New Life For an Award-Winning Book and a Prize

The Last Good Man - print

THE LAST GOOD MAN is born again!  New look, new formats, new life for a book that was:

USA Today Bestseller
Winner of the Rendezvous Online “Rosebud” Award
Minnesota Book Award Finalist
Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Finalist
Library Journal ‘s “Five Best Romances of 2000”

I’m proud of all my books, but this one holds a special place in my heart.  It’s the story of a young woman’s return to the small Wyoming town she’d left far behind on her way to fame, fortune, and the cover of Lady Elizabeth’s Dreamwear Catalog.  But gaining a child and losing a breast have changed Susannah’s life, and her hometown is both last resort and hope for restoration.  And who is the title character?  The cowboy with the strong arms, gentle hands, steadfast heart is the man she left behind.  And he’s also the brother of her daughter’s father.

Check it out at Amazon, where it’s available as an e-book and trade paperback and Barnes & Noble, which is offering a good price on the paperback.

I’ve made 3 boards on my Pinterest page with pictures that remind me of scenes and details from THE LAST GOOD MAN.  Some of my favorite settings come from a quad-state area—the Dakotas, Montana and Wyoming.  I’ve always loved the West, and I’ve spent many years living, working and vacationing in those four states.  The landscape is powerful, unforgiving, and incomparably beautiful.  It tests the mettle of its inhabitants, especially the women.  But once it claims your heart—as it did mine when I was, no kidding, about six years old—it never releases it, no matter where you go.

prairie7

Tell me about the place, the landscape that holds your heart.  You know the beauty in many places, but I’ll bet there’s one in particular that calls to you.  Maybe not the last call, but the best.  I’ll draw one comment and send its author a $5 Amazon gift certificate.

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in book release, Kathleen Eagle, Pinterest, prize, The Last Good Man, wyoming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to New Life For an Award-Winning Book and a Prize

  1. laurieg72 says:

    My husband and I fell in love with Port Angeles, Washington and Olympic National Park almost 35 years ago. We camped amidst the huge evergreen trees and hiked up to snow covered mountain tops. We overlooked immense glaciers at Hurricane Ridge. We loved the view of Vancouver Island and the beautiful waters of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. We ate delicious Dungenous crab with our fingers while everybody had to wear an ugly bib! Friendly people too. We haven’t been back since Twilight hit the area.

  2. Stonehawk says:

    the landscape that interests me are mountains with snow on them. I love looking at pictures of them from time to time. I can’t say where I like to focus on for mountains with snow on them. I figured Alaska will have to do.

    • Beartooth Pass, traveling from MT to WY in the middle of summer, the kids were amazed to find snow. Hubby stopped and let them check it out in spite of my fears that they’d fall off the mountain. One of the most harrowing drives ever.

  3. Karen says:

    Yosemite holds my heart, the Valley and the backcountry alike. Growing up on the east coast with summer trips to family in California, I visited infrequently. The park has made such an impression that I think of it during moments of stress!

  4. kris says:

    I’m a beach girl. I love any beach and all of them for a variety of reasons.

  5. kylie brant says:

    Kathy, great cover!!! The Debs do such a great job with them! Like Kris, it’s the beach for me. The sight of the sun bleeding into ocean on Cozumel’s horizon is not to be missed. And the turquoise green waters of Punta Cana rimming the blindingly white sand beach….I get homesick for it if I don’t visit often!

  6. CrystalGB says:

    I love the mountains around my parent’s home. It is so breathtaking to sit on the porch and look at the landscape.

  7. Cindy Gerard says:

    Kathy I’m so glad to see this book with a new lease on life and available again. It was an amazing, touching WONDERFUL book that you wrote with such heart. Congratulations.
    For me – my beloved Lake Kabetogama will always hold a special place in my heart. The sound of the water kissing the shore, the water rippling like diamonds in the sun, the cool breeze through the pines. Oh man. I wish I were there now!s

  8. Kathleen O says:

    I am going to be getting this book real soon….
    The place that come to me is the tranquility of sitting on the deck at my brother’s cottage, early in the morning, looking at the sunrise when it looks like diamonds are twinkling on the river below me. This is what peace feels like to me.

  9. So much beauty in the world but one that tugs at my heart is Varenna, Italy up on Lake Como. A tiny town seemingly stapled to a hillside with one road. My husband and I always stay at the same little hotel, and always ask for the same room with a terrace facing the lake. I’m paraphrasing travel writer Rick Steves when I say you can feel your blood pressure drift downwards. The surface of the lake turns to pink satin in the evening, Or maybe that phenomenon occurs while we sit and sip a glass of wine. Some days I ache for the place.

  10. Pearl says:

    Yes, Varenna is special. What hotel did you stay in? My ultimate favorite and beautiful area with scenic vistas that stretch forever is Moraine Lake in The Rockies. Sheer panorama.

