Summer release and Salsa!!

It’s that time of year when the veggies are fresh and ripe and yummy!  Even with the heat and drought here in Iowa, it looks like the tomato crop is going to be good and tomatoes mean salsa at our house.  Here’s my all time favorite Salsa recipe.  It’s a little labor intensive but most truly great things take a little work, right?  And trust me, it’s worth it.  EVERYONE LOVES this salsa.

tomatoesimages

Cindy’s Salsa (Actually it’s my sister, Wanda’s Salsa but when it comes out of MY kitchen, I claim it :o):

12 c tomatoes

3 cans diced green chilies

3 medium chopped onions

3 green peppers

1 c white vinegar

1 tsp oregeno

2 T canning salt

1 – 1/12 tsp black pepper

2 1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 c sugar

1/2 c minced onion

12 oz can tomato paste

If you like your salsa hot, add 4 chopped jalapeño peppers.

Scald tomatoes then slip the skin off.  Toss tomatoes, chilies, onion, peppers in a food processor or chop up.

Mix all ingredients together and simmer 45 min to 1 hour.  Pour into glass jars, seal with flats and rings then process for 30 minutes.  Take the jars out of the canner and wait for the flats to pop and seal.  If you want to forgo the canning route, you can also pack in freezer containers and freeze.  I’ve done both but I like the texture of the canned salsa better.

This recipe makes 10 – 10 1/2 pints.  

 

And as long as we’re talking about hot – I have a new e-book release coming out August 7th.  I’m so excited about this.  Worth Dying For is a reissue of 2 of my older Loveswepts that Pocket Books is making available as a two for one volume.  Man Around the House (A Rita finalist) and Into The Night (A Reader’s Choice Winner) have always been favorites of mine and I’m really jazzed about seeing them available again.  Hope you get a chance to order your copy when August roles around.

9781451671773_NOT_FINAL[1]

So – do you have any favorite summer recipes you’d like to share?  I’d LOVE to hear them.  Hope everyone’s having a great summer

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Summer release and Salsa!!

  1. Love that book cover, CIndy!!! Gorgeous! And what an opportunity to pick up two of your Loveswept titles. Evey fan of your will want to grab this ebook, because your wonderful backlist is not to be missed.
    Thanks for sharing the salsa recipe! Every year i resolve to be moderate; every year I fall prey to the enticing tomato plants at the garden store. We have something like twenty five, including the volunteers which popped up everywhere, and I will be in need of good recipes!

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Thanks Rox. I love the cover too and I really am excited these books are going to be available again.
      You sound like my hubby. He ALWAYS plants way more than we need!.

  2. michelehauf says:

    Sounds delish! I’ve never ‘cooked’ salsa before, so may have to give it a try.
    Congrats on the new release! Really gorgeous.

  3. I can every year. I usually make hot pepper jelly but now I have a tried and true salsa recipe. Thank you!

  4. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks for the recipe, Cindy. And isn’t it great having those old book rereleased?

  5. Kathleen O says:

    If I was a salsa person, I would make this dish..I do a nice summer veggie dish, by takking red and yellow peppers, mushrooms, and green beans and sauteing them in some zezty Italian dressing.. First I suate the peppers and mushrooms in a little evvo and butter, then I blanch the fresh green beans and drain them under cold water, this keeps the green beans their fresh green colour. When these are ready to go into the saute pan, I pour in a little zesty Italitan dressing and some almonds or chopped walnuts and heat them up with the other veggies… then arrange them on a nice plate. Goes great with what ever meat you have bbq’d…

    Cindy I am going to be pre-ordering this book for sure. Love getting those books I missed the first time around..

  6. Love love love the book cover, and I’m going to the farmer’s market this week. This recipe is now in my file. Thank you, m’dear.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Thanks Kathy
      Hey – I was at the Minneapolis farmers market last week – the one at Hwy 55 and Glenwood. Stayed with a friend in Plymouth on the way to the cabin up north. GREAT market!

  7. leannebanks says:

    YUM YUM on the books AND the salsa! Both sound delish!:) We’ve had tons of squash, so I’ve both baked and boiled with onion. Just got some eggplant, so some low-fat eggplant parmesan is in our future!;) xo, Leanne

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    Love love love that cover! You did well (since you gave them the direction to go…!)

  9. Linda says:

    Definitely wrote that salsa recipe down! Now it is just finding time for me to make it! I have to postpose buying the book for a bit. I am using my book budget for the next few months to build a ramp/porch for my father. He has had knee replacement and their seps are way to steep for him. Also trying to get to OK to be able to see him the second week of August.
    My usual summer recipes include a lot of fresh fruit.
    I have been playing with making ice cream toppings to freeze/can for later in the winter. Tonight I made a peach mango compote. I used 4 medium peaches. 4 TBSP sugar, 4 TBSP cinnamon 1/4 tsp nutmeg,1/3 cup of water, and 1 mango. sliced up 3 of the peaches (2 over ripe ones) and cooked them with the sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg until they were just breaking down. then sliced the last peach into cooked peaches and sliced the mango (pressed half of the mango to get juice to add to cooked peaches) then added other half of mango cut up into the peaches. cooked until the last peaches were just turning tender. I had to thicken it with a little cornstarch. Serving it on ice cream tonight and if rest of family likes it I will try to can some this weekend.

  10. Pingback: Prepping Tomatoes for Salsa « 3 Quarters Today

  11. Pingback: Simple Garden Recipes: Maricela’s Oven-Roasted Tomato Salsa « Putney Farm

Leave a Reply

