Passion

Passion-my weekend was full of it…but maybe not the kind you’re thinking. Here’s how it went: On Friday I attended an event we Minnesotans lovingly refer to as the Expo. It’s held at the fairgrounds and stars every kind of horse imaginable. Plus, there are workshops on equine disciplines from dressage to cattle sorting. It’s an equestrian’s Mecca.

But I spent my Saturday in an entirely different manner. I went to the Midwest Mountaineer’s open house. My elder son, a hiking, camping, mountain climbing aficionado, wanted to experience the fever and I agreed to go along. I enjoyed it immensely, partly because I love those things too, but partly because the enthusiasm of the  crowd that milled around the canoes and freeze dried mashed potato dinners and toed running shoes (my personal favorite) was palpable. I soaked in the granola flavored zeal, considered buying an $80 Merino wool t-shirt (are you serious?) and was dragged away before I drank the proverbial Kool Aid.

Then on Sunday, to cap off the weekend, we did a little mall hopping and ended up at a yoyo competition. The entire event was manned by…boys. J I kid you not, there was not a female in sight. Their performances were set to music. The tricks were complex and amazing and performed by competitors who had all the earmarks of starry eyed zealots. I milled through the crowd for a while, admired the prowess of the artists and tried to imagine becoming a disciple, but try as I might, I couldn’t really.

Still, the whole weekend got me to realize how powerful and alluring true passion is. Honestly, without that kind of titillating ardor, I’m not sure how or why people get up in the morning. Granted, true passion will often break your heart, but for me it’s also what keeps my heart pumping.

So how about you? Do you have a passion that makes you go weak in the knees. Please share. I think there’s something irresistible about a true zealot.

www.loisgreiman.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Passion

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    Lois, my sister has always been a zealot for the outdoors. An avid kayaker, she sends these jaw- droppingly beautiful photos from Idaho, Utah, New Zealand, etc. where she kayaks pristine waters in achingly gorgeous spots. I tend to focus on the beauty of the pis and forget the stamina needed for days of paddling, camping (:( ) and peeing outdoors, LOL. I guess I have a passion for her passion…but I doubt I’d summon the endurance to join her!

  2. loisgreiman says:

    🙂 But for just a moment, Kylie, don’t you think YEAH! I wanna do THAT? Cuz they make it look so wonderful.

  3. Leanne says:

    Lois, what a great weekend you had! You didn’t buy the wool t-shirt? I might have been too swept away NOT to buy it! I would have loved to have seen that yo-yo competition!!!:) GREAT BLOG!:)

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    fun, fun, fun. Next time drink the kool-aide! I give you permission.
    I’ve had many different passions. Some burn out, sum still simmer in the background with a little glowing ember. A few years ago I finally got into pottery. I LOVED it. The clay, the slurry, the extruder, the raw fingers, but ah, the fun of mixing it up with my hands. I eventually had to stop because the writing just got too demanding but I really miss it and hope to get back into it some day. As I’ve posted here, my new passion is fish. I love my aquarium and plan to get another one set up as soon as I finish my wip! It’s a very intricate hobby (Must keep the bioload and chemistry in the water in check) and a little time consuming at first but the rewards are well worth it.

  5. loisgreiman says:

    One of my passions used to be fish, too, Cindy. But it takes a lot of energy to fuel passions and I guess I didn’t have strong enough feelings about that one.

  6. Linda says:

    Fortunately for me one of my biggest passions allows me to make a living. Animals… all shapes, sizes, species, colors and variations. I have been enthralled with them since I was very young, and just knew from the time I was 9 that I was going to be a vet to take care of the animals. Now I do that but I also go hiking and exploring out and about to take pictures of wildlife and well any critter really. I really do not think this passion will ever wane for me as I find new things to do and be with animals all the time. I have other things I like to do but some how, some way animals always get involved in them.

  7. What a great topic! I love doing what you did this weekend, Lois. It’s so much fun to explore the myriad realms of interest that excite people. It doesn’t matter whether I’ll ever take the plunge. Enthusiasm, persistence, people doing what they love–just watching makes you feel good about, well, people. Plus, it’s all grist for the mill.

  8. Kathleen O says:

    I am not a sports adventure kind of person. But when I am out of doors.. I love to visit little towns and villages.. Go into all the uniquel little stores and shops.. you never know what you will find..Also I love Farmers Markets and those little side road stops where someone may be selling flowers, or fruits and vegtables… Now that the good weather, I hope, is here, I will be able to find or revisit some of my favourite out of the way towns and villiages…

  9. michelehauf says:

    I found a new passion yesterday. Took out the hubby’s Weed Hound and used it to pluck dandelions from the yard. Love! (But I won’t tell him that. Heaven forbid, he should expect me to do it all the time.) 😉

  10. loisgreiman says:

    Linda, I just took one of my mares to the vet today and thought…it might be fun to spend day after day there, learning about and caring for horses. What kind of practice do you have?

    • Linda says:

      now I am working in a small animal practice. but have started to see small rumminants (mainly goats) after hours.Still take care of family and friends horses and other myriad of animals, Would love to get back to doing a mixed animal practice just don’t see it happening any time soon though.

  11. loisgreiman says:

    Kathy, saw your wonderful husband and daughter at the expo. Fun.

  12. Your weekend sounds wonderful, Lois! What fun–and so varied, too. I would love to visit the MN Expo someday. My passions, outside of writing, are photography, travel, and horses. This week wasn’t such a good one for the horses–one of our paint mares nearly died foaling and we did lose the foal. It was a terrible day, seeing what she went through. On the upside, I arranged to buy a dark palomino AQHA mare this week–roadsafe, trailsafe, so we will have a lot of fun with her in the future. I’ve always said that I’ll want my favorite saddles in my room at a nursing home when I am old and gray!

Leave a Reply

