My Interest In Pinterest

pinterestboard

I’m a clipper.  I have file folders full of clippings—pictures, news articles, classified ads, and more pictures—that I’ve saved because I might recreate the image in a book, or the article calls out to me What if?, or I wonder who wrote that ad and why.  I’m not terribly organized about this habit—I’m not organized by nature, but occasionally I get in gear—so can end up wasting gobs of time looking for something I’m sure I clipped and filed some time ago.  Sometimes I find it.  Sometimes I don’t.  When I’m working on a book I’ll find and keep a few images handy, but once the project is over, those images get eaten up by my file drawers or maybe even File 13.  You can’t save everything, now, can you?

I’ve admired my friend Jenny Crusie’s collages for years.  (Check these masterpieces out on her website.)  I know lots of writers do this, and I keep meaning to give it a try.  And I surely will.  One of these days.

But now that I’ve discovered Pinterest, I think I’ve found the perfect file cabinet.  I posted about this discovery a couple of weeks ago.  Pinterest is a place to create virtual bulletin boards with images of things you like, places you want to go, things you might make or back or build.  It’s a clipper’s virtual heaven.  But I’m thinking it could be just the thing for a writer whose clippings turn to clutter rather than collage.

And here’s the really nifty part.  I can share the pictures with readers.  I do a little of that on my website or this blog, but with Pinterest, I can put together an image board for the work in progress.  Instead of scattered all over my office, the pictures will be organized, and readers can take a peek.  When the book comes out, the images will be there for all the world to see.

I’m just getting started.  I experimented with the process by making a couple of boards from my own pictures.  Then I decided to search the web for images for scenes from THE LAST GOOD MAN.  There were some pictures around here somewhere.  I had several of the place in the Wyoming hills with the red rocks and the petro glyphs, and there was one of a Main Street, small Western town that could’ve been Sunbonnet, and there were a couple of general stores.  Now where did I put …

images legend-rock-petroglyph IMG_2660[4]

I’m just getting started, and these are my first boards.  I’ve put together several for completed books, including THE LAST GOOD MAN (new formats available soon) and my wild horse sanctuary series.  But I’m starting a new book, and I’m eager to try pinning while I’m penning.  You can make notes under the pictures, which is a handy feature, and anything you use from the web is attributed by a link to the source.  Very handy.

I’m usually the last to come to the party stuff like this, so my discovery is probably news to no one.  But if you’re a pinner, I’d love to see your boards (tell me where to look) and hear about your uses for the site.

Otherwise, what do you do with your clippings and saved bits?  Are you an organized filer, a scrapbooker, a shoe-boxer?  Or is your road to visual inspiration and memories more like mine—paved with good intentions and clutter?

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in Kathleen Eagle, photos, Pinterest, writing, writing process and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Interest In Pinterest

  1. Leanne says:

    Love your pinterest boards! I’m later to this party than you are, but I can see how this could help with writing! Beautiful!!!:) xo, Leanne

  2. michelehauf says:

    That’s so awesome, Kathy! You’ve got some gorgeous pics up there.
    I, too, succumbed to Pinterest, not long after your initial post about it, and I am finding it’s useful to keep pics related to my stories, and am just starting to figure out how to use it to attract readers, and (hopefully) enhance their reading experience. I put up boards on the hero/heroine for each story with pics of who inspired them, and other things featured in the stories. Just getting started but it is fun! http://pinterest.com/toastfaery

    • Wow! 43 boards, and you’re just getting started. I’m in awe–and the photos are fab. Pinterest has changed the layout of the boards just since last night when I made this post. What do you think?

  3. Susan Frank says:

    I’m not a writer, but I love using pinterest to organize all the cool things I find on the internet, rather than trying to bookmark them all.

    I love the idea of boards for your books. Being able to look at the things that inspired you when you were writing about people or places helps me picture it also! I especially like the ones of places, since they are mostly things I’ve never seen before.

    • Good to know, Susan. And way to go, Reading Woman! Check out Susan on Pinterest, guys. She pins covers of books she’s read, a board a month. The word that comes to mind is: voracious.

  4. Susan Frank says:

    Oops – forgot to give you my board

  5. Thanks, Susan. I found you by searching your name. Again, I’m in awe.

  6. Kathleen O says:

    I have to admit, I am not in to Pinterest.. I am not sure whether I will start this new social media frenzie.. I spend enough time on my PCas it is.. But your boards look amazing… I might just have to check it out…

  7. Kathleen, I hear you. I sometimes feel like I have a virtual elephant sitting on my chest with all the internet activities and connections. I have to cull my bookmarks periodically.

    I’m kind of thinking of Pinterest as a way to focus on the visuals. I can put something like “antique desk” in the search bar, and up pop a bunch of nice big pictures, many with a bit of commentary. It’s sort of like paging through a magazine, but if I know what I’m browsing for, this is a much faster way.

  8. I’ve been seeing bits and pieces about Pinterest on various loops, and never understood what it was for. This is a fascinating post, Kathleen!

  9. kylie brant says:

    I’m on Pinterest but haven’t got much done yet. I did start clip some gorgeous Victorian architecture.

  10. loisgreiman says:

    Can I comment?

  11. loisgreiman says:

    Kathy, I looooove the pics. Am definitely going to try the boards for my wip.

  12. Lisa Scott says:

    Cool! I have zero interest in facebook or twitter, but I love, love, love pinterest and spend way too much time on there. Some of it’s for writing inspiration, a lot of its gardening, recipes, toys and games from childhood. Unfortunately, it’s a great procrastination tool, too!

  13. I just recently started playing within Pinterest, mostly with feng shui pics and DIY projects for around the house, but I’ve been thinking about using it for Jenny Crusie-style collages, too. Must go play…and check out your boards!

  14. Hey There Kathleen,
    On a similar note,, When designing your scrapbooking layouts give a little thought to your own name.
    Catch you again soon!

Leave a Reply

