My Favorite Daughter

Years ago, my favorite daughter (that’s her on the left-she doesn’t do face shots-shrug) attended some sort of artsy workshop. She was about fifteen years old, extremely bright, very creative, and well…you know…I’m her mom, what can I say, she is…and was…perfect.

So when she wanted to show me what she had made I was excited to see it. But when she pulled her Mona Lisa out of that bag I couldn’t help but laugh. I laughed until I was doubled over.

She was not amused. In fact, she was honestly wounded. After which, I felt horrible and tried quite desperately to do a complete about face. “No, honey, it’s wonderful, it’s beautiful. It’s…” Oh man, I still can’t look at that thing without laughing. And I look at it a lot, because it’s hanging in my office. Not that it has always been there. Oh no. Since it was dubbed Glorious Meadow, and proclaimed to be GORGEOUS it’s been everywhere because that very day I promised to cherish it forever. And by ‘cherish’ I actually meant I would torment her with it for as long as I live. So at odd moments it will show up where she least expects it. Once, for instance, it magically appeared on her music stand in high school. (Her teacher did kind of give me the stink eye when I explained my motives.) When she went on a class trip to Washington D.C. I wrapped up in her swimming suit, and when she and her husband vacationed in Austria, it was cushioned between a rib-knit sweater and her blue jeans. (In the above pic it is overlooking a little Austrian village.) Recently she informed me that she was having friends over to see her new house. In my brilliance, I gave it to her hubby and asked him to make sure it had a place of prominence on the mantel before the tour began.

At this juncture, I’d like to add that this is by no means a one way street. I’ve found Glorious Meadow in my car, in my silverware drawer, and in my horse’s stall. It never fails to crack me up.

Recently, however, daughter mine has turned her ahum…creative talents elsewhere. A few months ago, she suggested that we write a book together. (Everyone should write a book with her daughter.)A few months ago, she offered to help me out with covers for my e-books. And even more recently, she made a video for Uncorked, my latest Chrissy McMullen book. (Is it wrong that I told her that one of Chrissy ummmm…suitors is battery-run and named Francois?) I laughed just as hard when she showed me the video, but in a nicer way.

Anyway…please tell me I’m not the only one who delights in tormenting her kids. Or the only one who believes so profoundly in mining their wee ones’ talents for their own good. Come on…let the stories begin.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Favorite Daughter

  1. Leanne says:

    Oh my gosh, Lois, you two are hilarious! What a great story! And she must be a great sport.:) I do believe in mining my children’s talents for my own good. When they were younger, I put them to work helping with pr mailings. If/when I epublish, I’ll be asking my daughter to do some serious editing! GRRRRRRRRRREAT story!:) Thanks for sharing!:) xo

  2. Kathleen O says:

    I don’t have any kids, but I have a story about me when I was just 2 yrs old.. What happened is we, my family and I, at my aunt’s cottage one summer. On this particular day 2 year old me had been swimming, well paddling at the shore really, and I decided I didn’t like my wet bathing suit, so I took it off, and i took off my went diaper too. One relative or non relative, not sure who took the picture, kept the for prosperity and always threated to blow it up and hang up at my wedding.. Well needless to say, I never got married.. Okay not for that reason, just never met the one… I have a couple of stories I torment my brothers with too.. And I love to tell their kids about them.. I told them I don’t get revenge, I just get even from all the time them tormented me as a child..I was the only girl of four brothers…

  3. Love it! I do the same to my boys..they come to expect it as do I their retaliation. They are 18 and 20 now so they get a little more complex as the years go by. They are having the pleasure of taunting me about a verbal mishap, as I call it, of a few years ago. You know how all the kids break down a word into letters instead of the full word? Well once while we were on vacation i said to them…what are we going to do t day y? I meant tdy but it …well you can see what happened..lol since then, as recent as last night in fact , I was harassed again for my goof..I tell them I meant to do that and I find that I was quite brilliant in my way of doing it. They look at me, smile and say ” Mom you are awesome”..well with a comment like that how can you help but laugh at yourself? I can see it now..I am 85 yrs young..sitting at home with my husband, one of them walks in and says to me “Hey mom..how are you t day y?”..lol

  4. You are such a cool mom! What wonderful memories you are building. I am so in awe of your creativity. 🙂

  5. I’ve been gone all day, so I’m late to the Uncorking, but what a fabulous trailer, Lois! I’m not a connoisseur of book trailers, so believe me when I tell you that this one will charm even fuddiest of fuddie-duddies. It is one of the best I’ve seen. (Seriously.)

    And what a great story about Glorious Meadow. It’s become a Flat Stanley!

Leave a Reply

