End of Television Season

There’s always so much anticipation for spring and warm weather, that I always tend to forget it also means the end of the few television shows I watch, and the return of re-runs.  Although I’ll watch favorite movies over and over again (A Few Good Men was on again last night.  Sigh.), re-runs tend to defy the law of averages.  It’s guaranteed if I only saw a show twice all year, the one re-run I watch of it will invariably be of one of those episodes. The television tends to stay off all summer as a result.

The last episode of the season for Justified aired last week.  Which means ten whole months without Timothy Oliphant.  However shall I cope???  If you’ve missed the series, it stars T.O. as United States Deputy Marshal Raylan Givens, a gun-toting fast shooting deputy marshal who locks up bad guys and leaves bodies in his wake.  Based on a short story by Elmore Leonard, Givens is the kind of character we all hope to create and his hillbilly roots provide an engrossing backdrop to the non-stop action.  On FX, this show has one of those weird season start dates I can never get used to.  It begin mid-January and is already over for the year.

I’m also a fan of The Good Wife, starring Julianna Margulies.  In its third season, the show never runs out of twists and turns.  This season Margulies’s character did an abrupt about face and left her role as the long suffering wife standing by the side of her disgraced philandering politician husband.  She indulged in a steamy relationship with a co-worker with whom she has had long simmering chemistry. But it’s her relationship with fellow worker Kalinda Scott that really steals the show.  The unlikely friendship between perfect wife Alyssa Flooric and sexually ambiguous Scott grew slowly over the first season, to explode after Flooric discovered the other woman was one of the legions who had sex with Flooric’s cheating husband.  The two women make the show one to watch.

I’ve done more than my share of online drooling over Mark Harmon on NCIS, which will soon air its last episode of the season.  But it’s really the cast of characters that make the forensics law enforcement series a hit.  Add the wise-cracking Anthony DiNozzo, the mysterious Massad agent Ziva David, the slightly nerdy Timothy McGee and the goth scientist Abby, and you’ve got an irresistible character combination.  And hey, I’ve been wanting to see Gibbs get laid as much as anyone (AHEM), but Jamie Lee Curtis is not his type and she is going to let him down, after which I’ll have to hurt her.  Just sayin’.

The Killing on AMC just began its season this month.  If you haven’t been following it, this is only season 2 and it’s well worth a watch.  It follows one young girl’s murder investigation in the perpetually rainy Seattle.  Every time the case focuses on the wrong person, more tragedy ensues.  Intriguing characters include tortured homicide detective Sarah Linden, who’s a less than perfect mother to corrupt partner Stephen Holder, who has been unable to kick drugs since his narc days.  It’s not always comfortable to watch, but it’s absolutely riveting.  And having just started its season this month, I’ll have something to look forward to when the rest of the TV seasons end!

Do you mourn the end of the regular season of TV?  What shows are you sad to say goodbye to until the fall?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to End of Television Season

  1. Cindy Gerard says:

    Kylie – you’ve listed 3 of my most favorite TV serieses ever! And I’m with you. I don’t know if I can make it until next January without my weekly doses of Timothy Olyphant. What a man, what a man, what a mighty fine man
    I have the Killing tapes on DVD and am waiting to watch it this summer on those off moments when I do turn the TV on.
    I’m also sad to say good by to The Closer when that season is over and In Plain Sight which will be ending the entire series this year :o( Mary McCormick plays one of the strongest, snarkiest, funniest female leads to ever be created for TV.
    Another show I loved was Prime Suspect – NBC, but got canceled. Think it was too gritty for network TV – which brings me to Southland. It also couldn’t find an audience on network but moved to Cable and is doing great. Another fantastic series that I’m going to miss during the summer..

    • kylie brant says:

      You turned me on to a lot of my favorite series! I made John watch The Killing last night and he didn’t get it so I recommend starting at the beginning to get its full brilliance. I do think season two is slower though. In Plain Sight was great but I had a hard time finding it. I liked Prime Suspect a lot too. Sad it got canceled. Still mad that they canceled Detroit 187 last year!

  2. My sister has been telling about The Killing and I almost bought the 1st season on DVD at Target the other day. Guess I should’ve because it sounds like my kind of show.

