Hope Springs

Image It’s not often that I can get hubby to a movie but he suggested one last Sat. night and I’m always game.  Movies for us involve margaritas at Carlos and Charlies first (it’s across the street from the theater) which is also an incentive 🙂

The one he picked out is Hope Springs, with Meryl Streep, Tommy Lee Jones and Steve Carrell.  And it was delightful.  This from someone (me) who always picks out action/adventure or psychological suspense.  The cast makes the movie, which is fortunate because the plot is completely character driven.  

And what characters they are!

Meryl Streep brings to life the sweet, repressed mid-sixties Kay, who is desperate to revive her stagnant 31-year marriage with husband Arnold.  She does something out of character and books them for a four-thousand dollar week long marriage therapy session in Maine with counselor Steve Carrell.  Arnold, a chronic complainer and skinflint is outraged.  But when he sees she is going without him, he grudgingly goes along, complaining all the while.

Each day of therapy with the low-key Carrell strips away another layer of their marriage and what it’s become.  The  audience learns they haven’t had sex for five years.  Each assignment the counselor gives them brings laughter, and tugs on strings of familiarity.  But as the week winds down and it appears the marriage isn’t going to make it…I’ll admit to a couple tears.

Actors Streep and Jones are masterful as with expression alone they can convey so much love, hope, desolation and loss.  The ending was uplifting and totally believable.  It’s a movie that any married couple can relate to, and come out feeling either smug or hopeful, depending on what your view of the state of your marriage is 🙂

Have you seen a good movie lately?  Do you have any recommendations?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hope Springs

  1. michelehauf says:

    Thanks for reviewing this movie, Kylie. I think I want to see it soon.
    We saw Batman yesterday and all I can say is it exhausted me watching it. Too long. Not overly impressed. I watched for two hours until they finally started to reveal character motivations in the last twenty minutes. It needed some editing. Don’t you hate it when your writer’s brain interferes with watching a movie?

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    Michele, exactly and my husband hates it more I think 🙂 because I say things like, “Trite dialogue,” “cardboard characters”, “Insufficient motivation,” LOL. But I sure do love those movies that suck you in and make you forget you’re a writer. This one almost almost completely did that. (I had a minor quibble at the end). It’s not my normal type of movie but I thoroughly enjoyed it and that’s all Streep and Jones. Great acting.

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    Oh I love the sound of this movie – and what a cast. thanks for the great review. it’s going on my list of movies to see.

  4. leannebanks says:

    Kylie, I love that your husband chose this movie! I would have thought he would choose an action flick instead. So cool! I’ve heard Streep and Jones are fabulous in this. THANKS for the review and I hope you enjoyed those margaritas.

  5. Kylie Brant says:

    Leanne, my dh is a huge chick-flick guy, LOL. Loves anything with Katherine Heigl or Jennifer Anniston in it. I’m the one who likes the Bruce Willis or Bourne movies. We trade off picking them and he picked a winner this time!

  6. Trish Jensen says:

    Kylie:
    Loved the mini-review! I admit that I don’t do theaters very often (mostly because my dog isn’t interested), usually preferring to wait to watch in the comfort of my home where I can stop and start as needed to refresh drinks, snacks, or hit the potty. This one might be an exception. I LOVE the cast, and the trailers I’ve seen always make me smile.
    I’m with you in usually not going for romance types (especially because they all seem to be by Nicholas Sparks, and don’t bother), but more adrenaline pumping action. But this cast is just too good to wait. Maybe. If my dog will let me go alone.

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Trish, LOL although I think your dog would enjoy it too, maybe this once you can see it and then rent it 🙂 It’s sooo long before they come out on DVD and I always forget which ones I’ve been waiting for!

  8. I am so eager to see this movie, after watching the trailers. Streep is so amazing. I love her in everything she does, but It’s Complicated was soooo good–sweet romance, humor, great acting. I’m so glad you reviewed her new movie here!

  9. Kylie Brant says:

    I loved It’s Complicated, too, Rox. And I thought Steve Martin was fantastic in it, too! Really love the roles where he’s not doing stupid humor and prat falls.

  10. Johnnie B says:

    Hello there Kylie! That movie night was great. Tommy Lee and Meryl were perfect in portraying a relationship of a stagnant marriage., Only it would have seemed more realistic if they had been married 41 years instead of 31 considering their ages in the movie. I loved the ending and recommend it to all married couples. And Kylie, you should have finished your entire schooner Jumbo Margarita…

  11. Love your review. I have been wanting to see this!

  12. I saw Hope Springs, and LOVED it! Two of the best actors around playing the lead in a great script. The perfect mix of humour and serious. I’m one of these people who always go twice to movies I like. Now, to find someone who is ready for a good chuckle, and a whole lot of insight into life….

Leave a Reply

