Wardrobe Angst

It’s that time of year again…that time when 2000 plus women agonize over what to wear to the Romance Writers of America conference. I am one of those 2000…even though I told myself I would NOT agonize this time around.

But here’s the problem…I have no style. I used to have style or at least I used to have A style…I think. But when I remember past conferences (I attended my first one about two decades ago) I dressed pretty businessy. Although I usually had at least one hat…I loooooove hats. But now I’m…well…let’s say I’m not as fresh as I used to be and I’m all businessed out.

I was whining about this and sundry other things when my daughter suggested that I quit trying to pretend I’m something I’m not and just go hard core cowgirl. Which makes some sense since my next book to be released is a cowgirl type of book. And it is a three book contract and if I went cowgirl I wouldn’t have to buy much new stuff. Or even better; I could buy lots of new cowgirl stuff. Yum. I’m not talking chaps and spurs (I can’t even tell you how much I love chaps and spurs.) But maybe some blingy jeans, a couple cute hats and perhaps a western style dress with cowgirl accessories. Note: I don’t have a western style dress…any suggestions?

But maybe I’m being ridiculous. After all, this is a professional conference where I’ll be meeting editors, agents, and a movie guy. On the other hand, I don’t particularly want to get lost in the crowd. So what say you? Should I drag out the suits or as a pseudo artist can I just wing it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wardrobe Angst

  1. I say if you can’t wing it there’s no hope for the rest of us. Let your inner cowgirl shine! Of course, what do I know?

  2. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks Judy. I just may take your advice.

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    Lois, as long as I’ve known you, you have had Style! I say go for what feels right and if it’s a yee haw cowgirl look, I know you’re pull it off beautifully! And WHAT movie guy???k

    • loisgreiman says:

      Thanks Cindy. I know you’re lying but I appreciate a good fabrication.
      Movie guy-Ravel Centino Rodregis is will Viddy Well Films and has had the rights to the Chrissy series for a while. He’s had a screen play written which I quite like but I don’t expect anything to happen. It would be nice though. 🙂

  4. Mary Louise says:

    Hi Lois. Whatever you’re cmfortable wearing always works. You want to wear the clothes not the other way around. It sounds like you have several different types of meetings so I would bring something casual, but a bit more business-like (I’m in the corporate world…… just sayin). Here’s the perfect opportunity to ask WWCD? (What would Chrissie do?). Wait a minute…. you want to make a good impression right? On second thought we shouldn’t go there. The meetings are in LA aren’t they? Heck, everyone knows in L.A. clothing is often optional, but I don’t think they’re that kinds of meetings. Honestly, whatever you choose will be the right choice! Best of Luck!!

  5. Linda says:

    I tend to go with the theory on clothes that as long as you are comfortable in them and they represent you as a professional then go with it. When I go to CE conferences I wear business casual to good jeans (not faded and no major wear pattern) with dress shirt ( polo type or button up shirt). But then again I work in a profession where we can wear scrubs and look professional. Just be yourself and have fun.

  6. Be yourself, pretty lady. You won’t feel comfortable otherwise. Being comfortable in your own skin is only half the battle for women. Our clothes are like our second layer of skin. We have to find the same comfort level in that layer. And, oh, don’t we struggle with it? How often do we fall in love with a look we see on somebody else, buy it, wear it once or twice and then let it hang there in the closet because we just don’t choose it when we’re getting dressed? It doesn’t feel right.

    Do your own thing. You are THE Lois Greiman. To know you is to love you.

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Exciting about movie guy!!! I’d love to see Chrissy on the big screen! As far as the clothes go, you look awesome all the time so you’ll make whatever you’re wearing shine. I don’t think about clothes until Sunday night so my style will be “let’s look in the closet and see what still fits” <g<

  8. leannebanks says:

    GO YOU!!! GO COWGIRL!!!! xoxo, Leanne

Leave a Reply

