My pontifications on aging…and making a difference

I think I may have mentioned lately that I MIGHT be aging. So sad. But here’s something that may actually be sadder. My Hollywood heroes are aging, too. Who would have thought THAT would happen? Robert Redford for instance. Do you remember him back in the day? He was the epitome of pretty. And now what has he got? Just a few million (billion?) dollars in the bank, a platform for launching new artists, and the ability to make a difference by being on the board of the Natural Resources Defense Council.

His former friend and mentor, Paul Newman, looked like this (yikes) is now deceased and has raised over $100 million dollars for charity. He is quoted as having said that he was a little embarrassed to learn that his salad dressing was earning more than his movies. So…apparently he also had a sense of humor.

Audrey Hepburn. I always thought she was the cutest thing ever born. Her movie, Charade, with Cary Grant, is still one of my all time favorites. But did you know that she was born in Belgium and, according to the New York Times, helped the resistance (after the Nazis invaded) by delivering messages? Later in life, she made over 50 trips around the world as a diplomat for UNICEF and child humanitarianism.

George Clooney-okay, I’m not actually sure he’s aging. But besides looking like a wet dream in a suit, he seems deeply committed to improving conditions in Darfur as well as several other humanitarian efforts. Favorite movies: Oh Brother Where Art Thou and Out of Sight with Jennifer Lopez

So what do you think? Is it enough to be pretty and talented or should our Hollywood idols be expected to make a difference in the world, too? And if we have such expectations for THEM, what should we require of ourselves? (And a new concern: Why are there so few women on my heroes list?) Any thoughts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My pontifications on aging…and making a difference

  1. Laney4 says:

    Sorry. Can’t answer your question. Got to the picture of George Clooney (MY hero), and I haven’t gotten past it yet. (Drool)

  2. loisgreiman says:

    Right? There might be some kind of dark magic going on that keeps Clooney looking like that.

  3. CateS says:

    All you have to do is look at George’s father…. Nick… there is something to genetics!!

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    Intriguing post, Lois. I don’t think that ‘altruism’ or nobility necessarily comes with the title of ‘idol’ but I do think it’s a nice trait. My problem is more with an ‘adoring’ public that idolizes so many ‘stars’ who behave badly. I hate to see that kind of person rewarded – but I love it when the Clooney’s of the world show what a true icon is capable of.

  5. Leanne says:

    Well, for starters, you began with a lie. I’ve seen you and you are NOT aging!:) Why aren’t there as many women idols on your list? Perhaps because women idols may not get as much press and we may not even know what some of our idols are doing. Just a thought….

  6. michelehauf says:

    I would add Princess Diana to your heroine’s list for her work against land mines.

  7. Linda says:

    Aging? that is all in the mind. Okay and sometimes the body too when we realize that we cannot do some of the things we used to be able to do. It is shocking sometimes to see our idols age. But have you noticed that men age gracefully. As for being altruistic I think that depends on how the actors/actresses were raised and how much of prima donas they are. I have noticed that fewer and fewer of the younger “stars” think they are just entitled and don’t have to give back. Oh well we can still drool over legends like Sean Connery.

  8. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks Leanne, but I know YOU know better.

  9. loisgreiman says:

    Sean Connery is amazing. But I haven’t heard great things about him and women.

  10. debradixon says:

    Geez! Paul Newman looked like that back in the day when folks didn’t spend every waking moment at the gym. Talk about some good genes! And sensible eating. Active lifestyle. Still…yummy.

    Everyone should make a difference. Celeb or not. It’s never enough to just be pretty. Take me for example… (g)

    No, seriously, I think everyone should look around and decide what they want in the world and pick *something.* Anything. And then do *something.* Anything.

  11. loisgreiman says:

    Well put, Deb. There are lots of things that need doin’ to go around.

  12. Kylie Brant says:

    I learned to love Paul Newman from my mom and grandma. Sigh. Soooo pretty! I don’t think stars are expected to make a difference, but when they do take an active interest in helping the less fortunate I certainly think more of them…that they’re more than a pretty face, which makes me like their movies more.

  13. christieridgway says:

    Love those photos! Was at Costco the other day and saw they have Newman’s Own Keurig Coffee now. He’s working hard beyond the grave!

    I always think of Spiderman’s uncle: “With great power comes great responsibility.” People making that kind of money and who have that kind of clout should be going out into the world and doing good things. Heck, I have neither but have volunteered in a lot of capacities over the years. Giving back is good!

  14. Great post. We were just talking about how an entire generation of wonderful entertainers has passed away or drifted out of the spotllght–people like Madeline Kahn, Gene Wilder, Bernadette Peters. Amazing talents. But whatever their gifts, it’s wonderful when a star used his or her star power for good. Angelina Jolie comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

