‘Cause I’m A Rock Star

I’m wearing my rock star shoes right now.  They make me sit a little taller, feel a little sexy, and even feel as though I can take on the world.  Or my writing goal for the day.  I have rock star pants, as well.  They’re a natty old pair of gray flannels pajama bottoms (but they do have silver stars all over them; sparkle!)  I pull ’em out when needed.  There are just some days when you need a lift, a little attitude adjustment that no one else is aware of but you.

Ever have a day when you need to get a lot done, or maybe things haven’t gone at all well all morning, or you’ve just been heaped with a pile of work to do?  Or maybe you have an interview or are meeting someone for the first time?  Then I do believe it’s time to put on your rock star pants and get ‘r done.

On New Year’s Eve I saw Wynonna in concert.  Best darn concert I’ve seen in years.  She talked after each song, giving us tidbits about her life, and she’s so genuine that I love her no matter what.  She’s been through it all, and she’s not afraid to talk about it.  Even if she weren’t famous, this woman embodies the ‘rock star attitude’.  At one point during the concert she said “When life gets tough I put on my fringy pants and play some rock n’ roll.”  That echoed my ritual of donning my rock star pants perfectly.  It’s something you do for yourself, when you don’t need the rest of the world harshin’ your vibes.

Everyone has some kind of rock star pants.  It might be a favorite necklace or a pretty hair clip or scarf.  It may be a favorite pair of underwear.  I asked my husband about it, and after some thought, he realized his leather Dale Earnhardt jacket was his version of the ‘rock star pants’.  Every time he wears it he walks a little taller.  It’s something you put on when you want to walk with your head held high, or you need to feel some inner energy that will get you through the day, or may even need a little secret confidence to smile at that guy in the next cubicle.

So here’s to rock star pants!  Or shoes, or earrings, or whatever it is that makes you shine!

So tell me about it.  What are your rock star pants, and when do you pull them out and don them?

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to ‘Cause I’m A Rock Star

  1. debradixon says:

    Michele- I LOVE this blog post. This is such a good concept and one I’ve never thought of in quite this way. But I do have “rock star” comfort items in my closet. Things I put on to change my mood or help me face a particularly difficult task with attitude.

    I even have a pair of rock star shoes I should get rid of. They are old and I really can’t wear them anywhere because they are so out of style, but they were a pair of shoes that instantly transformed my attitude. (heels of course, fabulous color and leather.)

    • michelehauf says:

      Deb, the beauty of the ‘rock star pants’ is that they don’t have to be new and pretty. Like my old flannel pants. I’d never be seen in public with those, they are comfy and worn. But they make me feel great, so until they get holes in them, I’m still wearing them. 😉

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    Love this blog post, Michele! You ARE a rock star, whether you wear your pants or not … wait. that didn’t sound quite right. LOL
    Now that you’ve got me thinking about it, I’ve got a new pair of skinny jeans and a pair of brown leather ankle boots that make me feel super cool LOL I do feel like a rock star when I wear them. An aging rock star but a rock star just the same :o).

  3. Hi Michele! I have a couple items of clothing that put me in the writing mood but when I need to feel confident, I reach for RED. Yesterday I wore a new red dress to work and it was a kick butt kind of day:)

    • michelehauf says:

      Oh yeah. Red does it for me too. Weird how just wearing something different helps, but seriously, I am kicking butt with the writing and the shoes today. 😉

  4. Karyn Good says:

    I just bought of pair of super supreme rock star boots. Those babies make me believe I can accomplish anything. Pair them with my favorite grey sweater (and pants, of course) and I’m unstoppable. For those writing days when nothing but a rock star attitude will do. Or in defense of the daily diva rock star teenage drama that happens around here!

  5. loisgreiman says:

    ummm, that would be my shotgun chaps. These things have no practical purpose in my life, but they give the wearer a kind of unique swagger. Love ’em.

    • michelehauf says:

      Ah, swagger. I think that’s a talent we should all develop, eh? A nice, comfortable swagger. In…chaps. Okay, I’ll leave the chaps to you, Miss L. I’m sure you work them!

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    I just notice that on the days I dress up for work, I feel better all day. (With the exception of blue jean Fridays, which make me feel AWESOME because, well, it’s Friday.) But the days that I break it out and wear things that make me look and feel great go better over all. I even grabbed a little sign from Facebook: “I looked hot today. You missed it.” I send that to my hubby 🙂

  7. Lois, I have some pairs of those shotgun chaps hanging in the barn. Loved them, with my favorite boots back in my horse show days. The weight and supple texture of them felt so good! But now, I guess my one Rock Star item is a lightweight leather jacket that seems to dress up anything else I wear when I go into town. I love the feel of the leather, and knowing that it was incredible bargain makes me feel good, too. 🙂

  8. What a cool post, Miss M!
    I saw a docu-show about Wynonna and her mom that was fascinating. They opened a Kenny Rogers concert we went to in Bismarck back when they were starting out. Or maybe it was Alabama. Anyway, you knew they were going places. I remember being surprised that Naomi was the mom. She had the face, but Wynonna had the voice.

  9. Oh, yeah, rockin’ the pants. I always feel perky when I wear my tall “fashion” boots with a skirt and some chunky jewelry. Love turquoise–the stone and the color. But I still have a pair of blue ostrich-skin Tony Lamas from way back in the Urban Cowboy days that a salesman fetched from the back room of a Western wear store. “Make you a good deal on these. They’re your size.” Original price was outrageous, size long and narrow, and they’re blue. My favorite color, beautifully made, and the price was right because nobody else wanted them. Tucked my skinny jeans in and rocked those boots, I tell you.

  10. Candace Schuler says:

    My “rock star shoes” are pair of tan cowboy boots embroidered with vines and flowers. When I wear them with jeans, a white shirt, and a leather jacket, I feel like I can do anything.

  11. Leanne says:

    My rock star color is red. I wear it to feel more confident! My favorite stone is blue topaz, and it makes me feel at peace. THIS IS A GREAT BLOG!!!!!! xo, Leanne

  12. Carole Fiore says:

    love the blog, I wear my black jeans with my cowboots, they make me feel good! I love your heels… I need to start wearing them again!

  13. michelehauf says:

    I don’t have anywhere to even wear heels so I just wear them around home. Nothing wrong with that!

  14. Kathleen O says:

    I wish I could wear those Rock Star heels again.. But alas it will never be… I need a rock star outfit to wear to the big St. Pat’s celebration next weekend and then for the next day when my gal pals are taking me out to lunch for a birthday celebration on the Sunday after.. We always celebrate my birthday around St. Patrick’s Day, but it is really a few days before…So this weekend I have to find that Rock Star outfit..

  15. Sara says:

    I paint my nails a funky color. Somehow it always makes me feel great.

  16. Nancy Northcott says:

    What a cool idea, Michele! I have very narrow feet, which seriously limit my shoe options, so I don’t have magic shoes. The garment I pull out to spur myself on bears the logo of Lois McMaster Bujold’s Dendarii Free Mercenaries and, the spurring part, their motto, “Forward Momentum.” It’s a simple saying but effective for me.

  17. Douglas says:

    Atmosphere black cowboy boots sadly outgrown solely purchased last year,
    honest situation still a lot of wear in them.

Leave a Reply

