YOU NEVER CAN TELL When You Might Win a Book

You Never Can Tell - 3 It’s celebration time! 

YOU NEVER CAN TELL has just been reborn in three beautiful formats —paperback, e-book, and audio book from Amazon and paperback from Barnes & Noble–and I’m going to draw a name from today’s comment pages and give an autographed trade paperback copy of THE LAST GOOD MAN away.  Yes!  Because that’s the book that gave rise to this one.

Here’s my question for today:  Have you ever seriously put yourself out there for a cause you believed in?  Have you ever really laid it on the line?

Laid what, you say?  Oh, I don’t know.  We’re about to celebrate the anniversary of the day a bunch of rebels laid their lives, their fortunes and their sacred honors on the line.  How about your word?  Your reputation?  A good chunk of your time?  Your trust?  What would be a real risk for you?  What would it take to make you risk everything?

YOU NEVER CAN TELL is the story of a man who risked everything and lost all but his life and a woman with stars in her eyes who wants to tell his story.   Readers of THE LAST GOOD MAN undoubtedly guessed that I would have to write Kole Kills Crow’s story.  Kole is the kind of man who walks the walk.  His people are his cause, and he once believed in a man who successfully attracted media attention by talking the talk.  And leaving Kole holding the bag.  Now Kole is a fugitive.  Here’s the setup:

She tracks him until he catches her… 

Some say American Indian Activist Kole Kills Crow is an outlaw; others say he’s a hero.  To journalist Heather Reardon, he’s a must-have story.  When Heather locates Kole in an isolates Minnesota cabin, she discovers a loner, a fugitive, a disillusioned idealist who isn’t interested in telling his side of any story.  But now that she’s found him, he can’t let her go.

And she can’t walk away.  Years ago Kole gave up a child for adoption because he couldn’t raise her on the run.  His daughter is now seven, and her godmother–Heather Reardon–believes she deserves to know who her father really is and what he stands for.

There’s nothing quite like a wounded bad boy and a woman on a mission to create sexual tension, but it’s the passion these two have for the lives around them and for doing the right by them that enhances their growing passion for each other. 

How about you?  Don’t tell me you haven’t tested yourself.  Maybe your neck hasn’t narrowly escaped the guillotine, but you’ve take a chance or two. How did it work out?  Or, what would be a real risk for you?  What would it take to make you risk everything? 

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in American Indians, book release, contemporary romance, free book, Kathleen Eagle, romance, Romantic suspense. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to YOU NEVER CAN TELL When You Might Win a Book

  1. Laney4 says:

    I can’t think of any examples where I’ve risked “everything”. I DO know that I learned years ago that one lie leads to another lie and to another lie, so it’s been a priority for me not to tell lies (and I am not thrilled when others tell me lies). That being said, it is difficult for me when I am told to keep something a secret, and in order not to give away said secret, I am “this close” to telling lies. When asked questions by others, including by my family, that could give away the answers, I try to word my responses so that I am not telling a lie – but I AM omitting details. I just pray that, with my poor memory, I don’t give away anything inadvertently in the meantime. Without giving away the secret, but to answer your question, this particular ongoing secret I’m thinking about has worked out okay for my friend THIS TIME, and life has moved on in the same direction it was before there was a secret (and no, there wasn’t an affair, even though I realize my phrasing might lead one to think that!). Whew! Now MY life can move on too….

    • What a loaded response, Laney. I learned so much just reading it–mostly about myself. Isn’t it amazing how we jump to the conclusion that there’s an affair in there somewhere? And how enmeshed our own risk-taking becomes with the risk-taking of someone close to us. The truth and the secret. Wow. So many layers to the risks we take.

      I pulled this up during a break from today’s writing, and you’ve made me think deeper into the scene. Excellent.

  2. alisha woods says:

    almost risk a lot by turning in someone who knew about their child being abused, but kept praying and waiting for a sign to see what I should do. The sign came and relative gave me the rest of the story so to speak. The bad guys got punished and I didn’t cause family rift by jumping into soon without all of the facts. It was a very upsetting and stressful time for me not knowing what to do.

    • Thanks for sharing that, Alisha. That’s such a tough one, and I think you did really really well making sure you had ample information. Having been a teacher, I’m well aware of the heavy responsibility you felt and the understanding that you’re risking so much more than yourself. Lives other than your own are at stake. Wow. That’s big. Truly, thank you.

  3. carole says:

    I’m risking everything now,I always liked to cook and I found this old food truck and I went to a class on how to get started. Then i talked a really good friend(dad’s girlfriend son)Mike who cooks really good to help me out and I put every penny into this food truck…I bake the goodies and he makes the sandwiches and he knows the hottest places to sell our goods…down south fla. I go every weekend to help out while Mike and my daughter works during the week. Everyone told me i was crazy and not ot do it-that gets me madder than a hornet nest and if I didn’t take the risk I’d never know if we were gonna make it..so far were doing great and have a great following…its so much fun and now my dad is even helping out and his girlfriend Diane…My mom would always tell us don’t ever use the words I can’t at least try…and go after your dreams, I know my mom is looking down at me saying you go girl !

  4. What a great story, Carole–just look what you started! And the coolest part is, not only did you start what you thought you were starting, but you started unexpected things–*good* things. Thanks for bringing this to us. Hey, can we get a round of goodies for the ‘vert?

