Thank you, Pooh bear

So did you all watch the Opening Ceremonies for the 2012 Olympics? I admit I was in and out of the living room, watching when something caught my eye.  And what caught my eye was Voldemort and Mary Poppins runnings around on the stage.  And I’m pretty sure I saw the child catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, too. What were they doing at the Olympics? Who cares! A tribute to children’s literature is always a treat.

It got me to thinking about my favorite childhood stories.  The one that wins, hands down? Peter Pan! I so wanted him to fly to my window one night and take me away to Neverland. Alas, he never did. (Though, I distinctly recall dating him in high school. Poor guy was never going to grow up. Dodged a bullet there.) Anyway, that is the title that stands out to me.

As for my own children, I have much thanks to send to A.A. Milne, the creator of Winnie The Pooh. My son grew up with Pooh and Piglet and Tigger and Rabbit. I think I can still quote some of the Pooh videos line for line. (And my son is 21 now.) Perfect, wholesome stories that can teach a child while also giving him good friends.

That’s what the best stories do: teach and befriend you. Now, tell us about your favorite childhood read, or the ones that you’ve seen affect your children.

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thank you, Pooh bear

  1. Sharon Mitchell says:

    My children grew up with Pooh, Peter Pan, Babar, Peter Rabbit, Marguerite Henry’s horse stories and the Oz books, Each had a different favorite. Now my grandchildren have enjoyed or are enjoying them. An all time favorite of all is The Secret Garden. The story never grows old. We even have two movie versions to enjoy and still read the story together – and separately.

  2. laurieg72 says:

    A L Milne- Christopher Robin and Pooh
    EB White- Charlotte’s Web, Louis the Trumpeter Swan, Stuart Little
    Eric Carle- Brown Bear , Brown Bear, What Do You See, Polar Bear, Polar Bear , What Do You Hear, The Very Hungry Caterpiller, The Grouchy Ladybug
    Lois Elhert ( writer & Illustrator)- Color Zoo, Snowballs, Crocodile Smile, Chicka, Chicks, Boom Boom, Planting A Rainbow, Feathers For Lunch, Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf
    Jan Brett (writer & illustrator)- The Lost Mitten, Noah’s Ark etc
    George Selden- The Cricket In Times Square
    L M Montgomery – Anne of Green Gables
    Laura Ingalls Wilder,- Little House On the Prairie
    Sandra Boynton- Moo, Bah, La La La, Barnyard Dance
    Dr Seuss- Green Eggs & Ham etc
    Johanna Sprys- Heidi
    Roald Dahl- James & the Giant Peach, Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory
    CS Lewis- Narnia series
    Shel Siverstein- Where the Sidewalk Ends, The Giving Tree, A Light In the Attic
    Richard Scary books
    Disney Classics!!

  3. michelehauf says:

    Oh, Charlotte’s Web and Seuss! How could I have left those out. Your list is awesome. Got most of them covered!

  4. JRR Tolkien, The Hobbit
    Grimm’s Fairytales
    CS Lewis, The Narnia Series
    When I was eleven, my best friend gave me Charlotte Bronte’s, Jane Eyre. I couldn’t put it down. Still love it.
    Ooh, and Anne of Green Gables, too.

  5. Linda says:

    I never had children of my own, but for my nieces and nephews I read to them all of the Dr. Seuss books- saving Oh the Places You Will Go for their HS graduation. I have four more books to give over the next 6 years! One nephew treasured Where the Wild Things Are and I could tell the story without the book for a long time after he got old enough not to want to read it any more.
    As for my treasured books growing up.. well I read all of the Pooh books, Charlotte’s Web and really anything I could get my hands on. Including Mark Twain’s Tom Sawyer by the time I was 8.

  6. superauntkx9 says:

    Oh I have a couple that I love which would be Anne of Green Gables and Charlottes Web.. Funny thing is I don’t think I read any of the Winnie the Pooh books.. But another fav of mien was Peter Rabbit and also The Velveteen Rabbit…
    Also loved The Adventures of Pippi Longstocking….

    • My kids were into summer children’s theater. Charlotte’s Web and The Velveteen Rabbit were two of the plays they were in. Oh, and they did Kenneth Grahame’s Wind in the Willows. David was Ratty. Wonderful book! Don’t you just love the title?

  7. leannebanks says:

    MIchele, what a great blog! I loved so many of the classic Disney-type fairy tales growing up — Cinderella, Snow White. I enjoyed “Where The Wild Things Are”, Winnie the Pooh, The Velveteen Rabbit and “The Little Mouse, The Red Ripe Strawberry, and THE BIG HUNGRY BEAR” when my children were young.:)

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    I always loved Pooh and friends 🙂 For my twins we had the room decorated with Peter Rabbit and company. Favorite books for my kids were Where the Wild Things Are, Mercer Mayer books, The Monster at the End of this Book and of course Dr. Seuss.

  9. loisgreiman says:

    I do love Seuss, and Tolkein will forever be my favorite. But did anyone read the Hank the Cowdog books to their kids??? Sooo delightful.

  10. There’s so much in Laurie’s list that I can relate to. The stories toddlers want you to read to them even after they’ve memorized them really still with you, don’t they? My little sister’s was THE POKY LITTLE PUPPY. Older son’s was HOW THE SUN WAS BROUGHT BACK TO THE SKY. There’s always a refrain. “Roly-poly, pell-mell, tumble-bumble. And there they stopped short.” or “Chicks chicks, where are you going? Where are you going, chicks chicks?” Come to think of it, the latter stuck in my son’s head long past childhood.

    For two generations now one of our favorite author-illustrators has been Paul Goble. We met him when our kids were kids. Quiet, shy, unassuming man, amazing artist. THE GIRL WHO LOVED WILD HOSES was a Newberry Medal winner.

  11. I read to all of our kids through gradeschool They loved Suess and a wonderful British series of beautifully illustrated children’s stories. Later, they loves Kon Tiki, the entire Redwall series (big single title paperbacks set in the world of small, warring mammals), and Tolkien. I miss those days!

  12. Amber Stevens says:

    My favorite childhood story, hands-down, is “The Elves and the Shoemaker”! As a young reader, I loved the “Little House” series.

  13. laurieg72 says:

    I forgot Jan & Stan Berenstain and the whole Berenstain Bears series.
    Little Beaver and The Echo- Amy MacDonald was also one of my kid’s favorites.

Leave a Reply

