Do you Etsy?

I did make a promise to my husband recently that I would reduce my online shopping significantly.  You see, I’ve developed a bit of a habit.  It’s called Etsy.  Have you been there?  I can lose an hour scanning the offerings, easily.  It’s an amazing online community of craftspeople and artisans.  You can find everything from vintage clothing and jewelry to rocks or bath products, car parts, wall hangings, papergoods, and supplies to make your own creations.  I tend to order jewelry, though I did pick up a snazzy Turkish scarf (made in Turkey, even) for the RT conference.

For example, look at these rocks.  Rocks with natural holes in them.  I mean, who doesn’t want those?  Think of all the things you could do with them!

And how clever is this?  Someone makes purses out of books.  There are actually many someones on Etsy who do this.  I am saving my pennies!

I really need this vintage map too.  Because…  Well, just because.  Do we need to explain ourselves when shopping?  I don’t think so.

So, do you Etsy?  What are your weaknesses?  And if you haven’t checked it out yet, go!  It’s fun, and you’ll be amazed at all the unique and wondrous creations.

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Do you Etsy?

  1. mjfredrick says:

    I LOVVVVVE Etsy! My weakness is jewelry. My favorite shop is Fat Cat Studios. http://www.etsy.com/shop/fatcatjewelrystudio She makes jewelry out of old tins. I have 3-4 pair of earrings and a necklace and am thinking about getting a new necklace since my bday is coming up! But yes, you can spend HOURS there!

  2. Willa says:

    I adore Etsy . . . it simultaneously sucks the time and the pennies out of you . . . but always leaves you happy and marvelling at the creativity 🙂

    Being an avid knitter I spend a lot of time in the Indie Yarns shops – my fave is http://www.etsy.com/shop/SolsticeYarns . . . colours and bases to die for ♥ I have a collection of her yarns to rival my books – heeeeeeeeeee!

  3. Kylie Brant says:

    Ooh, Michele, I’m on my way to check it out. Love the different artisans to choose from. And if they sell crafted glassware my fate is sealed!

  4. Oh, Michele, you devil. Go back to talking up cruel shoes. I can resist those. My mind is saying no no no, but my fingers are itching. Itching, I tell you!

  5. Leanne says:

    Michele, love that purse! Just too cute and fun!:) I do etsy every now and then, but I’m holding the line at the moment! I love the creativity of the items!:)

  6. I went. I saw. I registered. Your fault, Miss M.

  7. michelehauf says:

    Ha! I have another victi—er, fellow shopper for Etsy.

  8. Cindy Gerard says:

    Sounds like a great place for me to stay away from! I actually found a woman who makes those purses. I had 2 made from book covers – one I have donated to the Brenda Novak Juvenile diabetes auction and one that I kept. Love it.

  9. This sounds toooo tempting. I am already hooked on Amazon and eBay, so I’m afraid to venture over to Etsy,. But ahhhh, the temptation!!!!! What fun it would be!

  10. And I ordered.
    Seriously cool. Planning penguin themed birthday party for #1 gd–it’s always penguin season, right?–got 1 doz assorted penguin buttons/pins (gd wants name tags!) for $3.72 + $2 postage. Can’t beat that!

    Stop chuckling, Michele. I see that glint in your eye.

  11. catslady says:

    My daughter buys gifts there because she is also an artist and likes to support other fellow artists.

  12. librarypat says:

    We have acquaintances that sell on Etsy, but I tend not to buy much on line. I have been disappointed with too many items I have ordered in the past.

  13. I didn’t know they had maps! Restoration Hardware has maps, all antique-y looking and frighteningly expensive. I am off to Etsy to see about their maps – thanks for the heads up. Love this sharing community!

  14. Pingback: What is Etsy? « Deb's Answers

  15. scrapsecrets says:

    Michele, thank you for writing this post! I opened my shop on Etsy a couple of months ago. I’ve also bought from other shop owners. I have to say, Etsy has some amazingly creative things and the shop owners have all been wonderful. It’s a great place to not only shop, but to be a seller as well! – Michele

Leave a Reply

