A Treat For You!

Well ha!  I totally forgot I was supposed to post today.  I have an excuse.  I was just asked to write a short story and it’s due September 4th.  Aggh!  Major brain melt going on here today.  So, instead of trying to think of something clever, I’m just going to leave you all with a treat.  I found this recipe on Pinterest and made it last night.  SO GOOD.  No sugar or flour.  There’s nothing bad in it.  I use sugar-free chocolate chips (Hersheys makes those!) and I used peanut butter with chia seeds in it (love chia!).  My hubby, who still has a sweet tooth, proclaimed them ‘fine’, but both me and my son gobbled up quite a few.

Peanut Butter & Banana Chocolate Chunk Cookies

If you want these gluten-free, ensure you use gluten-free oats.

3 large, very ripe bananas
1/2 cup peanut butter, preferably all-natural (just peanuts), or almond butter
1/4 cup canola or olive oil
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups old-fashioned (large flake) or quick oats
1/3 cup shredded coconut (optional)
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 – 1 cup chopped dark chocolate or chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350˚F.

In a large bowl mash the bananas with the peanut butter, oil and vanilla. In another bowl stir together the oats, coconut, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients along with the chocolate and stir until combined.

Drop spoonfuls of dough onto a parchment or Silpat lined baking sheet, or one that is sprayed with nonstick spray, and bake for 12-14 minutes, until just set. Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Treat For You!

  1. Linda says:

    Those sound good except for the chocolate. I may have to try them and maybe put in caramel chips or 1/2 the amount of chocolate chips. Perhaps even raisins. I know it is weird not to like chocolate.

  2. michelehauf says:

    Linda, I used to be a chocaholic, but since going off sugar, I don’t care for it too much either. I do appreciate the dark stuff now, though, which is odd because before you couldn’t get me to eat it. I remember I decided that the next time I make this I’m adding walnuts. It just screams for walnuts. Very much a banana-bread like cookie.

  3. Thanks for sharing such an interesting recipe—and good luck with the deadline!!

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    they sound yummy Michele. And you’re a better woman than I am if you can pull a short story together on such short notice. good luck!!

    • michelehauf says:

      Seems to be the norm lately when I’m asked to do something short. They always need it yesterday. But this way I don’t have time to angst over everything and just have to focus, which tends to work for me.

  5. These sound great,Michele. I’ve got all the ingredients so I think I’ll whip some up for dessert tonight.

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    Cool, Michele! I’m going to try this!

  7. leannebanks says:

    Good for you Michele! You’re doing great with your no sugar diet!

  8. These sound and look so good.

Leave a Reply

