Love Between the Covers documentary by Emmy award winner, Laurie Kahn

Hey all.  Cindy here.

Two RWA’s ago, when the national conference was rerouted to Orlando due to flooding in Nashville, I had the pleasure of meeting Peabody and Emmy award winning documentary film producer, Laurie Kahn on the shuttle from the airport to the conference hotel.  Laurie was attending her first RWA conference and the purpose of her attendance was to interview several prominent authors about the role of romantic fiction in today’s society for a documentary film project.  Since that time, Laurie has been busy filming and just this past month, attended the RWA National conference in Anaheim, at which time she unveiled a clip from her upcoming documentary and continued with her round of author and fan interviews.  (I’m happy to say, I, personally had a blast with my hour long session with Laurie).

Like many other authors and industry professionals, I am so excited by this project.  For the first time EVER, the romance genre – writers AND fans –  is receiving positive, in depth attention as Laurie explores the ins and outs of the business and the driving force behind our popularity as a genre. 

Laurie just launched a Kickstarter campaign, and if you go to her Kickstarter page (lovebetweenthecovers.com) you can see a fun video preview of the film, which is going to be called Love Between the Covers.  IT IS SO COOL!!!

When the video preview was shown at RWA, it was a huge success. I think it’s fabulous and again, shows the industry and the fans in such a positive and truthful light.  I’m so eager for this film to be finished and made available to the public. But, for that to happen, Laurie needs a little help.  She has to raise $50,000 in pledges by Sunday August 26th or she gets NOTHING. If she raises more than $50,000 by that deadline, however, she’ll get to keep EVERYTHING that has been pledged. So every gift really matters. I know she would be grateful if you could swing even a $1.00 donation.

And the really fun part?  Laurie is offering a wide range of donor gifts at Kickstarter, including copies of the film, first chapter critiques, a thank-you in the film credits, and tickets to the film premiere. As I said before, project supporters can give as little as $1, or as much as $5,000 (for $5,000, Laurie will fly to the donor’s hometown before the film is broadcast for an intimate private film premiere with the donor’s friends/family/readers, where she’ll answer any and all questions!). For a pledge of $35, someone who pledges can pre-buy a copy of the film, and also get a credit at the SUPPORTER page of the Popular Romance Project website and a fabulous magnetic bumper sticker. There are other gifts, too. Take a look at lovebetweenthecovers.com!

Many Kickstarter campaigns raise much more than their official goals. Laurie has asked for $50,000, but she actually needs more than that to complete the film and keep the Popular Romance Project moving forward. So don’t stop giving if the $50,000 mark is reached! (She is $200,000 short of what she needs to complete the film, launch it in the world, plan the symposium, and keep PopularRomanceProject.org alive and growing.)

When the film is finished, it will be broadcast worldwide, seen at film festivals, and used in high school and university classrooms, like Laurie’s other award-winning films (she’s won the primetime EMMY and Peabody awards, among others).

Love Between the Covers is part of the larger Popular Romance Project, and the footage Laurie and her crew are shooting for Love Between the Covers will also be used at a symposium about the deep roots of popular romance at the Library of Congress, in nationwide library programs about popular romance run by the American Library Association, and at a huge website looking at popular romance across time and cultures. You can already check out the prototype of that website at PopularRomanceProject.org – it’s well worth visiting.

If this project is completed, it will help change how the world sees the romance community.  Don’t know about you, but I would LOVE to see that happen and as I said, even $1.00 pledge can help – and the pledge process is easy peasy and painless!

Make sure you check out the preview at lovebetweenthecovers.com and if you have any questions or comments – even if it’s a ‘ Rah Rah!  Yea, Laurie!!! – let her hear from you right here today by leaving a comment.  And be sure to tell your friends about this wonderful shot in the arm for the genre as Laurie gives both romance writers and romance readers the respect we have always deserved.  Thanks!!

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Love Between the Covers documentary by Emmy award winner, Laurie Kahn

  1. michelehauf says:

    First, I love Kickstarter. So many great projects, and it is so easy to support those projects you believe in. I pledged! And now I have my fingers crossed this amazing project will get fully funded so you can continue with your documentary, Laurie.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Thanks, Michele! Did you get a chance to watch the preview? It is SOOOOO good!

