The Glamorous Writing Life

When it comes to a glamorous life, most writers live much like I do.  An exciting day includes cleaning up after the dog and sniffing things in the frig to see if we dare heat them up again.  In winter I live in sweats and yoga pants.  In summer it’s exercise shorts and tees.  Not exactly the stuff fantasies are made of.

When we go to RWA each summer, however, we do glam it up a little.  There are agency dinners and publisher parties; booksignings and then the big ceremony when they announce Rita winners.  Which means we’re packing dressy clothes, the likes of which rarely make it out of our closets the rest of the year.

Since I detest shopping, getting ready for the conference usually has me looking in my closet the day before I’m going to leave and then maybe dashing downtown to the lone women’s shop in a desperate hope to fill any voids in my wardrobe.  I’m all about being prepared <g>.  This year I did score a gorgeous three-piece suit in a silver jungle print and a new jacket.  I was able to do some mix and matching with what I already had and woo-la.  Ready to go.

Well almost.

There was still the long gown needed for Rita night.  Time to check another closet, wincing as I remembered that I didn’t have anything altered after I lost weight.  Grabbed a long black halter gown with lots of gathers and asked my husband to zip me up.  The look on his face was comical.  “You look beautiful,” he breathed.  (It must have been the gym socks I was wearing with it.  It’s all about accessorizing.)  “I never get to see you dressed up like this.”

I pointed out to him that a)  He has disgracefully low standards of beauty and b)  He needs to take me to nicer places <g>.

The conference, when we got there, was a whirlwind of sightseeing, workshops, dinners, and parties (with *lots* of dancing).  I never had a chance to slip into the lone pair of gym shorts I packed.

It’s fun to try on the glamorous life for a few days.  It’s even better to get back home, decompress and get back to my normal routine.  And there was actually something in the frig that could pass for dinner tonight.  I ate it wearing gym shorts.  All in all, back to normal <g>.

Do you have a glamorous alter ego?  What occasion(s) have you getting dressed to kill?

Here are a few pics from last week:

The Top Down members in attendance at breakfast Friday.

Top:  A house on ‘Wisteria Lane’ at Universal Studios.  Only a front, of course. Below is a view of the sea wall, taken from the helicopter Cindy and I took to Catalina Island.  Both were fun days!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Glamorous Writing Life

  1. leannebanks says:

    Hey Kylie, where’s your pic from the Harlequin party! Don’t let her fool you! She looked stunning!!! And I didn’t even get to see the long black gown.:) Top Down breakfast was so fun and I really love Catalina. Such a magical place!

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    I didn’t get a pic that night. Did I? I’ll admit details of the evening were fuzzy. I’d had just enough to drink to forget what I look like dancing, LOL! You were turning heads that night, though, I remember that. Great dress!

  3. michelehauf says:

    I have a closet full of glam stuff, but like you, Kylie, I only get to dig that stuff out for the conferences. Our hubbies need to start bringing us to fancier places. 😉
    So wish I could have been there this year! But sounds like you all had a fab time!

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Missed you this year, Michele! Have my stuff tucked away for next year. Not holding my breath for hubby to spring for somewhere fancy but hope springs eternal, LOL.

  4. Lois Greiman says:

    I wish I had seen the gown, Kylie. I bet you were a knock out. Sometimes I think we should take our husbands along every once in a while just so they could see us dressed up.

    As for me, I was running a barrel racing pattern an hour and a half after my plane touched down in MN. Good times. 🙂

  5. Linda says:

    I am the type of person who would live in jeans and comfortable shirt all of the time if I could. Or shorts and T shirt. I have to dress in business casual now that I work in a strictly small animal practice. Dressing up and glamming out is something that I do rarely because for me it is a chore. But when I do I have a few items that I really love to wear. My biggest problem is shoes…I can’t/won’t wear high heals since 30 minutes in them and my feet and ankles start to protest. So I guess I will stay with my comfy clothes as much as possible.

  6. MaryC says:

    The only things i dress up for now are weddings and graduations and I haven’t worn heels for ages.
    I have a collection of long skirts and generally buy a new top for the occasion.

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    MaryC, those are the usual reasons for dressing up here, too. I still teach, so do have to dress up to go to work everyday…but luckily that doesn’t require dresses. Or panty hose!

  8. Kylie, you were stunning in that silvery outfit–absolutely stunning. It was such fun to see you and Cindy dress up in your gorgeous outfits!

  9. Oooh, and that long dress with the side zipper was stunning, too!

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    Thanks, Rox 🙂 I told my husband about my new buy and he pointed out that he never got to see me in *that* either!

Leave a Reply

