Celebrity Thrill!

Okay, he might not be George Clooney or Brad Pitt, but I sat within twelve feet of a singing and sorta-dancing Keith Carradine last night…and he was great!

Surfer Guy and I went to see a new American musical titled “Hands on a Hardbody” based on a 1997 documentary of the same name. (BTW, had perfect view of the solar eclipse on the way to the theater). It tells the story of 10 contestants trying to win a hardbody truck. The contest requires the participants keep a hand on it at all times…the last one still touching the truck wins it.

I predict it will go to Broadway, as did several of the other playgoers around me. What makes it work is that the 10 people all have different life stories and motivations for wanting the truck and we get to learn about them and they learn about each other during the course of the contest. I thought the songs were great. There might be a little more they could do on the dancing end, but they have some imaginative choreography–remember, the people have to keep one hand on the vehicle at all times.

Completely fun night at the theater! We have season tickets and sit in the front row, center, so I really felt as if they were performing exclusively for me. And we got to drink wine during the performance! This is new. They used to only allow you to drink in the lobby and outside before the play and during intermission but now you can bring your drink to your seat. We wondered if they were trying to keep up with concert venues, but no, they said: “We just want to sell more wine.” Hey, it was much better than trying to drink a glass quickly during the brief intermission.

This is the same theater that introduced “Jersey Boys,” “Thoroughly Modern Millie,” and “Memphis” (among others) before Broadway. I’d say another winner!

I’ve been so busy this is the first theater I’ve been to in ages. What have you seen at the movies? I haven’t yet been to “The Avengers” and I think I might really like it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Celebrity Thrill!

  1. Liz Flaherty says:

    I LOVE Keith Carradine! And I want to see “The Avengers,” though I’m not big on going to movies because I always fall asleep as soon as I finish my popcorn.

    • christieridgway says:

      Liz: They even worked a Kung Fu reference into the play–everyone laughed, even though it was his brother, David Carradine who was in that TV show. But the Kevin character gets some advice and the advisor says something to the effect of “Listen to me, little Grasshopper.”

  2. michelehauf says:

    It does sound like an interesting play, Christie!

    The hubby and I actually went to the Avengers yesterday afternoon. But. The film burned out during the previews, and apparently those are on the same reel as the movie. (How quickly I forget that movies are still on film!) So they promised it would be fixed. half an hour later, the hubby and I gave up waiting and left. Never did find out if the movie played, but maybe we weren’t meant to see it!

    • christieridgway says:

      That exact thing happened to us years ago when we went to see Ben Affleck in “Daredevil.” It’s a bummer when you’re all prepared for something and get stymied.

  3. kylie brant says:

    Haven’t seen any movies lately, but have seen the Jersey Boys twice…loved it both times! NY was better than Chicago, I think.

  4. loisgreiman says:

    Saw Dark Shadows. It was a little creepy and not funny enough for me. Hmmm.

  5. I agree with Kylie–Jersey Boys was better in NYC than Chicago. I want to go see The Avengers because my kids all loved it!

    Last week we saw Johnny Depp’s latest and I enjoyed him a lot. His amazingly talented hands are like a whole ‘nuther character–so expressive! I hadn’t seen the TV shows of the past, and left feeling as though there should have been better-developed supblots for the secondary characters, and the big revelation about one of them was glossed over and really could have been fun if given more time. But that said, I did enjoy it.

    The play sounds great, Christie!

  6. christieridgway says:

    Gotta get to The Avengers. I’m a little scared of Dark Shadows, though.

  7. Leanne says:

    Christie, it sounds like you had one of those magical experiences!:) I haven’t seen any movies lately, but I’d like to see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel! I wonder if my husband could endure it.:)

Leave a Reply