  5. catslady says:

    Nothing in particular but the one thing I’ve always prided myself on is telling the truth (probably because I’ve been lied to many times). I also am not afraid to tell my opinion on things. Nothing insulting. I was always told to never talk about certain subjects but I disagree with that. How can anyone learn anything if important subjects are never talked about. Although, I have learned that there are people out there that cannot agree to disagree and in that case there is no point in getting into a shouting match. I think everyone is entitled to their opinion – afterall, that makes us who we are. I hate just going along with the crowd just because it’s the easy way out. I’ve also learned that not everyone is going to like you and that’s been one of the hardest lessons to learn!

    • I hear you, catslady. Do I ever. Every time I open my mouth, there’s a foot perilously close by. But I love to exchange opinions, and I have no trouble agreeing to disagree. Hear that, Danny? (He ain’t heavy. He’s my brother.)

  6. michelehauf says:

    Wow, loving these responses! I not much of a risk taker! I like it cool, calm and easy. 😉

  7. loisgreiman says:

    This is the time for risk-takers….things are being shaken up everywhere. Yay for everyone who is taking chances, including all us writers who are trying new things. Change is scary but we almost always learn something interesting about ourselves and others when we take chances. Interesting subject, K.

  8. Pingback: Win a copy of You Never Can Tell | A Vivid Voice for your Audio Productions and Spoken Word Projects

  9. Tracie says:

    The biggest situation that comes to mind is when I broke up with my ex. It was a very abusive and volatile relationship and after many years in the relationship I decided it was time to get out. I feared for my life and my children’s. There were some huge obstacles to overcome and many 911 calls but everything worked out in the end. The only thing I would do differently would be to have done it sooner…and maybe carry a Louisville Slugger for extra peace of mind.

  10. I’m so glad you and your children are safe, Tracie. Thanks for sharing your story. The fact that you’re willing to do that says so much about you and the confidence you have now. And people learn from stories. You might never know how many people you help just by telling a story.

  11. bn100 says:

    The book sounds good. I’ve never really had to do this.

  12. cindal says:

    The only risk I have ever really taken was to leave home before I was out of school. I took on three jobs and went to school and finished with my class which My Foster Mom said I would not do if I left home. I took the chance that I knew what I was doing and that I could depend on myself. I have never regretted the choice I made. It is all part of a longer story that I hope someday to write. That will be the big risk for me. Putting my life out there for the world to see. I am not sure even now I am strong enough to do that. I respect and admire all of you the the stories you have had to tell on here. May God or whatever Spirit you all might believe in bless you mightily.

    • Thanks for your kind words, Cindal. You should write your story. You won’t regret that either, even if you don’t put it out there for the rest of the world. It sounds to me as though you’re a writer, which means writing brings you personal satisfaction and helps you grow. Your strength is evident here on this page.

  13. I spent years as a direct activist working for many environmental causes. Now I try to live the change I want to see. I stopped being an activist as such because my anger level got to be too much to manage.
    So, what is the name of the book about Kole and is it out already? I’m confused. Is there a ‘Last Good Man’ series?
    I loved The Last Good Man, btw. I reviewed it here: http://www.noveltruths.blogspot.com/2012/06/where-heck-did-month-of-june-go.html My blog doesn’t have a lot of followers (although I appear to have a considerable number of lurkers) but I raved, in any case.

    • Okay call me a moron. I was reading / commenting at work and I just reread and realized the name of the Kole book is in your post. Sorry.

      • Call you a moron? Good grief, never. That’s a review to die for, Judy. Thanks so much for stopping in, and thanks for reading and reviewing. Now I have to track down what Barbara said about THE LAST GOOD MAN on FB. I love her books! (Doesn’t everyone?)

  14. Na S. says:

    If it means not hurting my love ones then I am willing to take the risk. For me, it’s part instinct and part facts. I don’t like going into something without having some sort of information but that’s when people can get hurt. I like to think that worthwhile things can be risky and tough but that doesn’t mean it’s impossible or that I have to compromise who I am to do it. I try to make a difference every day in small ways. It could be from doing a good deed, making someone smile or recycling. 🙂

  15. donna harris says:

    I’m one for don’t tell me something that I can’t repeat. Because I’m alway afraid that I will leak it out. This way I don’t know anything that I would regret to say. I don’t lie because it’s hard to keep track of. You tell the first lie, then you have to tell the second one and so forth. After awhile it’s hard to remember what you said. I’m one if someone ask me something I’ll tell them. I never like to hurt someone’s feeling, so I try to do it in a kind way. I did once in anger let something out that I shouldn’t have. I was going thru a divorce and his sister got in my face, which I hate, and I blurted out “you think you are so goodie good shoes trying to tell everyone your son (I said his name) is John’s (her husband) but he is Mickey’s son. Forgetting that my sons were upstairs listening. Still to this day, 21 yrs ago, I regret saying that. But I have to keep telling myself that nobody is perfect.

  16. Mindi bell says:

    Taking risks–wow, I feel like the past 6 months have been taking risks. We are moving from family and and friends in Tennessee to my husbands new job in Texas. 12 hours away from family. I am putting my career on hold and hoping to find a new career as mommy!

Leave a Reply

