Debra – BetterBookTitles.com

Admittedly, I’m a shut-in.  There are bars on my office door and they don’t let me out much.  It’s not my fault really.  On days when I just have to “get out,” I’ll take a flyer on a website.  (I fondly remember the days of surfing.  No time for that anymore, but I do still remember the joy of leaping from site-to-site, following a trail of breadcrumbs to who-knew-where.)

Tonight I was tired of looking for art for covers.  Stock art can actually be mind-numbingly boring after an hour or two of filling lightboxes of bits and pieces that might someday become a cover.  So…having put in 10 hours already today, I remembered that I’d seen something about “BetterBookTitles.com” which is a site that parodies book titles.  Readers submit books for consideration.

Animal Farm, according to BBT, would be better as: If you give a pig a windmill, he’ll pursue absolute power.  (submitted by Tyler Snodgrass)

In my opinion, truer words were never spoken. I went.  I laughed.  And I’d like to share some of my faves with you.  (Well, not my real faves because those titles were irreverent and contained 4 letter words and this blog is g-rated.  Dammit.)

If you can’t guess the original book, I’ve got the original titles matched with the new at the bottom of the blog.

The Reason There Are Christmas Presents = The Gift of the Magi

If You Give a Pig… = Animal Farm

The Satanic Purses = The Devil Wears Prada

Infinite Footnotes = Infinite Jest

There Will Be Blood = What to Expect When You’re Expecting.

Never Flirt With Puppy Killers = Of Mice and Men

Texas Public Schools = Fahrenheit 451

Ghost Dad = Hamlet

Check out www.BetterBookTitles.com and let me know your faves.  Or retitle a classic for us!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Debra – BetterBookTitles.com

  1. OMG (did I really type those 3 letters together?) I love this! So many good ones, but I’ll submit I RAN AWAY BUT I’M BACK NOW because every time I taught that book, I’d ask myself how I could get these kids to identify with this kid.

    Your list had me laughing out loud (can’t bring myself to do the 3 letter thing twice in one comment). You picked the best g-rated ones. I encourage everyone to take a ride on the link.

    • debradixon says:

      Kathy– I laughed too. And this was one of those sites I loved exploring. So glad you found it funny. (g) Humor is so subjective but who wouldn’t love THE SATANIC PURSES. 🙂 So clever.

  2. loisgreiman says:

    Good stuff here. But like you, Deb, no time to check out others. Must write book….and a million other things.

    • debradixon says:

      Lois– I do miss surfing. The discover of things you didn’t even know you were interested in. Sparks the imagination. Heck, I’d just like to be able to find and follow a few select, incredible blogs that aren’t industry related!

  3. Kylie Brant says:

    LOL, Deb, hilarious! And I agree, looking at cover art makes me want to gouge my eyes out after a while.

  4. Leanne says:

    Debra, I love the What To Expect When You’re Expecting! TOOOOO funny!:) (and so true!)

Leave a Reply

