Christie’s Top Five Things About Summer

It’s summer, and the living is easy! Here are my Top Five Favorite Summer Things:

1. The sounds of kids in a pool. Mine are old enough that I don’t have to eagle eye them when they’re splashing about in the back yard, but I still enjoy the sound of it. It used to be noodles and submarine toys, now it’s volleyball and frisbee games. The dog gets in the act too. In summer, Surfer Guy doesn’t complain about all the canine fur in the filter!

2. The smell of meat on the grill. I live in SoCal, so this is a year-round method of cooking, but summer adds its own spice. Hard to beat lime-marinated chicken breasts, but in the end, not sure anything is better than the smell of hot dogs.

3. Summer fruit on the tongue. Let’s argue the merits of peaches, plums, and apricots. Can we throw avocados in? (Though they’re great and available year round.) We have new fruit trees in pots after years of struggling with some in the ground that did not make it. Plums are luscious, peaches not in yet. But for real summer eating, it’s got to be watermelon. Thank you, the genius who came up with seedless. And those small, round ones. I could drown in that flavor!

4. Fourth of July parades. Where I grew up there was a biggie on the Fourth. My uncle would park his truck on the route the night before and then we’d go watch the next day. Shriners on little bikes. Tiny girls throwing batons. Horses in silver get-up! You can’t do better than a marching band playing something patriotic.

5. The feel of sand beneath your feet. Here in SoCal we have many varieties, from the silty smooth stuff, to the more grainy variety that feels like corn meal. When Son1 was little, he hated the sensation of it against his bare toes, but today he likes nothing better than to play volleyball on the beach barefoot. Summer means the grit of it everywhere: in the car, in the shower, but who cares? It means we’ve been having fun.

Bonus! Surfer Guy and I stayed up way too late last night listening to summer songs (I’m building a play list for my summer-set books, first titled BEACH HOUSE NO. 9) and sun-and-fun music is another summer fave. There’s Katy Perry’s “California Gurls,” Don Henley’s “The Boys of Summer,” anything by The Beach Boys. For a little sweet melancholy, try “California Promises,” a Steve Goodman tune best covered by Jimmy Buffett.

Do you have a favorite thing about summer? Feel free to suggest a summer song for my playlist!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Christie’s Top Five Things About Summer

  1. Cindy Gerard says:

    Oh, Chrisite, you make me smile with all those summer thoughts. Watermelon is right up there with my favorite things. Lightning bugs, my grands in their swimsuits, smelling like sun screen, their little butt cheeks peeking out, tan lines and water droplets glistening on their eyelashes … and of course their smiles.

  2. christieridgway says:

    We don’t have lightning bugs here! So jealous. Love your thoughts on your grandkids. Summer smiles are the best!

  3. michelehauf says:

    I love that you and your guy listen to music together!
    My favorite thing is sitting on the deck after dark with the patio twinkle lights turned on (tucked within the vines and along the top). Enchanting!

    • christieridgway says:

      We alternate “pulls” on youtube. Listened to a bunch of different stuff last night… From Freddie Mercury to Katy Perry!

  4. Leanne Banks says:

    Christie, love your list! We have lightning bugs and honeysuckle and east coast oldie beach music — Drifters, Tams…Great nostalgia songs!

  5. Nancy Northcott says:

    Christie, that’s a great list. I love watermelon and corn on the cob, but my very favorite summer food is a tomato sandwich made with a vine-ripened tomato from the back yard, brown bread, and a little mayo and salt.

    I also love seeing the fireflies at night.

    • christieridgway says:

      Our tomatoes are coming in like crazy. Picking every day. Did have a bit of a “hmm” yesterday when a neighbor dog visited and peed on the plant.

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    Favorites about summer? Oh let me count them 🙂
    1–School is out! My time is my own which includes sleeping in. Heaven!
    2–Flowers and digging in the dirt.
    3–My easy-breezy summer routine of exercising while I plot and then breakfast on the patio as I read the paper, and then off to the computer.
    4–Vacation with my family. The kids always sucker us into taking them somewhere. This year it’s a lake house. At least I don’t have to fly them across the country this year. Let us give thanks!
    5–Busy weekends and week-long travels interspersed throughout the summer.
    6–Boating. We always do a three day boat trip on the Mississippi with friends. About 8 boats usually. It’s a blast.
    7–RWA and other workshops. This year I’m going to the Sirchie Academy, which is an evidence collection course normally conducted for law enforcement. They’re doing one just for writers in July. Can’t wait! DH is coming along so we’ll have a mini vacay for ourselves along the way.

    • christieridgway says:

      That Academy sounds so cool! I want to go even though I don’t write romantic suspense. Your summer plans sound outstanding.

  7. loisgreiman says:

    Summer is all about mornings for me. Before the rest of the world wakes up, when the sky is rosy and the day is mine. Racing horses through the mists and up the hills into the sunlight is like flying for me.

  8. Minna says:

    Summer song? Lähtisitkö by Pave Maijanen:

  9. PatriciaW says:

    I’m with you on everything except #4. I like parades but coming from up north, I still much prefer them in crisp, fall or early spring weather than the heat of summer.

    Add Will Smith’s Summertime to your playlist.

Leave a Reply