    • Laurie Kahn says:

      Thanks a million Michele! Kickstarter has changed the world I live in. It’s very powerful when people who want to see a film made can actually make it happen!! I can’t tell you how much it means to me to have the support of the romance community. I’m interested in feedback and suggestions from everyone….so stay in touch, and let me know what you think!

  2. Hi, Laurie! What a wonderful project. I can tell from your web site and the video that it’s going to be a class act. Thanks you for that! I posted on my FB page and on http://www.facebook.com/TheStoryGarden which is a group of writers, another class act.

    • Laurie Kahn says:

      I just visited The Story Garden and totally love your tag line: where good books make good friends. I’m glad you liked my Kickstarter video for Love Between the Covers and our Popular Romance Project website. Visit often and please leave us comments and suggestions! Thanks for helping get the word out!

  3. loisgreiman says:

    That really is a cool project. I saw it at RWA and was very impressed. You go Laurie!!

  4. This looks like it’ll be a wonderful documentary. I’ve made a pledge.

  5. Cindy Gerard says:

    You guys totally rock! thanks for supporting Laurie and this amazing project!

    • Laurie Kahn says:

      THANK YOU CINDY for posting this blog!!!!
      you totally ROCK! I’ve been nervous about this Kickstarter campaign (worrying about making our goal), so getting support from people like you means a lot to me! I am incredibly grateful! And I love hearing from your readers!

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    Fabulous project, Laurie and one I eagerly anticipate being available to the general public!

  7. Vicki Hinze says:

    Terrific project. Cindy, thanks for the heads up on it! What a great goal!

  8. MaryC says:

    Laurie,
    Loved the clip and can’t wait to see the finished project! Just went over and made a pledge – best of luck with the fundraising!

  9. Excellent post, Cindy. I’m so glad you shared all of this information with us!

  10. Tara Janzen says:

    Fabulous idea – loved the clip – made a donation. For years, I’ve described romance novels as “covert feminism,” especially to people who have never read a romance and have therefore missed the inherent acknowledgment of a woman’s power and value that saturates the genre. They dismiss the books as trashy fluff, thereby dismissing the emotional and intellectual responses of the millions of readers who love the books – which, needless to say, offends my very feminist heart. Wishing you all the best, Laurie!

    • Laurie Kahn says:

      Tara, thanks a million for the donation! That’s wonderfully kind of you!!! People who don’t read romance assume the novels are anti-feminist but I think romance is one of the few places where women’s desires are taken seriously and respectfully. I’m interested by the fact that mysteries and horror and sci fi don’t get dismissed as trashy fluff, but romance does. There are layers and layers of gender issues here!
      You should check out some of the essays that have been put up on the subject (and related subjects) at our blogsite, PopularRomanceProject.org/category/talking-about-romance/

  11. leannebanks says:

    Love this! What an innovative idea! I’m so excited about this!!!:)

  12. Love Between the Covers is an amazing and much-needed doumentary for the romance genre. It’s my pleasure to share the link on FB, and I’m going straightaway to make a pledge. My friend/webmaster (Roy Turner) is also a documentary filmmaker, and I’ve seen the value of exploring a subject in the appealing venue of film. Congraulations and best of luck!

    • Laurie Kahn says:

      Thanks Peggy! I really appreciate your sharing the link on FB. This is a totally networked community and everyone knows how to get the word out….I totally appreciate it. And I’ll look up Roy Turner’s films….

  13. Oh, I just had a wonderful thought! I’m on the executive board for the Tupelo Film Festival (Mississippi). In addition to hosting films and filmmakers during the annual festival, we frequently bring filmmakers and their films into the city (expenses paid) for a special viewing. Please contact me through my website if you’re interested… http://www.peggywebb.com. Or just have Cindy share my private email address.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Thanks for the generous offer, Peg. I’ll make certain Laurie gets the message!!

    • Laurie Kahn says:

      Hello Peggy! That’s a lovely offer. I’m swamped this week, but let’s talk next week. This film won’t be finished for several years, but I’d love to come to Tupelo. It’s lots of fun taking my films (when they are finished) out to festivals. It’s so different seeing them with a room full of film lovers!

Leave a Reply