  3. Linda says:

    Summer TV is the pits and yes definitely will miss Justified and TO over the summer but thankfully have the first two seasons on DVD! Agree with Cindy on going to miss both Prime Suspect and the Closer after the seasons end as they are ending the series. But hopefully my favorite authors will have plenty of books out for me to read sitting outside this summer.

  4. kylie brant says:

    Tonya , it’s really good but you do need to start with episode 1!

  5. jeanniek63 says:

    I love NCIS……There is a chemistry between the cast that just makes this a top show. Mark Harmon is exceptional and I agrre Jamie Lee is a bad choice for a love interest!!! I to hate to see the closer end I will need to buy up the dvds so I can enjoy the gang from time to time. There is a show on Sunday nights called GAC. Not sure if it will survive but being from Texas I find it absolutly over the top funny. How did I miss Justified……will need to look it up on the re-runs.

    • kylie brant says:

      Jeannie, I hope you can catch Justified but I don’t think they do re-runs 😦 Also you can’t catch shows you missed on Hulu or FX. Have to pay for them. Grrr. They do that with The Killing, too. Really irritates me!

  6. Gail Nichold says:

    I am missing Justified big time but I love the new season of Game Of Thrones and I know that True Blood and Sons Of Anarchy are not far behind.

    • kylie brant says:

      Gail, Cindy was telling me about Game of Thrones. Sounds intriguing!

      • Maria Hammon says:

        GOT is awesome, but you need to start in the first season with the first episode. I can’t imagine trying to figure out what is happening now without knowing what happened then. Also, they keep it real, so it will surprise and infuriate you at times. Just sayin’ (as you would say).

  7. loisgreiman says:

    I’m still upset about shows that were cancelled years ago, but recently I just haven’t had time to watch TV. So sad. I loooove TV.

  8. michelehauf says:

    Wow, I haven’t seen any of those shows! Don’t have cable though, so have to wait for it to show on Netflix. I did just start watching MadMen and am not overly impressed yet. Will give it a few more episodes before I decide not to watch.
    I pine for Breaking Bad. It is SO good. And Weeds! And what about Sherlock? Oh, Moriarity!
    Otherwise, House and Bones keep me pretty happy.

  9. kylie brant says:

    Michele, I couldn’t get into Mad Men either. I guess I just don’t want to go back to a time when men could treat women like second class citizens. I just wanted to punch the male leads.

  10. Sara says:

    Grimm, NCIS, Once Upon a Time, and I’ve already said goodbye to The Walking Dead until October. Unfortunately, at the end of this season new episodes of House and Eurika are over forever. After reading eveyone else’s posts, I think I should try watching Justified.

  11. Sara says:

    I think I may watch too much television

  12. I’m a Mad Men fan. I’m hoping young women tune in for Jon Hamm and stay tuned in to realize that yes, we’ve come a long way, and, no, we don’t want to go back there. I cringe when I hear feminism and feminists demonized. I’m a pretty good student of American history, but I didn’t realize what our Suffragette grandmothers had gone through until I saw “Iron Jawed Angels” on TV. I’m afraid women are forgetting what it was like, and the younger ones never knew first hand.

    When I watch a show about the 60’s, I get nostalgic about some things–the music, the clothes, the protesters (yes, the protesters)–and remember some things I can’t believe we put up with. Cigarette smoke, for one thing. Cough, cough! Yes, kids, it really was like that.

  13. kylie brant says:

    Kathleen, exactly! We don’t get nostalgic for the way things used to be when it comes to equal rights and anti-discrimination.

  14. Leanne says:

    Modern Family. I’m always so sad when it’s a repeat.:) Great topic Kylie!

  15. Laurie M says:

    Love, love Castle! Ihave watched from the first season and first episode. I bought seasons 1,2,3 on video on demand on Amazon so I could watch them all again! Fun! I’m waiting for season4 to end so it will be for sale too.
    My other shows I keep up with watching online are The New Girl, Raising Hope, and Bones.
    I don’t have cable either so I just see the basic channels.
    I tried to hook up by old VCR player yesterday, but hooked up some cords incorrectly so now I can’t even get my tv on.
    It’s been pretty quiet in my house since I’m tvless. I read all the time. I am quickly reading bks on my kindle. Fun!

Leave a Reply

