twin neice and nephew at that age.. I have some cute pictures of them in the high chairs side by side.. Thanks for bringing back such fond memories for me..

  6. What a fun blog!! I love the way the babies look at each other with instant delight, then rock on. And what fascinating, unusual things otherwise. Love that moth!! 🙂

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Oh the baby girls dancing are so cute. My daughter (a twin) posted that on my wall this week. I love that first look of utter delight!

  8. TrishJ says:

    I find the moth a little creepy. But the babies are so cute. I can lose half a day on Pinterest.

  9. Nora Braun says:

    Now I want one of those moths for a pet – its so cool looking! And of course how could anyone resist such adorable dancing babies! Fun post!

  10. Pingback: Finding a Petoskey Stone – Noelle Hobbs

Leave a Reply

