Weird Eats

Surfer Guy and I just got back from vacation that took us from west to east–Seattle, Boston, Rhode Island, Martha’s Vineyard, and New York City. We had plenty of opportunity to eat, obviously, and focused on local favorites. Lots of seafood with Italian sprinkled in. Memorable meals: our train from Rhode Island to NYC was delayed and we got in late evening…and hungry. Midtown hotel rec’d Ray’s Pizza and we called for take-out. When Surfer Guy was given the total, he said “That sounds kind of high,” not in objection to the prices they charged (he was looking at a menu) but thought perhaps he’d mis-communicated the order. The apparently offended New Yorker abruptly hung up on him. (We called back, then the delivery dude came with the salad but forgot the pizza and had to return for it.)

In Martha’s Vineyard we had memorable meals at The Outermost Inn. We stayed in one of the nine rooms and our window looked right onto an island lighthouses. The chef serves incredible meals in their dining room to guests and others on the Vineyard. I had a first lobster course (three different tastes) that made me consider becoming a New Englander. Breakfasts were awesome too. Pictured is the fruit we were served, with a ginger sorbet on top. Yum!

But the “weird” prize goes to something Surfer Guy ordered here in our town. He asked for a rec for his birthday dinner and the Italian restaurant suggested sea urchin. You see it here. I confess to being totally grossed out, particularly because the tentacles were moving the whole time it sat at the table and was consumed! They had fished it out of a tank, cut off the top and then served it with toast. I could not bring myself to taste it, but I did sniff it. Smelled like a tide pool–which is what Surfer Guy says it tasted like. Oh. Kay.

Have you eaten anything unusual or especially delicious this summer? I had a cantelope yesterday evening that might have been the best one I’ve ever tasted!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Weird Eats

  1. Every year I eagerly await the “Candy Cane” brand of cantaloupe at the grocery stores. They are always so sweet, firm and perfect! And, all of the varieties of tomatoes in our garden are now ripening like mad. I love the tiniest of the little cherry tomatoes–soooo sweet.

  2. TrishJ says:

    How could he eat it?? Makes my stomach spin. I’m not much into trying new foods, but to be honest, if you don’t try it, how will you know. My mom used to make a green tomato pie that was to die for, but hubby couldn’t eat it … It was green for goodness sake. ;-).

    • christieridgway says:

      I don’t know about the “Candy Cane” ones. Will have to check! I’m in SoCal and we’ve had tomatoes like crazy. Such a pretty red.

    • christieridgway says:

      whoops, I responded to Roxanne in the wrong place. Trish, there is no way I would have tried the urchin. Not even a pinky dab. It was a soupy orange color and the smell alone was not appetizing. But the dh is more adventurous that way and he said he gained a taste for it.

  3. loisgreiman says:

    Almond Joy ice cream! Need I say more?

  4. michelehauf says:

    The seafood might have repelled me, but I totally would not have eaten that pizza after all you went through to get it. I’d suspect tampering after the delivery boy had to return to get it. But that’s just me. 😉
    I confess I had the most amazing cake EVER at a wedding a few days ago. White cake that must have been soaked in something because it was so moist, sitting in a pool of pineapple/mango sauce, and topped with a subtle white whipped-cream-like frosting. Divine. Will have good dreams about that cake for years to come.

  5. Why was it moving? Was it…undead?

    • christieridgway says:

      Sort of undead? It was all soupy inside and I asked the dh if he thought they’d somehow blended its innards and he said he thought they were just like that inside. So maybe it didn’t have enough awareness to know it was not, uh, all there (and being consumed). Oh, bleh. I’m starting to feel sick thinking about it!

  6. Linda says:

    I doubt I could have eaten the urchin smell aside it was moving…shudders at the thought. I think the strangest thing I have been exposed to in a dish was my brother-in-laws grandparents fixed raccoon and possum in a stew. They fed us after we baled hay and there was a ton of food on the table. I thought the stew looked greasy so I asked Granny what was in it. She quickly piped up that it was raccoon/possum stew. BLINK, BLINK. Uh thanks. I took the fried chicken.

    • christieridgway says:

      That reminds me of visiting my great-aunt and great-uncle as a kid. They brought out food from the way back of the freezer and I politely tried it. It was pheasant or something wild they’d shot and I had to pick out buckshot. As a child, I was apalled. Since them I’ve eaten wild game, but it hadn’t been in the freezer for a few years and was much better tasting!

  7. leannebanks says:

    URCHIN! OOOOG! But good for him. He now has a “story”.:) I love that you visited both coasts. It sounds wonderful. I’m all about salmon. Sorry.:) Boring.:) xo

  8. MaryC says:

    I’ve been enjoying the fresh produce, jams, jellies, cheese and baked goods found at local farmers markets.

  9. Kylie Brant says:

    I am totally grossed out, and yet a bit in awe that he tried sea urchin. I am not what could be considered an adventurous diner. I did try a bite of a corn dog. Had always thought wouldn’t like them because they looked disgusting. I was right…didn’t like it!

Leave a Reply

