Debra – Piracy is NOT the new radio.

In a recent-ish interview Neil Young tossed out the following thought:  “Piracy is the new radio — that’s how music gets around.”

Seriously?

Correct me if I’m wrong, but radio must “pay to play.”  It’s not free.  There are all sorts of software applications to record and tally and create accurate playlists from radio shows that are then used to sort out the royalties.

Piracy is wrong.  It’s the theft of intellectual property.  The pirated material offers no royalties back to its creator.  The pirate website pays no royalties.  How is piracy like radio?  (Okay, I get his point that the “work” is getting out in the world, but it’s certainly not even close to an apples to apples comparison.)

I’m such a fan of one of the new ways we’re shutting down piracy—making it impossible for the pirate sites to accept their membership fees.  Copyright holders are complaining to PayPal and PayPal (after investigation) has begun yanking the transaction privileges of some sites.  Recently, a foreign country shut down some pirate sites based in their country before a state visit to the U.S. (One wants to make a good impression, no?)

We are seeing some “wins” against piracy, but this battle is far from won.  It’s bad enough that a writer cannot leave her/his body of work to a family trust forever.  You can start Johnson & Johnson and keep that forever.  You just can’t write a book and keep that in the family forever.

Okay.  Emotional rant over for today.  It’s your turn now.  Go!  Rant!  What’s ticking you off?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Debra – Piracy is NOT the new radio.

  1. I so agree. The idea that these selfish thieves assume that they can pirate anything they want is so terribly wrong. How can they justify their actions? Why would they think that all those months of an author’s hard labor should be free? Could they walk out of Best Buy with a flat screen TV, or out of the grocery store with a nice standing rib roast, and say the items were just sitting there, and therefore should be free? I think my blood pressure just upped a few notches. 🙂

  2. kylie brant says:

    I blame it on all the drugs he took–he’s looney tunes!

    • debradixon says:

      K- I was kind of ….”What?! Is he crazy?” But there are some people who just swear that piracy doesn’t hurt sales. I think their research is flawed.

  3. Linda says:

    Hmm piracy… didn’t they hang or make pirates walk a gangplank. Perhaps that is something to think about. I could not imagine stealing someones work. It is bad enough that I deal with people who think all of the services provided at the clinic should be free.

    • debradixon says:

      Linda– Yep. So many people think they shouldn’t have to pay for anything. What’s up with that? That people don’t understand the basic rules of an economy? Or that “some free services” doesn’t mean “all free services?”

  4. debradixon says:

    Right there with you, Rox. Justifying piracy by saying they don’t like the price of books, etc. just doesn’t hold water with me. There are public libraries with scads of books for readers.

  5. Trish Jensen says:

    DD:
    I happened upon someone on a very popular reader website recommending to another reader a pirate site to get the book she wants for free. I try not to get too involved in those discussions, as I’ve heard of horrid retaliations. But took a different tactic. Mentioned the guy who was just prosecuted and fined $3,000 for theft of intellectual property. And sure, they can go that route, but do they really want to take a chance? That guy’s free book cost him $3,000 and an arrest record that was never going away. Instead of tossing tomatoes, the original poster actually thanked me, saying she had NO IDEA. She SOUNDED sincere in her horror at the thought.
    I just with there was a more broad-based way to educate those who don’t realize what they’re doing is theft. They just think they’ve landed on a good deal.

  6. leannebanks says:

    What bothers me? Piracy. Moreso, the whole subject of e-rights. Ooooog.

  7. Piracy is rampant. Short of DMCA notices and googling your own works it’s almost impossible to catch EVERY single one. It’s something I’ve fought with & without legal representation for 10+ years :(. I am a firm FIRM believer in paying the artist their fair share. My foolhardy belief in Karma. Even when Napster was around I still would pay the artists for their music. I try and teach the younger generation that piracy is still stealing…. /end rant

  8. debradixon says:

    Katrina– I’m not sure, but I’m pretty sure that I love you. Especially the part about recognizing that this new behavior (piracy) needs to be identified to the younger generation as wrong.

Leave a Reply