    • Adding Moraine Lake to my bucket list, Pearl. I adore a mountain lake. The Land of 10,000 lakes is wonderful, but we have no mountains in MN. Ah, well, each place gets its own, right? That’s what makes the world go ’round.

    • Pearl – We always stay at Albergo Milano (Hotel Milano), Room 2! On a trip with my girlfriends we stayed there but then had to move over to Hotel Villa Cipressi. Lovely also, view is breathtaking, too. Crapola, now I’m really longing for a trip back there.

  11. Ellie says:

    A charming, quaint and memorable town, Levanto, situated right on the sea is a town that stole my heart and soul. The promenade and the beach are incomparable. This obscure, Italian Riviera beach town is unforgettable.

  12. Higgins Pond (no relation), Wellfleet, Massachusetts. When I die, I fully expect heaven to look just like it. Assuming I get to go to heaven, that is!

  13. Marilyn says:

    First, how wonderful your book is getting a new life. And how brave to take on such subject matter (losing a breast). I’ll have to check this out.

    The Great Smoky Mountains are my favorite place, and fortunately my younger son lives there. They are the prettiest mountains I’ve ever seen, including the Alps and the Rockies). I think I like them because they’re so old — older than the Rockies. They’ve withstood the test of time and held their own against the ravages of nature. And yet there they are all green and filled with plants and flowers and animals. Last summer my son took me to a cove waaaaaaaaaaaay back away from civilization where they’ve reintroduced elk. OH. MY. GOSH! We rounded a curve and there stood 2 magnificent elk. And a little while later we saw a mama and two calves. Majestic animals, they are. And the Smoky Mountains are majestic old dowager mountains.

    • It was my sister’s surgery and her blessed recovery that inspired Savannah’s story. Your trip with your son sounds wonderful, Marilyn. Years ago our son took us to a magical hidden place that his archaeology prof introduced him to in the Four Corners area. What a special time.

  14. Stacey Marin says:

    One landscape that had me breathless was Apollo’s Temple in Delpi, Greece. The landscape was gorgeous, and I would love to go back to see it again.

  15. When I was in my early twenties I lived in a small adobe cabin at the base of Flag Mountain North of Taos in the Sangre De Cristo mountains overlooking the Rio Grande river near San Cristobal, New Mexico. The way the land lay and the way the mountains cupped the cabin looked like it was held in the hand of God. The cabin looked like a hobbit hut. The first floor was about ten by twelve feet with hard wood floors and the ceiling beams made from old electric poles grazed my head as I walked beneath. The front door was only four feet high with a round window set in. The bottom of the cabin was adobe and the loft was slanted from North to South with shake siding. I could stand in the loft on the North side but the South with windows that opened to a meadow was three feet high. It was heated by an adobe fire place and an old fashioned wood burning stove. I had running water in a sink with 30 seconds of hot water because of the heat tape. The water from the sink ran from the drain into a five gallon bucket beneath. I had a lovely three seater outhouse with a beautiful picture window facing the mountains and it wouldn’t have been so bad except that the path to the Magic Tortoise Commune ran past it up the mountain and there was often people walking past.

    • Oh, Annette, thank you for this! Taos, Sante Fe–it’s been too long since we visited and traveled that wonderful loop. That was one of our go-to vacation places for many years.

  16. Minna says:

    In my landscape there must be lakes and forests. And we have plenty of those.

  17. leannebanks says:

    Kathleen, I’m so thrilled that your wonderful book is getting a new life!:) How fab for readers everywhere! I love the ocean, the sound of the waves, the power of it, the beauty when the sun shines on it, the dark mystery when the moon shines on it. Whenever I walk on the beach, I just feel like I need to say a prayer in gratitude.

  18. loisgreiman says:

    Such a beautiful cover, K. Congrats.

  19. Virginia says:

    I was raised in a little community called High Bridge which had the oldest and heightest railroad bridge that crossed the river. In the spring and fall it is beautiful standing looking over the river and it will always have a place in my heart because it will always be home to me.

  20. michelehauf says:

    I so love that cover and know the insides are going to be just as good! Congrats on the book, Kathy!

    Oddly, the landscape that most appeals to be is blue icebergs and vast stretches of perfect icy snow. I know. Cabin fever has officially claimed another victim and I am hallucinating. 🙂

  21. barbed1951 says:

    Pictures of the Scottish Highlands always thrill me and make me yearn to be there.

  22. chey says:

    I like to see a view of a lake.

  23. Stephenia says:

    The California coastline – from the sandy beaches in San Diego, the rocky coast line by San Simeon, the redwood trees/crashing wasves/waterfalls in the Big Sur/Carmel area to the foggy harbor in San Francisco. There is something for everyone!

  24. bn100 says:

    I like the views from the French Riviera.

  25. Pamk says:

    the Grand Canyon, the beach of the Gulf coast of Florida, and the bottem of our mountain at the the TN river. Love to visit some of the places everyone mentioned.

Leave a Reply

